We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Cala

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel La Cala to your Saves list
Hotel La Cala
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Marina Baixa, 10 | Cala de Finestrat, 03509 Finestrat, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Finestrat
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We made our annual pilgrimage to Hotel La Cala from 18-25 May 2014 and it was as good as ever! Not a lot we can say to add to previous reviews which we have given as the standards were high as usual, an added bonus is that they now provide a kettle and cups so that you can make tea etc (you will need to take tea bags with you or buy locally though). It is nice to return and see the same staff year after year as they all provide such a welcome and are always happy to help. We usually travel later (end June) so the resort was a little quieter than we are used to but there was still plenty going on, there are new bars in the bay itself, nice to see what was a run down end of terrace building when we first started visiting turned into a stylish bar which had only opened a couple of days prior to our arrival. As we have previously noted there are more and more UK visitors finding this lovely little resort which can be a haven of peace but Benidorm is only a short bus or taxi away if you need a livelier evening. Would not hesitate in recommending this little hotel.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms with side sea view are good, especially great if you take your breakfast back to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaCala, Jefa de Recepción at Hotel La Cala, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear jrpc35,
thanks a lot for your lovely comment. It's a pleasure for us to read that you had a great time in our hotel again this year. For the next time if you want we also could provide you the tea bags for a little supplement, it is not necessary to bring them. We wish you all the best and hopefully see you next year. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    25
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
52
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

fantastic hotel outstanding location overlooking the bay the staff at the hotel were great nothing was too much trouble we forgot adapter plugs and mention it to reception in our room a couple of minutes later knock on door and they had brought us a couple hows that for service plenty of places to enjoy a meal and a few drinks we will be going back for sure .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaCala, Jefa de Recepción at Hotel La Cala, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear Cas6632, thanks a lot for your lovely opinion. It's a pleasure for us to hear that you join your holidays. See you soon again in La Cala. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Stayed for a night, lovely location sea front, with views of the beach and hills, I had a quite top floor sea facing room which was simple but clean and modern. It isn't far to the busy night life if you want it but at the same time away from the hustle and bustle. There are a few nice places to eat down on the sea front below it.

Reception was polite and helpful

Please hit 'YES' if you found this helpful

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaCala, Jefa de Recepción at Hotel La Cala, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear WoodyWoodWood,

we thank you for your kind review. It is always a pleasure for us to read that our clients joined their stay in our hotel and we will do our best to continue like this.

Kind regards,
Diana Ostwald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We arrived on the 28.09.13 arriving at the hotel there was a mix up and me and my husband got given a room with 2 single beds. When we raised the issue that we booked a double room the staff could not apologise enough and quickly changed our room. Make sure you book a sea view room, the views are amazing over looking the beach and sea ! You walk down a few steps from hotel door over a small road and there is the beach. Under the hotel there are a few spanish owned bars a but I could not hear a thing at night no music no people when balcony door is closed. Super market across across the road and heading up the hill are few more bars and restaurants. We used a english bar at bottom of the hill. You cant miss it a few union jack flags out side. Owned by a lovely couple that cook the best roast dinners ! And honestly the cheapest around. Market on a tuesday and get bus number 2 or 3 takes 10-15 mins in to benidorm costs €1.50. The hotel is very clean spotless in fact. The staff bend over backwards to help you and are so friendly. Breakfast is basic but all freshly baked bread rolls, croissant and pastry with jams, is very nice. Generally a great hotel in very way. We will be going back very soon.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaCala, Director de Recepción at Hotel La Cala, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Anita,

Thanks a lot for your words and the time to write your opinion.

It would be great to see you again this year. Do not forgot, as soon as posible you contact with us the best prices you will have. ;)

Best regards,
Diana Ostwald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

the hotel is in an outstanding location overlooking a beautiful beach. the staff are lovely and it's spotlessly clean there is a very small number of rooms which you would think would make it a quiet hotel but unfortunately the restaurant bar below with the massively loud entertainment till 3am 2 nights in a row did spoil it for us as our wee one has special needs so a calmer environment was needed. the entertainment was nothing to do with the hotel but you need to take into account the surrounding properties and their management as well and I'm afraid it was a spoiler. the hotel room we had was a family room which had 4 single beds with a wee side table in between each we were a family of 2 adults a 15 yr old and our youngest who is 12 so we did feel quite cramped in the room. there was a big wardrobe but not big enough for four and there were no hangers. the bathroom was tiny. the balcony only had two chairs but then again it only had room for two.
don't get me wrong the staff are fantastic. so friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough for us but I don't think we would go back to that hotel as it was too small a room. and the noise was an issue.
we chose la cala area to get away from the hustle and bustle of the lively end of Benidorm. the area is great sea view perfect but not for us this time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaCala, Jefa de Recepción at Hotel La Cala, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Linda,

we are very sorry that you couldn't join this time your holidays in our hotel. In summer the people are wont to join the terraces and normally we try to control it from midnight on if the clients inform us about it. If you like the beach La Cala and its surroundings maybe you would be interested in our apartments in a building beside the hotel. You can have a look in our homepage for more information.

Best regards,
Diana Ostwald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in October. We took the bus to Benidorm from Barcelona. From the Central station we caught the number 3 bus and were able to get off right in front of the hotel. It was very convenient.
The room was very clean. The location was stunning. It is literally right on the beach and the beach is amazing. Great snorkeling and great hiking just steps from the hotel. There are also lots of shops and restaurants steps away. The only complaint I had was that the wifi was difficult to set up but the staff were beyond helpful. They were extremely friendly and helpful. It was an excellent hotel for the price. We had a lovely stay and I would gladly go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaCala, Jefa de Recepción at Hotel La Cala, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear VGazza,

we want to thank you for taking a little moment to share your experience in our hotel with the other travellers. We take note about the difficulties to connect to the wifi, will pass it to the management and maybe we could make it easier in a future.

It would be great to welcoming you again one day. Meanwhile we wisch you a Happy Christmas Time and all the best for 2014.

Best regards,
Diana Ostwald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have now been to La Cala 4 times and this has been the best location. We stayed in the apartments through La Cala Hotel. Beautiful view from apartment up in the hill and lovely pool. Our friends stayed in Hotel and the room was lovely and clean. Staff were excellent and always very helpful. Lovely room top veranda and internet room, beautifully decorated. We had a lovely evening relaxing while the kids used the internet to chat to friends on facebook. Definately will be back to La Cala Hotel...x

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaCala, Jefa de Recepción at Hotel La Cala, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Fiona B.,

Thanks a lot for your kind review. Its a pleasure for us to know that our clients enjoy their stay both at the hotel and the apartments. Remember that our apartments are available all year long so if you want to escape some days from rain and cold... here we are.

Hope to see you, your family and your friends again next year and wish you Merry X-Mas and Happy New Year!

Best regards,
Diana Ostwald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Cala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Cala

Address: Avda Marina Baixa, 10 | Cala de Finestrat, 03509 Finestrat, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Finestrat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Finestrat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Cala 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cala Hotel is located on the shore of Cala de Finestrat, next to Benidorm. It has 40 rooms very well equipped and really nice staff ready to make you having a nice holidays in a good atmosphere. Hotel allows pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Cala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Cala Finestrat, Spain - Costa Blanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Cala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.