We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Cala

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Cala to your Saves list
Hotel La Cala
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Marina Baixa, 10 | Cala de Finestrat, 03509 Finestrat, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Finestrat
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Another excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

What more can I say. We have stayed in Calla many times and at various places depending on what we need at the time and we love it.

This was our second stay at Hotel La Calla and we will be back as soon as we can.

Don't be fooled by the star rating this hotel is clean, friendly, well located right on the beech and with a lovely continental breakfast.

We had a noisy night with the bar downstairs being very awake until 4am, but that's the joy of being right on the front! I wouldn't change a single thing about our stay.

The buses are now 1.50 up to Benidorm fior a lovely walk along the front to old town, but the food is just as good in Calla and as good a price, so do come back and try.

Hi to Dianna on reception who is always pleasant & helpful.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaCala, Jefa de Recepción at Hotel La Cala, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Auntycat,

Thank you for taking time to give this kind review. It is nice to hear that you have had a nice time at our hotel. Next time, please, inform us about any noise after 12pm and we will try to reduce it so you could sleep well every night.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon again we wish you and your family a Merry Christmas and all te best for 2014!

Best regards,
Diana Ostwald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    42
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
32
77
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
st andrews scotland u.k
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This little hotel sets the standard for service , the staff are the backbone of this superb establishment , very clean ,attentive but unobtrusive service , nice continental breakfast . The location is right on the beachfront .The hotel could put some beachchairs in the rooms and charge a deposit . Going to book again for next year . A special mention to the hardworking maids who clean the rooms on a daily basis , Thank you !

Room Tip: Side view or beachfront well worth the extra !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaCala, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel La Cala, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear stevie65000,

Thank you for your review and for your words, specially for the cleaning staff. We are happy to see that you liked the hotel and the location. We take note for all your advices to improve our service in the future.

Best regards and see you next year!

Victor Cardiel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Just returned from a 3 day break to La Cala Finestrat and have to say after reading reviews before we went we booked into Hotel La Cala. Never expected our stay to be as good as we read but must say it was above and beyond. Staff at Hotel La Cala were so pleasant and cant do enough for their guests. On arrival there was champagne on ice n a rose for me as I was there celebrating my 40th Birthday. Our room was upgraded to a beach front rom with the most perfect views ever. La Cala bay is the most lovely setting and we'll be sure to return. Infact we will be booking back into Hotel La Cala and taking our children with us next time.
Hotel La Cala, thank you all very very much for our lovely stay, couldnt have wished for a better experience for our little break. Rooms were very clean, cleaned daily and beds and pillows were very comfortable with air con in room. All highly recommended ans we wished we'd booked for longer xx See you all very soon! x

Room Tip: If you have the option to pay a small extra charge for a beach front room we would definately say it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaCala, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel La Cala, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Fifitilly,

Thank you very much for your comments for the staff and the hotel. We all try to do our best here and it is nice to read reviews like yours and see that people had a nice time at the hotel.

We are glad that you have enjoied your little breake on your 40th Birthday and hopefully we can meet the whole family next year.

Best regards,

Victor Cardiel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MADRID
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were staying in a room with balcony and the view to the bay was amazing. The hotel is right next to the beach, the rooms are very clean and comffortable, the people at the reception were great and there were little restaurants quite near with good food and amazing prices. Totally recommended if you are looking for a place next to a beatiful beach. Must say the hotel is not fancy but you can not ask for anything better for the place.
BTW, do not stay in benidorm...not really nice at all!

Room Tip: take it with balcony. room 309
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaCala, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel La Cala, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear ANINES,

We would like to thank you for your comments for the staff and the hotel on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you have had a good impression of the place.

Best regards,

Victor Cardiel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have been to La Cala, many times and have stayed at various venues from hotels to apartments, but location wise none of them compete with Hotel La Cala. It is literally as said before on the beach.

You will find this review informative for both the good and bad points, but of course it is only our opinion.

We stayed in room 203, with a balcony and a side view of the beach. A very good view indeed. The room was of 2 singles pushed together, fridge, desk, built in wardrobe, tv and an en-suite with shower over the bath. Upon first entering the hotel, check-in was easy, we were also presented with the air-con and tv remotes along with the single door card.

The room we found easy to enter and very clean, also being light and airy. Double sliding glass doors to the balcony were very clean also. Ample storage space for clothing is provided in the wardrobe which has drawers at the bottom.

Numerous tv channels, with two british ones being available. The fridge was empty apart from two small bottles of water, be warned these are not free. All lights worked well, the shower was brilliant with plenty of hot water at all times.

The hotel is a bed and breakfast establishment only and the breakfast is served from 0800 to 1200 hrs in the cafeteria. It consists of croissant, bread roll, or sliced bread with an assortment of packet preserves and pates with tea, coffee and juice. It is not self service, one queue's to be served by the pleasant lady behind the counter. For us the breakfast was not up to scratch, for others it will be fine. The room was cleaned and made up daily, with new towels if required and the fridge re-stocked with water. Our only down-side was that one cleaner left the room as she found it with all doors locked, the other one left the room with the balcony doors wide open and un-secure as it is possible to gain access from next doors balcony albeit with a climb. Again some will not like this, others won't mind.

For location, you can't get better, right on the beach and right in the middle of town, with everything you need close to hand, but bear in mind that the hotel is above bars etc and if they have a late night / early morning, then so do you. It didn't bother us as we like this sort of thing, however it could be a pain for some.

Would we stay again? Yes we would, it is in a beautiful position. It's not the cheapest, but not the dearest either. We had a very good week.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony, without one and this hotel doesn't really work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaCala, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel La Cala, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear inthetide,

Thank you so much for a very descriptive review about the hotel, rooms and service. We know it takes a few minutes to do it but it is very good for helping other travellers to get what they expect when they have a to choose a hotel for their holidays.

We hope to see you again next year.

Best regards,

Victor Cardiel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We have just returned from a week at la cala hotel, and we could not have chosen a better hotel
we stayed in room 309 and the views across the bay were fantastic.
All the staff are very helpful and friendly, the continental buffet breakfast was fine which you could take to your room for breakfast on your balcony if you wanted to.
The hotel is right on the beach with plenty of bars and restraunts to eat and drink in, all at good prices.
The hotel is 2 star but the service and attention you get is worth a much better rating.
There is free wi-fi throughout the hotel which was great.
we don`t normally return to hotels but we will to the La Cala

Room Tip: Room 309 with a front view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaCala, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel La Cala, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear stuartcardiff,

We are really thankful for all your words and it seem that you have had such a nice time at our Hotel. We celebrate that!

Thank you also for posting the pictures to show other travellers what they can expect at La Cala.

Best regards and hope to welcome you again next year!

Victor Cardiel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Mancunia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Well, the heading of this review says it all, i don't think we've ever stayed in a hotel so close to the beach, its literally 10 pace's away from the hotel front door!

Finestrat itself is a lovely town/village about 3km from Benidorm and seems to be a main holiday spot for Spaniards, although you do hear a few English voices throughout the place.
The week we were there, 7th September, the place was packed, the beach particularly so.
Unfortunatley, the resort had a sewage 'incident' the week we were there and whilst water testing would seem to have given the all clear, it wasnt very nice sharing the sea with undesirable 'items'
The weather was particulaly hot, 21-24 at night and 28 to 33 during the day.
There are plenty of bars and restaurants offering a good standard of catering.

Now, the Hotel.
The staff go out of there way to be helpful and conversation never feels forced, with advice and suggestions freely given.
We stayed in room 311 which was a 3rd floor sea front room with a balcony and A/C which was a blessing with the weather being so hot.
The room itself was quite spacious, nice size wardrobe, 2 single beds which we both found a little hard, cleaned every day to a high standard, and towels changed daily too, with the added bonus of a small fridge.
Any negatives?
As Jim mentioned in the previous review, with the beach being so close it would be nice if the hotel could at least offer deckchairs to use, not everyone wants to hire a sunbed.
Also, us Brits like a brew and it would be a nice touch to offer tea and coffee making in the room.
We knew before hand this wasnt available so took our own travel kettle.
All in all, the hotel is better than its 2* rating and would definatly stay here again.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room at the front of the hotel (not the side) its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaCala, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel La Cala, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear NorthernGeezer,

Thank you so much for taking a few minutes to talk about your experience at Hotel La Cala. The staff really appreciate all your words.

I would like say sorry to all the people that could not go into the water that day, but I think the council staff health did a great job for everybody security by testing the water before give the green light for going into the beach. Just remind you that our beach has the blue flag for its quality waters in Spain, so appart from that "one day incident" and after all was cleaned out, we get our nice beach back! :)

About the kettles, and by following the advices for our english clients, since we reopened the season last March 2013, we have Kettles to borrow during your stay for everyone that needs it. I advice to you and other travellers visiting us that, do not bring yours, ask for it at the reception during your check in or when you made your reservation with us, so you can travel with less weight.

Other thing is the deckchairs, that we would really like to offer to our clients. Its all a matter of space to storage as many chairs as clients would request for it. But I am sure in the future and with some improvements in our installations we will offer this choice.

We really hope every thing is fine back at home.

Best regards and hopefuly we will see you next year.

Victor Cardiel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Finestrat
1.8 mi away
Barcelo Asia Gardens Hotel & Thai Spa
6.0 mi away
Servigroup Montiboli
Servigroup Montiboli
#1 of 5 in Villajoyosa
4.5 of 5 stars 380 reviews
15.8 mi away
Hotel Bonalba Alicante
Hotel Bonalba Alicante
#1 of 1 in Mutxamel
4.5 of 5 stars 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Villa Venecia Hotel Boutique
6.1 mi away
Hotel Blue Sense Villajoyosa
Hotel Blue Sense Villajoyosa
#4 of 5 in Villajoyosa
3.0 of 5 stars 168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tropic
Hotel Tropic
#59 of 195 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Cala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Cala

Address: Avda Marina Baixa, 10 | Cala de Finestrat, 03509 Finestrat, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Finestrat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Finestrat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Cala 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cala Hotel is located on the shore of Cala de Finestrat, next to Benidorm. It has 40 rooms very well equipped and really nice staff ready to make you having a nice holidays in a good atmosphere. Hotel allows pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel La Cala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Cala Finestrat, Spain - Costa Blanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Cala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.