We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Cala

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel La Cala to your Saves list
Hotel La Cala
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Marina Baixa, 10 | Cala de Finestrat, 03509 Finestrat, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Finestrat
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Another excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from another excellent stay at Hotel La Cala this is really a lovely little hotel set right on the beach a La Cala. We have stayed here on a number of occasions now whilst small the hotel is clean and cosy and the staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome. We arrived early and whilst did not expect to be able to check in immediately our bags were stored and we received a phone call at 12.05 whilst we were having lunch (check out is 12 noon!) to say that the room was ready for us, on returning we found that they had already delivered the bags into the room. The breakfast may be too simple for some but as we always ask to stay on he first floor we take our breakfast trays back to our room and have it on the balcony overlooking the bay whilst watching the early birds arriving for a day on he beach. We were afraid that we would miss breakfast this morning as we were leaving early for the airport, this was no problem on paying the bill the receptionist happily informed us that she would leave a note for the gentleman who looks after reception at night and he kindly made us coffee this morning! Whilst the majority of guests are spanish we have noticed that more english visitors seem to have found the hotel, I have been a little reluctant to provide a review in the past as selfishly I don' t want too many to find it just in case I can't get my favorite room ( not going to say which one this is!). Cannot wait until we return again next year!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaCala, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel La Cala, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear jrpc35:

Thank you for your review in Tripadvisor, we are happy also happy to have people like you as clients.

Just to say that all of us try to do our best at the hotel and it is worth when you hear these words from someone who stayed here.

Hope we see you here next year.

(Do not worry, we keep in secret your room number..:) )

Kind regards,

Victor Cardiel
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    25
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
50
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Brilliant location, basic but very clean, friendly helpful staff, we had sea view room overlooking the beautiful beach. There are a few decent bars close by, bus stop within 100 metres with buses running every 10-15min into Benidorm. Although by no means luxurious, I really like this hotel and resort and would have no hesitation choosing it again

Room Tip: Sea view room a must Not suitable for disabled or infirm as there is a rather steep stair to encoun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaCala, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel La Cala, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear John H,

I like to thank you very much for your review on this website. It is very helpful for us to know the feeling of our clients after a stay with us. And we are glad to read that you had nice words for the place and the staff.

I would like to point that we do have acces for disabled people at the back of the building, connected to the elevator by a ramp. Although it is true that the main entrance to the beach only have stairs. The hotel also have a single room (with no sea views at the moment) and bathroom adapted.

Kind regards and all the best for this 2013.

Victor Cardiel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

fantastic staff great rooms with good bay views very clean beach with good value eateries close by. close to benidorm only 1 euro bus ride. be careful of bar sol good drinks but dodgy.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011 via mobile

We travelled to the la cala hotel 1st October.when we arrived it was easy to find big "hotel" sign in red on top.we asked for a sea view when we booked which we got.can get noisy at night though if you leave your balcony door open as the bars are underneath but it didn't really bother us.room is basic but got what you need,you only sleep and change in there.The staff are friendly but not all of them speak very good english.To get to the hotel theres a few steps from the road not good if you have mobility problems.The hotel goes straight onto the beach which is lovely sunbeds and parasol are €4 each.Seas ok but abit weedy when you first get in.some lively little restaurants in the bay and if you want to go benidorm like we did for the night taxi is about €12 or the bus is cheap.This is a basic hotel but all you need for a short stay

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011 via mobile

Found it relaxing right from the time of our arrival, easy to check in and a friendly welcome.
Well worth paying for a sea view, quite a Spanish type of resort considering it's so close to benidorm. The beach is very clean and well maintained and the sea crystal clear.
The bar Cala Cala under the hotel was lovely to sit outside and take in the lovely view.
Bar Sol has good food and a great view across the bay.
Well worth using the very efficient bus service, no 12 €1.30 per journey compared to €14 into benidorm in a taxi.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

We found this hotel by accident after arriving late and spotting the big H on the roof. All the staff were really helpful and friendly and soon installed us in a fab room - good size, very clean and comfortable and the best bit was the balcony that looked straight out onto the beach.
The location is great - right on Finestrat beach which is a lovely little bay away from the main beaches.
We thought it was good value and were surprised to find the price included continental breakfast the next morning as well!
We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Just back from a week in La Cala.

We have been here before so knew where we were going - We found La Cala accidently a few years ago!!!

The hotel is very nice, clean & right on the beech. The staff are very pleasant & helpfull. Breakfast is continental but more than enough & very nice.

Rooms are comfortable & well equiped. We booked through TR so didn't get a choice of sea view - we thought we'd upgrade when we got there but the hotel was full - it was ok, we coukd hear the sea. The reception staff speak good english so I would advise an Email to them if you want to upgrade before going.

La Cala is a geat place, we like it as it's got it's own bars, restaurants etc but is a bus ride to Benidorm if wanted.

We were there a week, but would, and have before gone for a self catering apartment for a longer stay - no reflection on the hotel, just a bit more flexible.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Cala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Cala

Address: Avda Marina Baixa, 10 | Cala de Finestrat, 03509 Finestrat, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Finestrat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Finestrat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Cala 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cala Hotel is located on the shore of Cala de Finestrat, next to Benidorm. It has 40 rooms very well equipped and really nice staff ready to make you having a nice holidays in a good atmosphere. Hotel allows pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Cala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Cala Finestrat, Spain - Costa Blanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Cala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.