We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed after reading rave reviews. Just an "average" hotel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Audax Spa & Wellness Hotel

Save Saved
You added Audax Spa & Wellness Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Audax Spa & Wellness Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Urb. Serpentona s/n, 07750 Cala Galdana, Minorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Cala Galdana
Wales
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Disappointed after reading rave reviews. Just an "average" hotel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We booked this hotel after reading the rave reviews on Trip Advisor, but we were left disappointed.

In our opinion, this hotel is not 4* Superior as it is classified. Our room on the 7th floor was very small, although nicely decorated. The balcony was small and was barely useable. Our "sea view" room was more of a "side sea view".

On our first day we encountered housekeeping issues and these continued throughout our stay; linen not changed or towels replaced etc. The Wi- Fi in the room did not function either. The A/C fan was loud and eventually broke down during our stay, but was repaired swiftly.

The food was average to good, although fairly basic in our opinion. However, on the plus side, the general atmosphere of the hotel throughout the day and evening was very nice; chilled and relaxed. Bar staff were very good in the piano lounge.

The pool areas were small with not enough space for sufficient loungers, although we did manage to get one every day. The "no reserving of loungers with towels for more than 30 minutes" rule did not appear to have been implemented by management during our stay.

Our biggest issue has been, and continues to be how our complaints were dealt with by the Thomson Reps and Hotel Management. Very poor service indeed (and attitude to an extent). We as customers pay a lot of money for our holidays and expect to be treated with respect when we raise genuine issues and complaints. The hotel manager didn't seem interested, nor did Thomson. We will not travel with Thomson again.

The resort Cala Galdana was nice though.

We are not able to recommend this hotel due to our experiences. In our opinion it is certainly not "Fantastic, Sheer Luxury etc;" as some other reviewers have posted but just an "Average" hotel. Have stayed in much better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELAUDAX, Manager at Audax Spa & Wellness Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

As you can imagine I was very disappointed when I read we did not meet your expectations. . Please be rest assured that this is not our usual high standard of service.

I hope you will give us another opportunity to truly exceed your expectations.

Kind Regards,

Víctor Mayans
Manager
vma@artiemhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    514
    307
    64
    20
    5
See reviews for
72
681
18
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cropwell Bishop, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Our 2nd visit to Cala Galdana (the queen of the bays) but our first to the Audax. We checked out the hotel on our previous trip and decided to give it a go and were not disappointed. We thought our room on the 5th floor which commanded a very good view of the bay was, on first impressions, somewhat small. However because of the clever use of storage space we found that when all our paraphernalia was stowed we had more than adequate space. On the whole we enjoyed all the hotel had to offer including the food. For dinner our preference was the restaurant on the 5th floor where guests tended to abide by the dress code and the lighting was more subjued. We could not fault the staff and management who were always friendly and attentive throughout the entire hotel.
We hired a car for 5 days at £128 with Owners Cars via the Thomson reps and thought it was a fair deal and managed to park very close to the hotel each evening. We have never been ones for organised outings, we like to visit sites and that are not normally accessible via coaches, thus the car hire. However we did take advantage of the evening trip to the local Spanish Riding School (Somni) and found it good value for money, especially as we were given a substunual discount because it was near the end ot the season when everything on the islland shuts down for 5 months.
All in all and excellent hotel and holiday which we shall repeat in the future. We revisted the Lladro outlet on the road to Ciutadella and spent a pleasant 90 minutes viewing the beautiful displays of porcelain. As before, we could could have spent a small fortune adding to our collection but this time we refrained.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELAUDAX, Manager at Audax Spa & Wellness Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience! It certainly sounds like you were able to enjoy all our resort has to offer.

I hope to see you again at the Audax.

Víctor Mayans
Manager
vma@artimehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Our first trip to the Audax in Cala Galdana, Menorca, was absolutely wonderful. Reception is beautifully designed, staff are quick and efficient. We had a jacuzzi room with a sea view and on talking to other guests and the hotel staff, we had been given the best room in the house, and they were not kidding. Room 634 is right on the front corner and has amazing sea views and gets the sun every part of the day. I am told that rooms 534 and 734 are just as good. The 2 restaurants are very reasonable. Sometimes the food lacked imagination, but it was always well cooked and tasty. The menus are basically the same in both restaurants, but in the Oliva (floor 5) you can get pizza and pasta made to your own tastes. All staff were so friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and when we had a slight problem with the power in our room, an electrician was there inside 5 minutes. The cafe by the pool served great snacks and lunches which were competitively priced with the cafes outside. Again, great food and great service by friendly staff. The spa was good too. Prices were about what you would expect to pay in the uk. We paid a total of £144 for a 50 minute sports massage for my husband, and a 35 minute massage plus facial for me. The treatments were very good, and there are many to choose from. They often had offers on at the spa, so look out for these. There were no children at the hotel, which was one of the reasons we went there. I have to say that the average age of the guests was over 50, though there were some younger people there. This made for a nice quiet place, no doors slamming late at night, no loud music. If you are wanting to party, this is not the place for you. The resort of Cala Galdana is very picturesque and everything you need is within walking distance ~ bars, cafes, restaurants, several supermarkets. It is quiet, but we found this very relaxing. The beach is clean and safe and sun beds cost 6 euros for the day, parasols cost 5 euros. The one downfall for this hotel is that, even though it is a "wellness" hotel, it does permit smoking in public areas outside. This became problematic at the pool, and if someone was smoking on the balcony next to yours. This is my only real criticism, but there were enough places to get away from passive smoke so dont let this put you off. The Audax is a wonderful place, and I can definitely recommend it to even the most discerning traveller.

Room Tip: Absolutely advise that you pay a bit extra for the sea view, definitely worth it. Rooms with jacuzz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELAUDAX, Manager at Audax Spa & Wellness Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback. I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay, and will certainly share your comments regarding your positive experience.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Víctor Mayans
Manager
vma@artiemhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We loved this hotel and enjoyed the Couples branding very much.It was very chilled out and everything was of a very good quality. The food in both restauarants was excellent especially the sweets.Normally we would always sample a local restaurant but we simply didnt want to as the hotel restaurants were so good.
The pool area was lovely and quiet and as long as you didnt wait too long in a morning we got sunbeds.We went at the end of August.The rooms are contemporary and the TV does have BBC1 BBC 2 ITV 3 and news channels. The entertianment at night was just up our street! Talented young british acoustic guitarists and singers followed by a feature act.The resort itself is quite small but has a lovely feel to it and you can visit either the Cala Galdana Hotel or the Sol Gavilanes too.We enjoyed the blankets on the beach evening in particular...unforgettable!
The only thing that let us down was that the first few days in Sept were cloudy and we had some rain too.
We hired a car and saw lots of the island and in our opinion nowhere even came near to Cala Galdana for its amazing beach and lovely resort.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELAUDAX, Manager at Audax Spa & Wellness Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable time during your stay!

I hope to host you as our guest again soon!

Kind Regards,

Víctor Mayans
Manager
vma@artiemhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is a lovely hotel, very quiet and restful due to the absence of children, in a beautiful location where, sadly, we stayed for just one night until our apartment became available. The room and bathroom weren't large, but they were contemporary and well appointed. The pool area was well equipped and very attractive in design - we wish we'd had time to use it! The food at dinner and breakfast was excellent with an extensive range of hot and cold dishes and staff who were extremely pleasant and attentive. Cala Galdana is a lovely little resort and a pleasure to walk around. We also enjoyed the walk to Cala Mitjana - steep at both ends, but well worth the effort. We can't imagine a better hotel in Menorca and will definitely return as soon as we can.

Room Tip: We had room 628 on the same side as the main hotel entrance. The view was absolutely breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELAUDAX, Manager at Audax Spa & Wellness Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Carol,

Thank you for your review of your past stay with us. I really appreciate your honesty and hope to see you again at the Audax.

Best Regards,

Víctor Mayans
Manager
vma@artiemhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walsall
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We returned, yesterday, from our second 14 day visit this year (have been going for about eight years now) .
The hotel manager constantly strives to improve the hotel's excellent standards all the time from a supurb refurbishment plan to a genuine appreciation of client's feedback.
The staff are polite, friendly, very good at their allocated roles (too many to name individually) and cannot do enough for you.
The hotel room we were allocated was absolutely stunning - with a walk in shower, jacuzzi and a beautiful decked balcony with easy chairs. The hotel is always spotless.
We like to Kayak, every other day, and the sports and nature guys are brilliant. In fact, Matt, Alex and Vanya play a really important part in our holiday. The coastline is really beautiful to view from a Kayak.
The Spa is really good for de-stressing and getting that sense of well-being that the hotel is aiming for. I have read that people think the spa and treatments are expensive - I disagree - maybe they haven't been to spa's in the UK.
We love our holidays at this hotel so much and are already planning our next visit.
Thank you everyone at the Audax for an amazing holiday.

Room Tip: If you have particular needs (ie require a walk-in shower) inform the staff -they will always try an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELAUDAX, Manager at Audax Spa & Wellness Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Geust,

Thank you very much for your review. I greatly appreciate your feedback so that we can constantly improve our guests' experience. I hope that you will select us again for any future stays in Menorca.

Best Regards,

Víctor Mayans
Manager
vma@artiemhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brierley Hill, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This Hotel offers a wonderful relaxed atmosphere for couples. Having no children around was a first for us; very relaxing. The only downside that we were one of the youngest couples (at 40) but this can also be a plus - there no shouting in the corridors late at night or loutish behaviour.
The hotel is extremely well appointed. The rooms are spacious - I would recommend paying extra for a sea view, its such a lovely view, but a room overlooking the pool would be lovely too.
We were on the 6th floor (we went with Thomsons, half-board) and had tea/coffe making facilities in our room. We used the minibar once (more expensive but not excessive)
The 6th floor pool area boasts a delightful bar/snack bar. The food is lovely at luchtimes and the portions quite substantial on the whole. Icecreams are available too and the pool area is relaxing. The area at the top near the bar attracts the hottest sun, other areas are more shady.
The 5th & 4th floor host the two restaurants, we chose to eat in Oliva on the 5th, we liked the atmosphere more. The food is very good quality. Breakfasts offer, breads, cakes, full English, Meats & cheeses, fresh fruit, cereals, juices, omelettes cooked to order while you wait. Dinner offers various options which may include full salad bar and at least 4 starters, fresh steak/swordfish/hake/prawns/pork/squid to cooked to order, At least 2 ready cooked meals (Pork in Mustard, Chicken curry, Fish in marinera style, braised ribs) and most nights a paella. At least 5 desserts were also on offer. At Breakfast you can request Lunch instead of Dinner, so you can venture out to the restaurants in Cala Galdana. I also appreciated that if you ordered a bottle of wine you could keep the remainder for the next evening.
Ground floor offers the Blue Cafe Bar which has a reading area, coffee/bar lounge, entertainment area and terrace. Drinka are not excessively priced for a good hotel like this (10.50 euros for a bottle of cava) and you can charge to your room and settle as you check out (tip; keep a note of the amount of each bill you sign off; we had no problems checking our bill before we paid for this reason)
There is a well appointed gym too and pool towels are changed at reception.
The staff are hugely helpful we had a small leak in the bathroom that was sorted out and repaired while we were at dinner. One of the sets of pool steps became wobberly while we were there, the maintenance man was there in 20 minutes, cordened them off, they were removed overnight and returned the following day - fantastic attention to detail. All areas are spotlessly clean
Cala Galdana itself is extremely picturesque, small and perfectly formed. There are several walks (sensible shoes needed) to beaches in both direction though the Cala Galdana Beach is really lovely, and a gorge walk at the back of the resort. We hired a car around the corner (turn right out of the hotel) at Ownerscars.com which was reasonable and gave us a few good days out (Cuitadella, Mahon, Fornells, Es Grau, Binibeca)
In resort I'd recommend the Cala Mitjana Restaurant and El Mirador
Fabulous holiday and highly recommended

Room Tip: Sea Views are worht paying for, poll views would be goot too - the higher the floor the better I thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELAUDAX, Manager at Audax Spa & Wellness Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Shelley,

Thank you so much for your great review, it is always nice to hear we are going in the right direction.

I hope to see you again at the Audax.

Best Regards,

Víctor Mayans
Manager
vma@artiemhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Audax Spa & Wellness Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Audax Spa & Wellness Hotel

Address: Urb. Serpentona s/n, 07750 Cala Galdana, Minorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Cala Galdana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cala Galdana
#1 Family Hotel in Cala Galdana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Audax Spa & Wellness Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Audax Spa & Wellness Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Audax Spa And Wellness Hotel
Audax Hotel Cala Galdana
Hotel Audax
Audax Minorca
Audax Spa & Wellness Hotel Cala Galdana, Minorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Audax Spa & Wellness Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.