We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but dinner is a let down.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cala Galdana & Villas d'Aljandar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Cala Galdana & Villas d'Aljandar to your Saves list
Hotel Cala Galdana & Villas d'Aljandar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle de Riu 74, 07750 Cala Galdana, Minorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Cala Galdana
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good value but dinner is a let down.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Like a lot of reviews I read before I visited I found the dinner food quality only average. My husband eats a lot of fish so he was a little happier as there are usually 2 fishes each night. Breakfast is excellent and thankfully my favourite meal of the day. They only need a little input to improve the dinner quality and selection, from my experience on the island, the Sol hotels get it right! Sunbeds are the issue with people reserving them all day and maybe only using them for an hour later in the day, they really do have to remove towels after 30 mins for others who maybe only want to be there for a couple of hours.
The positives of this hotel are its location, so close to the beach, public rooms are excellent, the staff are lovely, I always treat politely and with a smile and get the same returned. I have visited the island many times and also Cala Galdana usually staying at the couples spa hotel, which I prefer, it is of a different standard and price of course so I can honestly say you get what you pay for. That being said, the Hotel Cala Galdana was great value for a last minute extra week and I would recommend it. Make sure you book a front room for sea view and sun on the balcony or you will be at the back overlooking a large rocky wall water feature, with no sun at all, we had asked for a quiet room and this is what we got. The bathroom was very small with a 3/4 size bath and very little room to get into it, this would not be good for people with mobility problems. Our room also had 2 large interior doors for family use, this made it quite noisy at night, mostly due to the occupants sleeping with the TV on every night! Other than that noise it was quiet.
A previous reviewer pointed out that the hotel is a 4T and was exactly right, don't expect 4* it is a different category.

Room Tip: Sea view would be worth extra as you get sun on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    214
    134
    44
    15
See reviews for
191
295
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is the second time we gave stayed in this resort, last time we stayed in the Sol Gavilanas so thought we would try this hotel this year. We enjoyed our stay, had a first floor balcony which overlooked the pool and had our own sun loungers so we didn't have to rush down at 9am with others to get a sunbed by the pool. Mind you was fun to watch in the mornings from the balcony.

Enjoyed our meals, breakfast was plentiful and even two choices of bacon , (well done or normal cooked) and hey, even proper sausages !!! Good selection also if you don't want a cooked breakfast.

Evening buffet had a good choice of meats and fish, some cooked in front of you and some brought out in trays from the kitchen. A good variety so no idea why some people have to moan about it.

Enjoyed the evening entertainment and if something wasn't for us, then we visited one of the other two hotels to see what they had on.

Our room was fine, very clean and towels changed daily. Bath with a shower. Flat screen TV showing sky news and BBC channels.

We will stay in this resort again and would have no hesitation in returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a front facing room otherwise you get a good view of a rock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penarth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Second time here, first time in 2004. The hotel is lovely with a very nice atmosphere and close enough to the beach. We found the staff very helpful, including most of the restaurant staff who appear to be on Short term contracts for the most part but couldn't do enough to help me, my partner and especially our 1 year-old baby.

The evening entertainment is not our 'thing' but when we tried it we greatly enjoyed it and again, the waiting staff at the poolside wee very friendly and speak decent enough English.

One negative though...... If you value food as an important part of your holiday experience - it might be worth paying a we bit extra for the Sol Gavilanes Hotel just down the road. Reason? My partner is vegetarian and the vegetarian options here left a lot to be desired. A lot of the salads had meat in them - which is crazy especially as there was such a limited t choice of non-meat dishes, and the fish on offer was often overcooked and tasteless.

We spent one night trying the same buffet deal at the Sol Gavilanes - the difference is quality and choice was striking. 5 times as much choice in meat, fish, salad and veg - all cooked just right. The showcooking area also cooks meat or fish for you on demand with charming service, as opposed to Hotel Cala Galdana where the chefs just throw masses on the grill and then let it go cold on the side.

If, like me you're happy with unlimited meat and chips every night then this hotel is DEFINITELY for you. If you or anyone in your party prioritises fancy food and non-meat options - I'd strongly recommend the Sol Hotel for a n extra £100 quid or so.

But overall, a lovely place and a lovely, relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Have just returned from 10 days at the Cala Galdana Hotel. We had viewed the bay on an island tour last year, and were keen to holiday there this year. It really is a beautiful spot. We were looking for a relaxing quiet holiday, and that is what you will get here. The mornings were spent around the pool relaxing, or reading, which seemed the most popular pastimes with the other guests, creating a very relaxed atmosphere. The only thing I wasn't so keen on, was the endless muzak that was playing throughout the hotel, and pool area. Sunbeds can be an issue, but no way was I joining the saddo's who went down at 9am to put the towel on! Beach is over the road if pool area busy. The staff are first class, the waiters always attentive and polite, and Filippe's happy hour in the piano bar was fantastic. Cocktail's are really nice, and 2 for 1 from 6.30pm to 7.30pm. Food was really good, fresh options every night and enough variation to suit every taste. We had read previous reviews, and e-mailed hotel to get sea view on 6th floor. This cost an extra 100 euros, but was worth it as view was great. Rooms are good size, beds are enormous, lost the wife a couple of times, and our room was cleaned with a change of linen and towels every day. Entertainment was of a high professional standard, and always good. Only down side is the entertainment only runs for an hour each night usually from 9.30 till 10.30, so can seem a bit short. Hotel was clean and well run, but it is a big hotel, and consequently certain meal queues at times can be very long, but staff do all they to keep things moving. If you fancy a change, there's good restaurants just down the road, and the supermarket does fresh baguettes, which sorted us for lunch. Also visit the Blanc y Negre bar, which looks a bit "British Boozer", but Suzy is a charmer, and the beer is good price. Area is great for walking of all standards, we walked 5k to Cala Turquette, but it can get difficult!! A great holiday, best recommendation I can give is that we are booking againg for next year! Enjoy.

Room Tip: Look for sea view rooms on higher floors. This may cost a bit, but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton Cheshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is not a 4 Star Hotel it is a 4 "T" hotel ( totally different categorisation) and it lives up to it.
I can not review the rooms or apartments as we were in a Suite. Our accommodation was excellent and spotlessly clean (soles of disposable slippers provided were almost as clean at end of holiday as at the start) with sunbed area, dining area, lounge and separate en suit bedroom all well furnished.
Food is good and plentiful if you don't want chips for breakfast, don't have them as there is plenty of choice. Veg at dinner is sometimes tinned but again plenty of choice and there are always salad options.
Did not bother with entertainment, mainly very loud tribute acts, but they were obviously popular, packed every night with people coming from other hotels and accommodation in the resort to see them.
Staff good and helpful 2 small problems with room (one joinery and one plumbing) were fixed in a couple of hours. We don't speak Spanish so obviously could not hold conversations with some of the staff - who being in Spain - do.
Will go back but were spoiled with being allocated a Suite.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We have recently returned from a week at the Cala Galdana hotel, and had a wonderful time. We had paid for a front facing room, and emailed asking for a 1st floor room with larger balcony, this was allocated to us and was great as the balcony not only had a table and two chairs, but two sun loungers for our use also.
The room was nicely decorated and very clean as was all of the hotel and pool area,staff were polite and friendly and worked hard. Breakfasts were excellent, but evening meals could of had more variety, but we didn't go hungry, and it hasn't stopped us wanting to return.
The resort is beautiful, quiet and has a gorgeous beach, we have stayed in the resort before so knew the evening entertainment was all hotel based,but there are some nice restaurants to eat in if you fancy a change from your hotel meal, we had a packed lunch one day in place of the evening meal in the hotel, we asked reception the day before and it was ready for us in the dining room the following morning at breakfast, It was much more than we expected and was very nice.
We will be returning to Cala Galdana and will be happy to stay at this hotel again, we have stayed in several resorts in Menorca, but this must be one of the most picturesque bays on the island.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the front facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We were really keen to go back to Cala Galdana after spending a week there a few years ago when we stayed at the Audax. We booked late and this was the only hotel with availability so decided to give it ago. Cala Galdana was just as we remembered and we still love the place but we would not stay at this hotel again.

The positives were:
1. The breakfasts were good with fresh fruit and good fried and boiled eggs.
2. The breads were also fantastic in the morning and evening, warm and fresh and loved the onion bread.
3. The reception staff where extremely helpful.
4. Good central location that is next to the bus stop and near to the beach and nice restaurants.
5. Decent sized swimming pool.
6. You do get UK TV channels BBC1, BBC2 and Sky News.

However for us the negatives were:

1. We had an ajoining door in our rom and as a result we could hear conversations between the couple in our neighbouring room, every toilet flush, etc, etc.
2. Squashed mosquitos on the curtain veils which were there when we arrived.
3. The gym is not a gym - all the equipment is well outdated and there is little of it - there is also no aircon that we could make out in the gym.
4. The pool was freezing, nice when you are in but everyone who went in winced followed by 'it's freezing'.
5. If you want a safe in your room then you have to pay an extra 15 euros and a 10 euro deposit.
6. The fridge turned off when we took our room card out of the charger.
7. Our room was at the back of the hotel and the view is a road and rockery (not a negative but just a FYI).

Overall the facilities were basic and food was alright. I would certainly say this is a 3/4 star (more 3) as opposed to a good 4 star.

We are both in our early thirties and we were two of the younger guests at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cala Galdana & Villas d'Aljandar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cala Galdana & Villas d'Aljandar

Address: Calle de Riu 74, 07750 Cala Galdana, Minorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Cala Galdana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cala Galdana
#5 Family Hotel in Cala Galdana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cala Galdana & Villas d'Aljandar 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Cala Galdana & Villas d'Aljandar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cala Galdana And Villas d`Aljandar
Hotel Cala Galdana d Aljandar
Hotel Cala Galdana & Villas D'Aljandar Minorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cala Galdana & Villas d'Aljandar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.