We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cala Mitjana

Cala Mitjana
Paseo del Riu, Cala Galdana, Minorca, Spain
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 15 Restaurants in Cala Galdana
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A lovely evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had been advised to book, and were very glad we had as the restaurant filled up fast. We chose the taster menu, the portions were ample but not too much considering it was five courses, each course very tasty. The manager was attentive and helpful but not OTT as some have suggested. We watched as he made each table feel welcome. The ambiance was good, with low lighting, a welcome change to the canteen that masqueraded as a restaurant at the Hotel Cala Galdana! It was a lovely evening to end our holiday.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    71
    24
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Lovely Taster Menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

First time in Cala Galdana and visited this restaurant based on the TA reviews for the area. We went for the taster menu which was 5-courses of good sized portions for a reasonable price. Warm montadito with Camembert cheese, honey, almonds and spinach leaves, Spicy peppers sauteed with king prawns, Sea-bass with goat's cheese on kiwi coulis with boulangere potatoes or Roast lamb marinated with Menorcan honey of flowers and fresh vegetables, Chocolate passion with Grand Marnier, kiwi and strawberries followed by Pomada (Gin & lemon) sorbet with bread and VAT for €26.50ea. I did see other tables with very nice looking paellas and would certainly revisit if I come back to CG for sure. The service staff were very polite and helpful but the owner did appear to slobber around tables of females no matter their age!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely meat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I get confused when I see a place has such glowing reviews & then a few absolutely awful & I have decided it all just comes down to expectations & preferences!

As mentioned in other reviews the owner can be a bit over the top and at the start it felt a little much, however by the end of the meal he did take the time to have a "conversation" with us, he was less over bearing and more engaging, if you prefer the staff not to talk to you, don't come here!

My mum had the fillet steak, she says it was amazing & I the honeyed lamb shoulder, a huge amount of meat & it literally fell off the bone, a sign of a good piece of well cooked meat in my opinion, garnishes were simple but lovely, seasoned baked potato, courgette, half tomato. Yes there is a stick of "toasted spaghetti" stuck in the potato, random but actually very nice, how people can take such offence to this is beyond me! The honey on my lamb was a nice extra touch as well, lifted it slightly!

Price wise, no it's not cheap, but think about what you'd pay for this quality of meat at home, why do we expect everything to be so cheap over here?

We were nicely full so decided not to ruin it by having dessert but the "homemade" desserts sounded lovely.

If you come here expecting michelin star food & service, yes, you may be disappointed, but if you'd like a fresh piece of meat or fish, cooked to order, in a comfortable setting, this should suit you quite nicely! We had a lovely meal & will return!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dinner in Cala Galdana 9/4/13”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Cala Mitjana had a great atmosphere for dinner. The lighting was dim enough for casual comfort while bright enough to read the menu and enjoy your companions at the table (and not a florescent tube light in sight!). There was a much-appreciated cool breeze after a full day on the beach.

The staff worked seamlessly as a team with the manager (I think) greeting each table warmly, taking most orders and socializing with guests. He was great to make recommendations AFTER asking questions to determine one's tastes.

Our food was delicious: King prawns sauteed in wine sauce to start; Filet with Mahon cheese sauce and roast chicken for dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“LOVED the crazy owner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Excellent food quality and service. We had read about an owner that many found overbearing- we loved him- crazy and , hey, it's HIS place :-) Food was outstanding- I had the baked dorado and my hubby had the pork medallions. Both meals were exceptional. Starters were the baked camembert and stuffed eggplant - WHAT a great dish! This restaurant gets rave reviews for a reason- go!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cala Mitjana also viewed

 
Cala Galdana, Minorca
Cala Galdana, Minorca
 

Been to Cala Mitjana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cala Mitjana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.