We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does What It Says” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aparthotel Cordial Golf Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Aparthotel Cordial Golf Plaza to your Saves list
Aparthotel Cordial Golf Plaza
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Urb. Golf del Sur s/n, 38620 Golf del Sur, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Golf del Sur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Valletta, Malta
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Does What It Says”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is a great hotel for families with children. The rooms are big and the service good, and all for a reasonable price. It's also pretty good if you want to hire a car and explore the island: you are a few minutes away from the main motorway and so it's easy to get to either Santa Cruz or the national park. There are also a good few restaurants within walking distance. Beaches are not special, but the hotel pool is big. Only downside of the hotel I think is that wifi is available only in the lobby (against payment) and is painfully slow!

There is a minimart next to the hotel: check your bill and change there!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    428
    159
    61
    41
See reviews for
429
400
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This was our first holiday abroad with our 8 month old baby and we were quite apprehensive. However we have come back refreshed and ready to face the winter. The hotel is spacious, very clean with excellent service and staff.The food is plentiful with a good choice every night. It is a shame that there is not coffee available after the meal but the wine was free flowing and you have facilities in your room so take t bags and coffee. Our one criticism of mealtimes is that 7.30 Is quite late for children but I know that is the way of life abroad. the pool is clean and we never struggled to find a sunbed although we didnt go in peak season. the spa is worth a visit although some of the facilities were broken and be careful of the metal handle on the sauna door! there is no beach worth visiting near the hotel but the buses go regularly to los Christianos which is worth a visit. there is a lovely bar called Maria's if you walk along the coast away from the marina very cheap and what a view! all in all a lovely week and we would definitely return at this time of year again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and I returned from a most enjoyable week at this hotel last week. We travelled on a Travelzoo offer from Cordial Hotels which was an absolute bargain (half board+ accommodation in a junior suite with seven days spa access) and therefore any comments (not criticism) must be correlated against the price paid.

This may be a 4 star hotel in terms of apart hotel gradins but in my opinion as a hotel service it is 3+ star at best. The hotel majors on the facilities which it provides which are very good but in terms of customer service it is somewhat lacking. I know Golf del Sur very well and therefore I was comfortable with the location before travelling and the close proximity to the airport was of no detriment whatsoever.

Our junior suite, on the third floor by specific request, was a large one bed roomed apartment overlooking the main entrance and access road which benefited from the rising sun in the morning. Fitments in the room were very basic and only just sufficient but a fridge and coffee making facilities are a bonus. I had hired a car and there was underground parking with the facilities charged at €2 per day and a similar price levied for the in room safe. Pool towels are supplied for the duration of guests stay with a deposit of €10 each. Overall the hotel is spotlessly clean.

The food served at both breakfast and dinner was buffet style and very good with a wide variety of fare on offer and full use made of the griddle at both meals where hot food is grilled to order by a member of the catering staff. Dining is not however a culinary experience as the large featureless dining hall resembles something of a ‘canteen with tablecloths’ and the complete lack of any dress code at dinner produced some very interesting sights. I fail to understand how some guests can go to dinner in the same clothes that they have been wearing during the course of a hot day and personal hygiene is a detrimental consequence. The pool area is a similarly featureless large area with sufficient sun beds for all but nowhere to relax away from the noise of children or animation team enjoying the pool. Half board+ included drinks with meals but this was limited to glasses of beer, boxed sangria and red and white wine all served on tap and through a cooling facility which did not particularly enhance the vin rouge. I would not particularly recommend this meal enhancement.

Post dinner entertainment is negligible with the piano bar (without a piano!!) doubling as a nightclub/theatre presenting two quiz nights, a bird of prey show, a snake show, a parrot show and a musician each week. The only other bar adjoined the reception lobby and appeared to be a privately owned franchise which was not particularly well frequented. There are however a number of bars and other time share style hotels in the vicinity that provide entertainment of various forms to which access is not restricted.

To summarise we enjoyed our week at the Cordial Golf Plaza very much and matters to which I have passed comment did nothing to spoil our break especially at the price paid. I have for some time had the Cordial Mogan Playa in Gran Canaria in my sights but I now feel that unless I can be assured of an improved service in that hotel I may well be looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishopton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

First time in Tenerife and would thoroughly recommend this hotel. We stayed in room 137 and it was huge, although at the rear of the hotel (North facing) it was a bit noisy but did not spoil the stay. All the other comments in the previous reports we would agree with wholheartedtly but must make special comment on the helpfulness of the staff. At the reception, our special thanks go to Fernanda who always had a smile the size of the ocean and so helpful. The gentleman (did not get his name...sorry!!) on the evening desk when we arrived in the early hours of the morning 24th (flight delayed 4 hours!!! thanks Thomas Cook!!), to our late departure (check out time noon but we paid a supplement of 25 euros to stay until 1800hrs, flight was at midnight), equally helpful and always with a smile. The restaurant team under the watchful eye of the Maitre d' Sr Angel, excellent service and nothing too much trouble. Food excellent. We stayed half board and you could swap an evening for an afternoon giving the hotel 24 hours notice. Dined at the fish restaurant "Perlas del Mar" on the harbour front in Los Abrigos, a must if you like fish....you choose the one you want from the catch of the day and pay by the kilo. Had a voucher for the Spa Atlantis (part of the hotel), superb. All in all an excellent stay . Look forward to our return.

Room Tip: "Try and get a south facing room, much quieter"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for the second time and we were very pleased to find that the attention to detail was just as good as last year. Other reports have informed about the size of the apartments so no need to repeat those, however we must comment about the level of cleanliness throughout the hotel and most particularly in the apartments themselves.
While the hotel remained mainly as last year, we did notice an improvement in the restaurant food at breakfast time. We cannot comment on lunch and dinner as we had only booked for bed and breakfast. One of the main improvements, was the addition of fresh, bacon, eggs and omelettes that were being cooked to order. This was a far cry from the food on offer last year.
We ate out most evenings, but on the one night my wife did cook a meal she found that the kitchen was equipped with all the essentials that she needed and that they were all of a decent quality and of course spotlessly clean. There was also a decent size fridge, which we found important for keeping our drinks cold, especially the 'Dorada'.
In the main the hotel staff were very friendly, although we did find a couple of the receptionists were less than helpful. However that could NOT be said of Fernanda, who was always cheerful and most helpful.
Would we return? Yes definitely, and we would recommend it to anyone who asked. We have stayed in the hotel now twice and in the resort four times, so if anyone needs any specific questions answered, we would be glad to try and help.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QATAR
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed for 3 weeks from 2nd October 2012. Read reviews on Trip Advisor which were both accurate and very helpful. Hotel was very clean. Pool side apartment as recommended was excellent for late afternoon and evening sun and quieter than roadside. Maid service excellent. Reception excellent, patient and very helpful. Wifi and internet is extra and so is safe hire. Resort is fairly quiet. Bus stop outside hotel 483 Best for Los Cristianos and Las Americas, buses also go to Los abrgos Las Galletas and Medano from outside hotel. We booked through Broadway travel and were very pleased with the service and details we received. Nice coastal walks available although some parts are unfortunately a bit "doggy/dirty" thanks to selfish dog owners! Couple of nice coves in which to swim on stoney beaches.

Room Tip: poolside gets afternoon and eveing sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, Lancs. UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Had heard good things about the hotel and bad things about the planes. Well,I agree with the good stuff. Reception staff are friendly and helpful, even when language can be a barrier. Maintenance guy is great (he even came a fixed a light we hadn't reported yet, I suspect maid service reported it).
The Apartments are HUGE, I've lived in smaller places, including my first house. Well equipped with loads of storage and drawers. The TV could be better and maybe have satellite, but I don't go on holiday to watch TV, so wasn't a massive problem. The one thing I would say is the pillows are very thin and the beds are on the harder side, but I bet reception would provide more pillows if you asked (we didn't bother). And the AC is so good we had to turn it off!

As for the planes, it was amusing to wave at the pilot and passengers as they passed by the window (they seem that close, they're not really), but they don't start early or finish late and you don't really notice the noise after the first morning! looking at the island map and the flight paths, you'd have the same problems in a LOT of the other resorts and hotels anyway. And when you're diving (which is what the holiday is about for me) they really don't matter. Even the days by the pool and on the beach weren't disturbed by them...

Overall, a great hotel and a great weeks Winter Sun holiday.

Room Tip: You have to choose between a pool/sea view to get the sun on the balcony (but the Ouse from the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aparthotel Cordial Golf Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Cordial Golf Plaza

Address: Urb. Golf del Sur s/n, 38620 Golf del Sur, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Golf del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Golf del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aparthotel Cordial Golf Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aparthotel Cordial Golf Plaza is an ideal hotel for golfers and lovers of wellness. It has 174 spacious apartments and Suites.Aparthotel Cordial Golf Plaza is located in the south of Tenerife, within the municipality of San Miguel de Abona. Ideally situated within a short distance of Tenerife's popular golf courses, Golf del Sur and Amarilla Golf and only 500m from the marina.Aparthotel Cordial Golf Plaza offers restaurant, pool bar, lobby bar, Spa&Wellness centre(climatized roman style pool with hydromassage beds, high pressure and multi jet showers, jacuzzi, sauna and plunge bath, turkish bath, aromatherapy, relaxation massages, wrappings, aquagym etc.), Squash and fitness room with cardio training machines, swimming pools, children's playground, entertainment (some services with additional charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Budget Places so you can book your Aparthotel Cordial Golf Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Cordial Golf Plaza Hotel Golf Del Sur
Hotel Plaza
Golf Plaza Spa Resort Tenerife
Golf Plaza Tenerife
Aparthotel Cordial Golf Plaza Tenerife/Golf Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aparthotel Cordial Golf Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.