We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but not if you want nightlife, mostly OAPs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aguamarina Golf Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Aguamarina Golf Hotel to your Saves list
Aguamarina Golf Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Avda. del Atlantico, 2, 38620 Golf del Sur, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Golf del Sur
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but not if you want nightlife, mostly OAPs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

We went for 3 nights all inclusive and really enjoyed ourselves. Great value, quiet and clean, lots of Saga customers, in our 30s we were easily the youngest there! Food was as good as we have had in an all inclusive hotel, and we have been to lots. If you want a chilled holiday in a nice hotel and quiet resort then this is ideal. Lovely walks along sea front and free bus to Los Chrisianos if you want a night out.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    247
    177
    86
    70
See reviews for
217
300
18
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

We booked this as a winter break which was very good, food plentiful and drink good.
There are restrictions on the all inclusive, Bottled water between 9am-11am then you cant have any more until the same time at night. Ice ream for the kids is only 4pm - 6pm.
The entertainment team cater for the French 90% of the time. As we left for home the hotel was invaded by french holiday makers at least 50-60. Hotel very busy.
But out of all the hotel is clean, food good just needs entertainment boost.
We would go back as a family, there is alot of older people at the hotel.
Front pool warmer, the main one really salty.

But good break

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

Hotel not very lively and caters more for the older clientel, seems to be a lot of French people in the hotel. You could always find something you liked to eat on the menu, rooms are very clean and tidy and the maids are very good. I would not recommend this hotel to youngsters but if just want a relaxing holiday it's ideal.
Near the airport but you do not notice the planes that much, a 15 euro taxi ride from the airport.
Right next to a golf course not sure how far from the club house, some nice holes though. All in all the hotel was OK and you get what you pay for, I found the staff very helpful,

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

clean rooms and good breakfast facilities ; however , everything is basic . do not plan on using the gym - it is a joke and many of the machines are postively dangerous . the food in the hotel is expensive and it is cheaper to eat out or get food from the local supermarkets . what annoyed me was the noise - at night it sounded like a club downstairs , or the fire alarm went off in the middle of the night , or people were taking luggage down corridors at all hours . in addition , cigarette smoke seems to permeate the place . i won´t be staying again and plan to stay at one of the better resorts further up the coast or rent an apartment .

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

I stayed here for 1 week in June last year with my boyfriend. This hotel is perfect for over 50s!! And for any nationality but British!

We were all inclusive - food was fine for first couple of days but then got very repetative. Each night there would be a special main or pudding which was nice to try something different. At lunch time all we were looking for was a small sandwich but this wasnt on offer. Only proper hot filling meals.

Entertainment was ok, not great!! Entertainment staff are not very willing to speak to the brisish guests.

Hotel as a whole was nice but I would not stay here again. Location was awful! Apart from a shop, irish pub, few restaurants (that were usually always empty) and gift shops there was nothing to do in the evening. Taxi into Las Americas was 20 euros. The hotel did provide a courtesy bus during the day but you had to book this in advance and filled up really quickly.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterborough
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

Arrived home yesterday from a truly relaxing week away. Hotel was spotless, our room was large, very clean, with two basins in the bathroom, shower and bath. Room was cleaned every single day and very spotless. We enjoyed the pool area, plenty of sunbeds and space to sunbathe. Pool was very cold, but we still had a great swim, at least it cooled you down. We didn't use the indoor pool, gym or jacuzzi, to be honest the week went really quick. We enjoyed the peace and quiet location, enjoyed the walk to local bars and visited San Blas were there was a local supermarket. We used the free bus 3 times in the week to visit los cristianos and las americas. We both preferred Cristianos as we found lots of nice shops and bars with reasonable prices. Food at the hotel was plentiful and catered for everyone. We enjoyed breakfast and evening meal. We also used to have afternoon coffee at the bar. We also sat in the huge conservatory which had a beautiful view. Make sure to take a walk around the area, as there are lots of nice places to discover. We found there was alot of older people here, they seemed to enjoy the peace also. We didn't manage to visit the waterpark or animal parks, but I'm sure we will on our next visit. We don't usually go to Tenerife, but feel that we may visit again in the near future. May we also say "thank you" to Carmen, lovely lady on reception, she was always very helpful. Please go and enjoy, you will be pleasantly surprised!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

Just arrived back from the aguamarina hotel in tenerife. I went with my girlfriend, after reading the reviews i was a bit hesitant on what my stay would be like. I have got to say i could not have been more wrong the stay absolutlely brilliant the hotel was sparkling clean, the rooms where lovely and clean with full air con and a fridge, the bathroom was very nice and spacious very clean all tiled with a marble design.

There are two pool areas and we never ever had any problems with getting a sunbed, The poistioning of the hotel also means that in the winter period you get sunshine from sunrise until about 5:30pm. after this the air tends to cool down so it isnt a bad thing. However if you do want to stay in the sun there is a area to the side where there is no pool its like a suntrap where you can sunbathe anytime of the day or simple just watch the sun set over the sea.

The bar area is nice, a large open bar in a rectangular shape with stools all around we never had any problems getting a drink no matter what time of the day it was. There was a large supply of all different local branded spirits, liqures and wines. Also when you go All inclusive the drinks tend to be of a weak strength, however the aguamarinas drinks where the appropriate strengths to how we would find them at home, and i can handle my drink but i have got to admit there where nights when i was rather a bit sozzled haha.

The food i found was great, the lunch and dinner where never the same and they never had the same food on night after night. The meats where fantastic ribs, steak, lamb chops, pork chops, assortments of chorizo sausages. As well as seprate dishes with all the above meats in not all on the same night though of course. Desserts where also great with a range of cakes, fruits, mouses and ice creams. All with a waiter service for your drinks.

The entertainment was also good with all shows being performed in a indoor theatre it was brilliant and by far one of the best entertaining venues i have ever been to within a hotel. However they do have a singer who caters to a "older audience" Personally i found a trip to the irish bar down the road a great change of scenery.

Please note that most of the bad reviews for this hotel come from the older generations who travel with sage, this really is a brillaint hotel and please dont let the bad reviews put you off otherwise you will miss out.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aguamarina Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aguamarina Golf Hotel

Address: Avda. del Atlantico, 2, 38620 Golf del Sur, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Golf del Sur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Golf del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aguamarina Golf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
these are different than Aguamarina Golf Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Aguamarina Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aguamarina Hotel Golf Del Sur
Aguamarina Golf Tenerife
Aguamarina Resort Golf Del Sur
Hotel Aguamarina Tenerife
Hotel Aguamarina Golf Tenerife
Aguamarina Golf Hotel Tenerife/Golf Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aguamarina Golf Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.