We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for what we paid” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aguamarina Golf Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Aguamarina Golf Hotel to your Saves list
Aguamarina Golf Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Avda. del Atlantico, 2, 38620 Golf del Sur, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Golf del Sur
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent value for what we paid”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned home from 1 week A.I
the hotel was very good. The facilities were very clean. The staff were fantastic.
My kids are 7 & 5 two boys ,they played all day at the pool area and has a fantastic holiday. The entertainment staff were very good, however most things on offer were for adults. There is not a lot to do in Golf Del Sur apart from golf and relax. It is an ideal resort for chilling out. The hotel is used by a lots of people with out hearing and you should be aware of this as It took me by surprise however all of deaf people were very nice people and were very respectfull to me and the kids as we were in return to them.

The rooms were ok , if slightly dated decor. however they were very clean and the maid service was first class. We had a sea view and it was fantastic looking over the harbour.

The food was excellent, there was a mixture of dishes for all preferences
Lots of fish, salad , meat , pasta and the basics for kids of burgers and pizza
Fresh fruit and deserts
The selection was first class and the standard of food was very good also.

We are going to go back next October.
For a family holiday for 4 flying from Liverpool for 1 week A.I for around £1600 it was fantastic value for money

7.5 out of 10

Jim G
Hamilton
Scotland

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    247
    177
    86
    70
See reviews for
217
300
18
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

stayed at this French hotel ,lots of french guests ,food was fine and 15 min from airport but wouldnt go again,airport very handy only 15 min. Hotel bit dated ,staff bit miserable,nothing much around hotel ,bowling green and expensive irish bar thats it ,entertainment catered for mostly French,and boring games.

Room Tip: keep near lift,s or could be long walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed here from 5th Oct to 16th Oct, had a really good deal through teletext holidays. The transfer time - 15 mins max, from the airport was great, taxi was 15 euros when we arrived at 8.30pm evening and 12 euros when we were departing our hotel at 4.30pm. Overall our impression of the hotel was very, very clean, rooms nice and big, no complaint there. Hotel staff friendly but the young ladies in the restaurant were quite glum.!! Hotel food ok, and we are not fussy eaters, but some mornings, were a bit chaotic, no coffee cups - there didn't seem to be enough staff on to cope with the demand.!! The evenings were a total let down, entertainment was very poor when you had it, and the drinks were poor quality - we were AI. The pool areas were ok, but we found that the pool at the apartments was far superior, with a fabulous view, and the ladies at the little pool bar, were lovely - also the lifeguards were very courteous. This area is very quiet and there is a lot of unfinished construction work, which makes it look quite depressing. We found it too quiet, and we are not into night clubs - both in our early fifties. You can walk into the lovely quaint fishing village of Los Abrigos, about half an hour away, but be aware of the awful stench when you reach the Santa Barbara Golf Club Hotel, how the guests can lay around the pool with that awful smell, beggars belief, there is a sewerage treatment works next door to this hotel. If you are after a completely quiet holiday, then the hotel aguamarina is great, but this hotel also caters for the elderly there is even a saga lounge. Bit too young for this yet.!! Maybe in 20 years time.!! Also make use of the courtesy bus, 3xtimes a day to Los Cristianos and Playa de las americas - day time only though. I would view this hotel as 4 star for its cleanliness and bedrooms, but food, lack of good entertainment 2 - 3 star.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I have ust spent a week at Aguamarina Golf Hotel and all I can say is the people who put comments on like disappointed and poor must be VERY hard to please! It was exceptionally clean all over the hotel, no cockroaches in sight (but then again it is a hot country so wouldn't have been out of place)! Food was fantastic all week, staff lovely and helpful. Ok entertainment wasn't great but we didn't expect it to be in the hotel. The area lacks pubs with entertainment near the hotel, apart from Rendevous and the Irish bar just down the road there wan't much more that we found, so a bit quiet in the evenings. Would certainly go back to this hotel without any worries

Room Tip: Maybe choose one away from the lifts, so your not disturbed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huddersfield england
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

2nd visit to this hotel nov 2010 and september 2012 we went all inclusive and thought it was excellant value for money,lovely hotel set in the quiet location of golf de sur but within easy reach of more lively resorts of los christianos,playas de americas and costa adeje,theres even free bus trips from the hotel to these resorts but you have to book at reception the day before.the food at this hotel is superb,the staff are very helpfull,drinks good quality not watered down like at some AI hotels.great pools and jacuzzi you can also use the pool and facilitys at the neighbouring aguamarine appartments.rooms are very spacious and clean we were on the top floor and had great views of the pool and marina,the marina is well worth a visit (walking distance) there is a bar at the far end of the marina where you can have a drink and watch the submarine coming and going (happy hour 4 30 to 5 30 BOGOF) you can hire jet ski,s at the marina very friendly people running this,our first time on jet skis and we realy enjoyed it,give it a try.entertainment at hotel usual stuff parrot show etc,but plenty of places to sit and enjoy a drink with friends.a few bars nearby,irish bar,tributes bar with a different act on every night plenty of restaurants nearby if you fancy a change.the only thing missing from this resort is a decent beach (very rocky). if you want a quiet relaxing holiday this could be the ideal place to relax and unwind,we did and will be coming back again soon.oh and the weather was FANTASTIC.

Room Tip: top floor=great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klaipeda
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We were here 02/10/2012-10/10/2012. The area of hotel was poor. There is no beach near the hotel. Food was s oso, but what we have seen there!!!! Cockroach!!!!!! The was one on the cheese, the others on the wall and curtains...... brrrrrr...... there is no good entertainment, what I have seen there was nothing. There is no good places near hotel. I will never go there again..... I never recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

we returned from on friday 5th Oct 2012 after 2 weeks all inclusive. Our party consisted of 3 adults and 2 children aged 6 and 2. We had booked 2 separate rooms. I have so much to say about every aspect that I will categorise in sub-headings so I dont miss anything out!!
Checking in - Arrived at 12.30 pm and was issued room key cards but was told one of our rooms was not quite ready so we took our cases to the room which was available and went to the pool for the afternoon. We returned at 4.30 only to find the previous occupants were still in the room!! Off we went to reception who told us that the previous occupants had "only just told them" that they were extending their stay so we were allocated a different room.

Rooms - Adequate and basic although there was excellent daily maid service and daily clean towels. The beds were so hard you might as well sleep on a block of concrete!!

Pool area - As wehad 2 small children with us we headed for the shallow kids pool as we thought it would be safer... wrong...This pool goes from 6ins deep to about 24ins but there is a steep slope across the centre with no markings on the bottom so a small child could suddenly be out of their depth. We saw many children and adults slip down the slope.

Bar (all inclusive) - We have done many all inc in the past and to us it means what you want when you want butnot here!! Bottled water available 9-11am and 9-11pm only. outside these times you are served with a plastic cup of water. All spirits were local (cheap) and cocktails were included but only non alcoholic ones. The alcoholic cocktails were 4 euros.
Small tubs of ice-cream for the kids were included... but only between 4 -6pm!!
You can only get a drink if you produce your room key card and it is strictly 1 drink per card!! even soft drinks!!

Yes there was a kids playground... with 2 slides and a rocking horse...

Entertainment - The usual parrot shows and flamenco dancers but there was absolutely nothing for the children. Most nights there was no entertainment on at all then when the flamenco dancers were on there was a fashion show on at the same time at the opposite end of the room!! this seemed very bad planning. They did not put any music on in between so the place was very quiet most nights.

Be warned!! It is a SAGA hotel so every seems to be geared at the elderly traveller!!

Staff - Some of the reception staff were very friendly and courteous but the females were not so. The bar staff were mainly grumpy and ignorant with the odd exception.

Food - On the whole the food was bland, tasteless and repetitive. The children especially struggled to find anything to their liking and they are not particularly fussy eaters. The breakfasts were the best meal of the day but the rest of the time I ate mostly salads.We ate out quite a few times because we were just so fed up of it. There is an irish bar close by called "The flying geese" who served good meals reasonably priced.

The communal toilets were very clean but the pool toilets were very dirty and smelly and VERY slippery with wet feet!!

We will not be going back to this hotel and would not recommend it to anyone!!!

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the pool area but some on the ground floor are beside a walkway and accessible t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aguamarina Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aguamarina Golf Hotel

Address: Avda. del Atlantico, 2, 38620 Golf del Sur, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Golf del Sur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Golf del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aguamarina Golf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
these are different than Aguamarina Golf Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Aguamarina Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aguamarina Hotel Golf Del Sur
Aguamarina Golf Tenerife
Aguamarina Resort Golf Del Sur
Hotel Aguamarina Tenerife
Hotel Aguamarina Golf Tenerife
Aguamarina Golf Hotel Tenerife/Golf Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aguamarina Golf Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.