We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super restaurant, great crew.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mill Bar Restaurant and Grill

The Mill Bar Restaurant and Grill
Ocean Golf and Country Club, | Avenida Del Sur, 38639 Golf del Sur, Tenerife, Spain
+34 922 73 85 50
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 41 Restaurants in Golf del Sur
Price range: $3 - $25
Cuisines: Fish & Chips, Dessert, British, Tapas
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Essex
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Super restaurant, great crew.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We were recommended The Mill by our apartment owner. We were not disappointed. Three times we visited the restaurant and three times we had great service and great food. it was only on the last night that I realised I didn't know the names of the team. I now know that Andy, Paul and Kerry work the bar and take the orders, Ice cold beer in a frosted glass every time, delightful. Amanda and Ann cook the first class food. Lovely seating area, watched the sun disappear whilst enjoying the food and the company. Great steaks, nice steak puddings, lovely desserts great beer and a lovely Ron Miel to finish too. Thanks Guys. We will be back. Steve and Sue, Essex.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    22
    12
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

A little off the beaten track but well worth the effort to get there. The food is all home made, and there is a great choice on the menu. The staff are very friendly and were part of our reason for visiting twice during our week long stay. Apart from the small problem with the electrics (the lights kept going out momentarily) we were very impressed. Will definitely be back on our next visit in March.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good home cooking, spotlessly clean and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The first thing that hits you is the cleanliness which immediately puts you at your ease and makes yu look forward to your dinner. Andy and Paul (waiters) are both very welcoming. Food is excellent, good home cooking,we have sampled most of the menu. The fish and chips arfe superb made with "auntys batter" which is the lightest we have ever eaten, not stodgy at all. Puddings are all home cooked and if you want Spanish the tapas is also good. Overall if you just feel like some good home cooked food in a very clean restaurant this is the place to go. No more upset tummies!!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Expensive.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This was a nice place, food good, but pricey. There are better places for food. The staff are great, and if you want to relax in an English speaking place it's for you!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“The Right Night!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We ate at The Mill twice during our 10 day stay, having eaten there in previous years.
I decided to write this review after reading a couple of others. One mention "Fake" steak. I would say the steaks are our main reason for going there and I only eat Fillet.
Another mentioned poor food and I have to say that the second visit this stay was below par, however we worked out that Andy's wife had the night off and they had a different chef on.
Firstly the Calamari was over cooked and not a lot of it but when Andy brought it out he said as he put it down "This isn't good enough, I'll get you some more!!". Unusual but great service! Then the steaks took quite a while to come out and everything was over cooked again, the Medium steaks were well done, the chips were like crisps etc... Andy again offered to redo the whole lot straight away but we were so hungry by then we decided to eat it.
When we got the bill and with out prompting, there was hardly anything on it!!! What should have been about 75 euros ended up under 20.
I'm sure they will have sorted their "reserve chef" issue out and given the way they dealt with the whole thing, we wouldn't hesitate to go back, thanks.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mill Bar Restaurant and Grill also viewed

Golf del Sur, Tenerife
Golf del Sur, Tenerife
 
Golf del Sur, Tenerife
 

Been to The Mill Bar Restaurant and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mill Bar Restaurant and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.