We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The stars were bright Fernando!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sa Gavina

Sa Gavina
Arenal d_en Castell 07740 Es Mercadal, Arenal d'en Castell, Minorca, Spain
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Spanish, English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: next to Good Bridge Cafe in Arenal d'en Castell in Menorca
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The stars were bright Fernando!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Well as every other reviewer has said - WE LOVE YOU FERNANDO!!!! He makes this restaurant. We had our 4 year old and our 6 month old with us. Fernando was the hilight of the holiday for our 4 year old who just loved him. He is so entertaining and friendly every night - even when it is super busy in the restaurant he keeps everyone entertained.

Down to the food - amazing. Definitely the best food in the resort. We had the steak one night and paella the next night we were there.

It is really lovely inside as well - the first night we were there it started to rain so Fernando pulled over the sun shades but did say it would not stop the rain coming through so if we wanted to move inside we could. It is quaint inside. It also has baby changin faciliteis in the bathrooms which was amazing. I couldn't believe it.

I really want to go back to Arenal d'en Castell and I have to say a lot of it is thanks to Fernando! It is a beautiful resort but he is so memorable that it has made the place stick in our memories!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    16
    6
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Friendly welcome and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The title says it all really.

The paella was lovely - and no shells / bones etc...even better!

Customers made to feel welcome and a few resort hints and tips thrown in too.

I'd eat there again should I venture back to the resort.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“the best!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

best view and excellent food, very kind people , I used to eat there when in menorca. The beach is also beatiful at the bottom . You can eat and delight with the taste, the smell and your eyes!
Thumbs up for the people and for Andrés!!!! I love yo brother, jeeje!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Very friendly owners, Fernad and Kate are very welcoming. The food is nicely cooked and the standard portions are good.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolne Lancashire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Went to this restaurant whilst staying in a local hotel, food was very good and cheap. Staff were lovely an one was from England which was a bonus although the other waiter spoke very good English. Was very quiet when we went but was still nice as they had British music on. Seating available in and out. Highly recommend. Thank you

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sa Gavina also viewed

Arenal d'en Castell, Minorca
Arenal d'en Castell, Minorca
 
Arenal d'en Castell, Minorca
Arenal d'en Castell, Minorca
 

Been to Sa Gavina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sa Gavina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.