We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, nothing to die for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pino Alto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pino Alto to your Saves list
Hotel Pino Alto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Cristal 18 | Apartado de Correos 115, 43892 Miami Platja, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Miami Platja
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Ok, nothing to die for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is a typical summer budget resort. If you expect to be spoiled, you will be disappointed. The place is a short distance from the beach and has a family-friendly budget feel to it. The rooms are clean and the air-conditioning works. Beware, it is only open in the summer. The food is average, but this is not an issue in Spain. There are places not far away with good food. A perk for me, the hotel is around villas, as opposed to majority of hotels. This gives it a less touristy, less crowded feeling.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    44
    26
    20
    12
See reviews for
52
36
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Dear Mr David Kelly:

I sincerelly thank your comments and sugestions, and I asure you I´ll do my best to improve
our food service. However, to have food really hot (not only warm) in a Buffet service is fast
imposible, we risk to dry it to much and to burn it.
I wish you a nice winter and hope your visit next summer (HB of course)
With best Regards

Domingo Traver Quiles
HOTEL PINO ALTO
Avda. Playa Cristal, 18 43892 - MIAMI TARRAGONA ESPAÑA
Telf. 977 811 000 Fax. 977 810 907

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We have just come back from a stay at Pino Alto

This is not a 4 star hotel, it should be 3 stars, for everything except the food in the evenings, which is 1 star, bad quality, boring and repetitive. The rooms are ok a decent size, clean though a bit rough around the edges, most of the breakfast was decent, fresh fruit, yoghurts, lots of nice bread, cheese, meat and ordinary juice (not freshly squeezed). That is, except the cooked food, which looked really bad and we did not touch. The staff are all very friendly and helpful, the location is very quiet, ie not much going on near by, shops etc, though it is noisy at night because of the entertainment each evening. The beach is very close and nice. Parking is available through the hotel at a charge, but I was told this was really for people who just wanted to park their car for the week without using it. The hotel advised us to park on the street, which was very easy, there were always spaces and it is free
The other people were mainly Spanish, many with young children
My teenagers really enjoyed the pool, lovely and warm, seemed clean enough to me, there also seemed to be plenty of sun loungers some around the pool and the rest on the grass which was a nice place to lie in the sun and read

Room Tip: The entertainment at night can be a bit noisy, so it might be better to have a room that does not ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed here from June 9 through June 22. The staff were very friendly and accomodating. Although the rooms were not great, they were sufficient. I would defintely recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Dublin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I have just returned from a two night stay full board in this hotel. The hotel is difficult to get to from the airport but luckily I had family in the area so a lift was about 25mins! The hotel is well catered for families as the playground and pools and shortcut to the beach are ideal and there is entertainment every night. It was very quiet at this time of the year. The staff do not speak much English at all but mostly Spanish or German visitors in the hotel. The hotel room was clean and cleaned every day, bathroom was large and clean and a plasma tv with CNBC and BBC News only. A fridge in the room is helpful. The problem is the food, I was down for breakfast at 7:30am opening time and hot food was all cold, nice selection of fruit and breads instead, lunch was the same and dinner the same all hot food was cold and not nice but if you can live on bread and fruit your sorted. Miami Platja is very very quiet I wouldnt advise it for a holiday, my sister had a villa with her two kids aged 3 and 9.5mths but they got bored easily too. Salou, Cambril and Tarragone are much better sorted in catering for kids needs etc and couples would be very bored around here.

Room Tip: I was in Room 263 on second floor and it got the sun in the mornings and evenings well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

This hotel is labelled as a 4 star. The first thing I'd like to clear up is that this is most certainly not a 4 star hotel, 3 star is far more accurate.

I stayed here for a 7 night holiday in mid-September and the place was ok, but i'll try and break it down in the positives and negatives to make it easier to understand.

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Most spoke English (although broken at times) which was good considering there were very few English speaking guests in the area.

The rooms were alright, not 4 star at all but they were quite nice. They had brand new plasma tv's but the for a double room there were 2 single beds instead of a double, the beds were a little hard and the pillows were so small you needed about 3 to get any comfort out of them. Bathrooms were good, and the in-room safe was free.

One thing I wish I had researched more before coming here was the location and this lets the place down big time. The hotel is around a 10-15 minute walk to the main road and I would highly un-recommend Miami Platja as a place, you have to walk miles to find anywhere decent to eat out and we found the restaurant staff at them rude and obnoxious. Luckily it's only a 15 minute walk to the local train station where you can get a 10-15 minute train up the coast to Cambrills and Salou because without it this place would be useless without a car.

Not sure how busy peak season would be but it was very quiet when we went (everything from the pool to the restaurant). Pool was okay, usually very cold which was nice considering the heat in the day but looked dirty around the edges and needs to be cleaned.
Avoid the restaurant at all costs, we only had the breakfast since it was part of the package and it was terrible to say the least.

One more point to add, they have entertainment every night usually from 9pm-11pm and although this was good if enjoy that sort of thing the first night we were very tired and went to bed at 10pm. We had all the doors shut and blinds closed and our room was fairly far away from the focal point of the hotel and due to the music being extremely loud we could not fall asleep, something which annoyed me greatly.

Cleaners changed our bed sheets and linen every day which was nice but overall this place was very average and certainly isn't as good as it say it is. Wouldn't return based on a number of factors, mainly location.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony facing the pool seemed nicest although one facing the road would be quieter I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Pino Alto could be a great hotel if they could just get their food sorted . I stayed there Half Board from 31st August to 8th September .

The hotel was very clean and the room I was in has a nice new HD television. Like all hotels some of the staff were very friendly and others quite dour. A pint costs €2.90 and a cocktail about a fiver. The hotel is quite and everything shuts down at 12 midnight. Gyests seemed to be mainly Spanish and a few Germans.

Now to the food:

Breakfast: Breakfast is buffet style with plenty of ripe nice fruits, yogurts ,continental meats and cheeses , 4 cereals ,3 juices from a machine , orange, pear and apple, boiled eggs . There was always a good selection of breads and croissants etc as well
If you wanted a full breakfast you would be disapointed. the hot section every morning had so called sausages , choritos , rashers that had more fat than meat ( worse than streaky rashers), an inedible looking scrambled egg dish and a platter of fried eggs ( usually way over done. And just to make sure you enjoyed it , it was stone cold even at 7:30 when the dining room opened. Tomatos and mushrooms not on offer any morning. They have a microwave so you could zap it if it looked edible. I would rate the breakfast food 7 out of 10 except for the "hot" section which hardly qualifies as a 1.

Dinner: Starters were excellent . Big bowls of tiger prawns or salomn ,loads of mixed, bowls of shreeded , tomatos ,beetroot,onion , olives , cheeses ,hams and many more. All cold and fresh as they should be. Bread was also plentiful and the soup toureen was always hot.

Mains There were 2 fish and 2 meat dishesmost nights. There were no signs to identify what each dish was and even if there had been it still wouldn't make them edible or identifiable. Every evening there was a 3 or 4 dishes of veg as well and a tray of chips . Chips were the only dish that was hot . Everything else was stone cold...I mean stone cold .

Deserts; again a great selection of fruits, including melon , kiwis oranges etc. Cakes werey very nice and there were assorted bowls of differing deserts each night. There was also an ice cream fridge with 4 to 6 types of scoop icecream Another 7 maybe 8 out of 10 for deserts.

Summary: If you are into your hot food don't eat here. However the hotel is in a nice quite location and I would go back ( but only B&B). There is a lovely marina about 15 walk from the hotel which houses about 10 restaurants catering for all tastes and price ranges. I have eaten in most of them previously and the food is excellent.

Suggestion to management: Please start buying higher quality meats and get a chef who can cook and serve hot food! Serving hot dished "cold" is in breach of EU food standards and could lead to food poisioning.

Summary: A nice hotel for a quite break if they food could only get the food sorted!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pino Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pino Alto

Address: Playa Cristal 18 | Apartado de Correos 115, 43892 Miami Platja, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Miami Platja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Miami Platja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pino Alto 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Pino Alto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pino Alto Hotel
Hotel Pino Alto Miami Platja, Spain - Costa Dorada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pino Alto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.