We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite hotel in Majorca.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roc Illetas Playa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Roc Illetas Playa to your Saves list
Roc Illetas Playa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Illetas 62, 07181 Illetas, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Illetas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Our favourite hotel in Majorca.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very friendly, welcoming staff. Always polite and professional. The apartments are especially good and we have always had the most relaxing and beautiful sea views. The food is very good with something for everyone. We have stayed in lovely hotels in Majorca, but we always come back here. This is my fifth time here. It might not be a five star, but the friendly atmosphere and the feel good factor are priceless.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    162
    65
    36
    35
See reviews for
103
160
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

We arrived at the hotel and it looked nice and staff friendly. We were given directions to our room which we managed to find ok as the hotel is like a maze. On entering the room we were taken back by the view of the bay, it was beautiful. The problems started on the first night with cockroaches in both bathrooms in our room (5D) this continued throughout our stay cockroaches appearing from under toilet sink and baths in both rooms. We reported the problem to reception and they gave us a complimentary snack bar voucher for a meal and drinks. The staff here were fantastic so friendly and willing to help and with the view being so beautiful the cockroach problem spoilt the holiday as my wife and daughter could not sleep at night, and also the bedding was not clean when we arrived with stains and hairs in the sheets and pillow cases.
The hotel could be excellent as the food was superb in the restaurant. 5/10 for me

Stayed October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

Have just come back from staying here. Whilst all the reviews are pretty accurate here are my views;
Rooms:are pretty basic and perhaps a little dated however they were very spacious, the shower/wet room was excellent and clean
The pool: not suitable for those with mobility issues however the grounds were quaint, meandering and very clean. Not a large pool but for those going out of season, perfectly adequate (although prob quite difficult to get a bed in busier periods)
The food: we had lunch one day on the terrace and brekkie included: all nicely prepared and stacks of choice. Yep the bacon isn't british...but you're not in Britain!!!
Staff: incredibly helpful, friendly and couldn't complain
Location; It's a tiny hillside resort which has a few coffee shops, bars etc within the 10min stroll locality. Beach is 5 mins away (and lovely beach it is!), the hotel has access to the turquoise clear sea. Taxi from airport/palma city was only 10/15mins and taxi to the livelier Magaluf (we watched the pirate show) was only 10mins.
All in all a great located hotel to use as a base. Perhaps not the plushest but if you want a well located clean place that's only a few euros taxi ride from both palma city or magaluf/palma nova but a quiet escape then you can't go far wrong!

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

The location is excellent with fantastic views over Palma bay. The staff are all very helpful, efficient and friendly. The food is very average. Buffet style breakfast and dinner. Limited selection at breakfast with poorly coked bacon and reused food for dinner, eg fresh fish grilled one evening will be fish stew next. Venison one evening is .. Yes stew next night. Nearly all the cereal/dessert bowls had chips on the handles and almost all the salt pots had severe rust on the tops. When pointed out the staff said that many people had complained but the manager said that he couldn't afford new ones. Has he heard of hygiene??? We were in the new block across the road, great views hard beds. Overall good location regular bus service to Palma, 2 great beaches. Local bars serve drinks and reasonably priced food.

Room Tip: Free wifi was available in the hotel but as we were in the new block across the road we could not ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

I stayed in Rock Illetas Playa this year during the last week of September for seven days as part of my two-week vacation in Mallorca. Rock Illetas Playa is a wonderful place just eight kilometers from the capital Palma. Located right on the beach. Quiet and beautiful place with excellent service. This four star hotel is located in a garden of palm trees and flowers and also has some great terraces with exceptional views of the Mediterranean Sea. I stay here now for the sixth time ever in a room or apartment with sea views. The floors are marble, the furniture from real wood, the hotel is on four levels and if someone is really good climbing can be difficult with all the stairs to the garden and the sea. The hotel is furnished with stylish antique restored furniture mallorca style. The bathrooms are spacious with marble floors and marble sinks and bathtubs comfortable. Rooms are cleaned daily. It's OK to get a kettle for coffee and tea. The staff is very friendly - with all my heart thank Barbara and staff for the care and treatment. Always stay at the hotel on half board and until now I have not been disappointed and extremely high quality and varied food. This year I noticed that the furniture in the lobby and room is replaced with stylish furniture. I come here every year over and over again and feel like home. Excellent vacation spot for those seeking tranquility, comfort, great sunrises and sunsets and at the same time close to the capital.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view Always book board with the booking in the hotel is more more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

Firstly,lets get things clear,this is both a hotel and timeshare resort rolled into one.The hotel experience could probably be described as "dated",with the typical chunky,wooden heavy furniture that was typical in mostly all Spanish hotels in the "60's & 70's"its like stepping back in time,but with the laid back location,we think it blends in!
Apartment wise,we could have a contentious issue here,because a lot of the "seafront" ones are, or were actually "timeshare",ourselves (my wife and I)are owners,so apartments that are available are either in the "middle block"or "back block" or relinquished "front ones"for the general public,which are becoming more and more available.
We are also a bit dated on the front,as our timeshare covenant expires in a few years time,so updating is not high on the resorts agenda until the hotel owns all the apartments,but saying that,they are very clean,secure and spacious.
Housekeeping services are regular and efficient,with a plentiful supply of clean towels and linen.
The resort is definitely not really suitable for the elderly or infirm patrons as it is built on various levels,which is understandable as it slopes down to near sea level,but has several lifts to help one on their way.
It has two outdoor swimming pools,split level plus an indoor one if the weather is a bit inclement.
The on site restaurant,though a bit pricey,does do very nice,varied tasty meals on a buffet style service where one can eat your fill.
The "resort"of Illetas itself is very low key,it has 3 beautiful beaches,6 hotels,several fine restaurants,few shops and very little else.Unless there is entertainment in one of the hotels in the evening,there is nothing else to do!
Saying that,my wife and I have been holidaying at this resort,every year since 1991,we could have "swapped"to go elsewhere,but,if you want a stress free,laid back,relaxing holiday,this is the place for you!Get away from the humdrum stress of modern living,just "chill"and enjoy the magnificent views over Palma Bay,watching the many types of ships to-ing and fro-ing,relax ,sunbathe,read a book,eat drink and sleep,there's nothing else to do,we come to 2 de-stress"
every year,having holidays elsewhere to get around

Room Tip: if staying in an apartment,go for the pricier "Mimosa"block,36 apartments that are on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Took a while to find our room on arrival, having to go downstairs to go upstairs, lovely room but with a side sea view, not what I was expecting. Had major toilet issues, with the toilet blocking constantly and a strong smell of sewage on one occasion, gave up complaining after the third day and resorted to travelling down five floors to visit the bathroom every time we needed it. No coffee or tea making facilities in our room, which is sorely missed when you don't have it. Our first and only dining experience apart from breakfast in the hotel began with my husband being told to change out of his knee length shorts into long trousers. On arrival at the restaurant we discovered at least five other guys in shorts, without a word being said. On complaining to the restaurant manager, she seemed to imply that the rules were there but loosely followed. We left after a disappointing meal and didn't go back for dinner again. Breakfast was fairly ok, hot food wasn't very good but the continental selection was fresh. Cava was a nice touch. Tourist Information given by reception should be taken with a pinch of salt. One example: the day we got up at the crack of dawn to visit cuevas del drach, we followed receptionists advice by taking bus to palma, to get another bus to Porto Cristo. We got to Palma around 8:30am to get a bus that would reach the caves in time for the ten o clock tour and maybe the eleven o clock tour if the earlier one was busy. We actually couldn't get a bus from Palma until quarter past ten. We eventually gave up and returned to the hotel. The receptionist should have known or had information about bus times to such a popular tourist attraction. We were very disappointed. It wasn't a great hotel, it was clean, a bit dated in some areas and the bar staff were attentive, ( the breakfast staff were the complete opposite ), and the rest of the staff seemed to be on automatic pilot and very impersonal. I fail to see what was four star about it. I wouldn't go back at the price I paid.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 98!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Illetas hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Roc Illetas Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roc Illetas Playa

Address: Paseo Illetas 62, 07181 Illetas, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Illetas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Illetas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Roc Illetas Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Roc Illetas Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roc Illetas Playa Hotel Illetas
Roc Illetas Playa Europe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roc Illetas Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.