We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good few days at the Bon Sol” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de Illetas 30, 07181 Illetas, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Illetas
colchester UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A good few days at the Bon Sol”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I have recently returned from a 7 night stay at this hotel. I was travelling with a coach party, as our flight was cancelled we had to fly from another airport we arrived very late. We were greeted as if we had arrived on time, it was almost midnight. In our rooms there was a plate of sandwiches, cakes and sweets and allowed a free drink from the minibar. I was pleased to find tea and coffee making facilities in the room. It was a lovely room with a view from the balconyof the med. sea. The food was good,though the cooked breakfast could have been hotter. The staff were pleasant and helpful. It was certainly a nice experience staying there, although getting down to the beach involved 2 lifts.

Room Tip: My room 220 had a lovely bathroom, I could here some traffic noise but it did not worry me too much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    65
    31
    15
    1
See reviews for
112
221
11
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This was our 2nd visit to the Bon Sol, our 1st having been 12 months ago; I wrote a review after the 1st visit & this review will re-iterate much of what I said in that review, because, quite simply, nothing has changed - it's still a great hotel!

We arrived mid-morning & as expected our room wasn't ready, but we were offered a complimentary drink from the bar whilst we waited; this is a nice touch - it was very pleasant to sit in the sun with our drinks & unwind after the journey, & before we knew it, the room was ready.

This hotel effectively comprises 3 main buildings, split by 2 roads: there is the original main building, a beach-side development, & building between the two. (The buildings are connected by tunnels going under the roads, so getting between the various parts of the hotel is not a problem - in, fact, it is fascinating.)

Our room was in the intermediate building. We had a junior suite, with sea view. The room was spacious & nicely furnished, with a small balcony (with sea view). There was everything you need, including air-con, minibar, tea/coffee-making, towelling robes+slippers, etc. Nicely fitted bathroom, lovely complimentary toiletries, excellent shower. Plenty of towels, including those for use by the pools.

There are 3 pools + a tiny beach. There are sun-loungers dotted all over the place - round the 3 pools, facing the sea/beach, on terraces looking out to sea, on shaded terraces, everywhere you could possibly want to sit, so I cannot imagine that there is ever a shortage.

Nicely planted / landscaped grounds (interesting to wander round for a bit of exercise!), with a children's play-area; there are also signs for volley-ball & 1 or 2 other sporty things, but I suspect that they don't get much use, so are perhaps falling into dis-use.

The original building (where the main restaurant is) is fascinating - Moorish furnishings in the corridors, the library, the bar area.

Buffet breakfast is excellent - great choice, including hot food freshly cooked should you want it. Lots of different breads to choose from too. We had light lunch at the beach-side restaurant,
where you can have sandwiches, pizza or pasta. (There is a substantial buffet too, but we didn't try that so I can't comment, although it seemed very popular.) Lovely view out to see from the terrace of the beach-side restaurant.

For the evening meal, one can eat either in the restaurant of the main hotel or at the beach-side restaurant; we opted for the former, where there are daily-changing menus, with choice. All meals were nicely cooked & presented. There is a limited choice of wine but it is sufficient & is reasonably priced. (Bar prices are reasonable too - compared to UK at any rate.)

This is a privately owned & run hotel* and the owners are much in evidence - they take breakfast in the breakfast room the same as their guests & Martin is usually to be found chatting to guests in the restaurant in the evening. This reflects the fact that they care - they want their guests to enjoy their holiday; also, they see what is going on & are readily available if there is any problem. * Where possible we always choose privately owned & run hotels; we find that invariably they deliver much better service than the chains.

In addition to the owners, one has to mention the staff; one of the key thing about this hotel is the care & attention given by the staff, who are all, without fail, welcoming & friendly. It is the staff who make this a very special hotel - you really do feel that they want you to have a happy holiday. The number of returning guests is, I think, testament to the care given by the staff, many of whom have worked at the hotel for years.

Location - the setting is lovely from the perspective of the views out over the Bay of Palma & another plus is that it is only a very short distance from Palma, so one is quickly at the hotel from the airport. However, Illetas does not have a promenade & there is not a lot to see / do in the vicinity of the hotel. But it's easy enough to get into Palma - the bus runs frequently & is cheap. Palma is definitely worth a visit.

I should just mention that there is entertainment at the hotel in the evenings, but as we didn't go I can't comment. Similarly there is a spa & a yoga class, but not used so cannot comment.

In summary: for a restful, relaxing, sunshine break, in a well-run hotel, where all your needs are catered for & you can just sit back & enjoy the blue sky+sun, and you are made to feel welcome by owners & staff, it would be hard to beat the Bon Sol.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is the first time we stayed at the Bon Sol and we were very impressed to say the least! It is a family run business and they celebrate their Diamond Jubillee Anniverary this year! The service is second to none with all the staff! The evening meal consists of 4 courses each of which is served to you, which is rare these days. I can't understand why it's not a 5 star Hotel, it certainly deaerves it. Also the price of their drinks are not extortionate, as are in some Hotels of this calibre which is very commendable. I cannot praise this hotel enough, it's one of the best we've been to.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view and higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I've stayed at the Bon Sol twice before whilst working in Majorca, and couldn't wait to come back with my partner. We stayed for one night in September during a week's holiday on the Island as usual were not disappointed. A beautiful room on the pool side of the road, a game of mini-golf (although this time we didn't spot any frogs; a shame as I'd told my partner all about the frogs!) a romantic dinner in the outdoor restaurant and several glasses of fizz :)

Many many Thanks to the Xamena family and all their staff for showing such wonderful hospitality. We will definitely be back, hopefully next time for longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We last stayed at the Bon Sol in 1998 so were a little apprehensive that it might have changed out of recognition but our concerns were put to rest as soon as we arrived! Entering the fondly remembered reception area and peeping into the bar, we immediately felt at home.

We were accompanied by my wife's elderly mother whose mobility is not too good following a recent hip operation but gets around OK on a wheeling frame. The staff couldn't do enough for her! On the first day, an important bolt dropped out of the walker and was lost. We asked at reception where we might locate a repair shop the following day. They insisted on taking the walker away and loaned us a wheelchair. The next morning we were presented with the repaired frame with "compliments of the Bon Sol". We also were able to borrow the wheelchair, which folded up and went in the hired car boot easily, and managed to see most of Majorca with mum, something that would not have been achievable with just the walker. Many thanks to Señor and Señorita Xamena and all their staff.

What more can be said about the Bon Sol that hasn't already been said by the other reviewers? The restaurants,the food,the facilities, the pools, the beach all superb and every member of staff appears to be happy working there. We will be back.

I should also mention Belmarcarrentacar car hire, two minutes down the road from the hotel. Great service a very competitive all inclusive price, no excess or hard sell on additional insurance and no insistence on buying a full tank of petrol at inflated prices. They also have a site at Palma Airport too.

Room Tip: All rooms have a partial or full sea view and the lifts are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

From the moment of arrival you are looked after by a staff group who are among the most pleasant, courteous and obliging people in the industry. The hotel has all you can ask for and, as in our case, we never left it for a week. The layout is quite unique and, despite many hundreds of guests, there was always a quiet corner to relax, sunbathe, swim, eat or drink. The facilities are exceptional, the dining is of a high quality, the accommodation matches many bigger name chains, the views (try to get a seaview) are inspiring and the peace is highly regarded, well respected and carefully maintained. This is a hotel for those with a discerning taste who have a desire for the quieter holiday but where attention to detail, customer satisfaction and quality of service are at the heart of what matters. We did not want to leave!

Room Tip: Well worth trying to get a full sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This hotel has great staff in all areas and nice entertainment every night in the spacious bar
There is excellent non bar lounge space as well. Our junior suite room was very good , with air conditioning and included a free safe but sadly an overpriced mini bar ( very old fashioned thinking)
There is Free wifi throughout the hotel and a Lovely small private cove with good swimming as well as excellent pools
Comfy loungers
We enjoyed the choice of two Good restaurants one with full service and one by the beach with an excellent vegetarian menu
Drinks are on the expensive side

Top tip - be really clear about the room you want and it's location
We asked for a quiet,sea view suite with double bed and got a nice room but with twin beds and overlooking the bar Terrance and main road with noisy buses labouring up the hill

Overall a great experience and the good points heavily outweigh any niggles
We will go back...

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room and for peace avoid the rooms over the bar terrace that also overlook the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa

Address: Paseo de Illetas 30, 07181 Illetas, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Illetas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Illetas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Illetas, only 8 km (5 miles) from central Palma, the clifftop Bon Sol nestles be amid pine trees, its moorish tower lofting from luxurian gardens and dominating the picturesque Palma bay. The Bon Sol is a family-owned and managed hotel, proud of its reputation for the very personal attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bonsol Illetas
Hotel Bonsol Resort And Spa
Hotel Bon Sol
Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa Illetas, Europe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.