We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible location for beach and nature” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vime Tierra Mar Golf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Vime Tierra Mar Golf to your Saves list
Vime Tierra Mar Golf
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sector M Parcela 120, 21760 Matalascanas, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Matalascanas
Portimao-Portugal
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Incredible location for beach and nature”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

If you are looking for a long , white sandy beach just on the other side of the wall, and one of the best Europeans National Parks at the end of the road, that's the best location you may find .Fantastic relation quality/price. The rooms facing the ocean have all you need. They are simple but acceptable. Bathrooms with space.Staff is very friendly, helpfull and professional.Specially those from the restaurant.
First tip: try to understand the rushing hours. Long queues are formed at the door of the restaurant at breakfast and meals, but only for short periods.The hotel is big and it's impossible to accomodate all gests at the same time. If you act smartly you will eat calmly.The same with the elevators:till second floor , if you can, better walk.
The food is very good and plenty, till 10h at breakfast.
As normal, the space arround the pool is not enough to acomodate all guests.Most of them go to the beach.But, as there are few sun chairs, incredibly ,people get out of bed very early in the morning to "mark" the chairs!Then during the day we see the sad view of more than half of the chairs empty,with books, papers and hat on top, and lots of guests waiting for a place to lay down.You may say this has to do with education of guests, but the hotel should have someone there to avoid at least shocking situations.I think that in August there will be "fights for chairs"!!
There are plenty of good restaurants arround. However nightlife doesn't exist, and the hotel Disco.....open's when you least expect, and only till 1h30m!!
Don't forget to visit the Doñana National Park, The Rocio Sanctuary, and the fantastic beach.

Room Tip: rooms facing the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    25
    29
    15
    9
See reviews for
30
47
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Århus
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

Out with the old bartenders...Customer rating: We where very happy to visit Tierra Mar golf for a week, the room where fine, except for the ants, the restaurant where fine and the foood ok, but no great variation.. The staff where so nice BUT the old bartenders cost your hotel one star from me..... they are really bad, we where on All Inclusive, the bartender don't like guest on AI, they do nothing and looked another way. You must really do something about it !!!! The best thing about my stay was the seaview.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

Hello, we stayed at the hotel vime tierra mar . The first night our room was taken over by ants ,we complained and they said it was sorted out,we went back to the room only to find ants everywhere again, we complained and was told the same, In the night i was bitten and our bed was full of ants even inside the pillowcases.we complained again and were given a different room.The same thing happened again so we bought a spray and tried our best to get rid. only to discover cockroaches in the bathroom and then crawling above the headboard in the night and onto the bed.We told them at reception but they did not care not even an apology. we had only booked for 3 night as we had to get back to our buisness and we were very very tired after 3 sleepless nights so ended up having to have another day off to recover from our 3 sleepless nights.This hotel is 4 stars and I think we were treated wrongly having to put up with things that you would not expect from even a 2 star hotel. .I must add that the ants were also in the restuaraunt which also leads me to believe that they must be all over the hotel including cockroaches.Car park charges are €10 a day .Stayed All inclusive drinks served 11am until 11pm, there is a place where the entertainment is on but you have to pay for your drinks in there, even if you are all inclusive.Not a good choice of drinks either with all inclusive and no snacks.No information leaflets they tell you to ask in the bar or cafe for info on whats included .The views from the hotel are very good ,we payed extra for sea view room, and right on the beach,food is good but the creepy crawlies took the edge off our appetiets,checking each thing for insects,all in all not a relaxing beach break.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

Be sure to ask your view, hotel has a wonderful location just by the sea, but many rooms have a view to the parking lot. Offseason prices are low, but so is the quality of the buffet and the breakfast as well. Seems more than a three-star than a four-star hotel. Difficult to reach by public transportation or taxi, since the bus stop is kilometers away and taxis are difficult to reach.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

We stayed in this hotel at the beginning of September and it was just perfect.
Located in a lovely city of Matalascanas (our second stay in this town), just next to the beach is a perfect place for a quiet relaxing holidays! We went for all-inclusive for the first time ever and didn't regret. Food was delicious offering a huge selection of both local cuisine (i.e., sea food) and something more familiar (i.,e lasagne, chicken). The choice of alcohol was just enough, served from 11am-11pm. Rooms were very spacious and clean, we got the sea view at the top floor which was very nice. The only annoying thing was the lack of a clothes dryer on the balcony - just a string hanging from one side to the other.
Didn't use the swimming pool at all due to the fact that the beach was just to nice;) But it was never crowded.
Didn't like the fact that we had to pay for the lounges around the hotel grounds!
Did not agree with the opinion that it is loud and noisy, it was very quiet, safe and calm during our stay.

Would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2008

This was our first visit to mainland Spain and we were not disappointed. We only spent 2 nights at the Hotel as we wanted to see the coast before travelling North to Extremadura to visit family. We were greeted on arrival at the entrance by very courteous staff and shown to reception to check in, as the carpark at the hotel was full my husband was shown to the offsite carpark approx 5 mins walk away which wasn't a problem. I had requested a sea view room which we got at no extra cost, everything was very clean & to a good standard. I think we were the only English family there with very limited Spanish but that wasn't an issue for us, all part of going to a foreign country. The pool wasn't especially large, it was never too busy to swim even though the hotel was full, but to be honest there is a lot of sea & beach on your doorstep! The promenade in front of the hotel stretches for what seems miles in either direction. We enjoyed the meals, there were plenty of things to choose from even for the fussiest of eaters. If I had to complain about anything it is that there are not enough poolside staff serving drinks. Apart from that we had a most enjoyable couple of days there, the staff were very pleasant and we found the other guests very friendly too. There was no problem getting a suntan as the temperature was well over 35 degrees! We would definitely visit this Hotel again.

  • Liked — Beachside
  • Disliked — Shortage of waiters around pool for drinks
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alentejo
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2008

We just finished a family week vacation on this hotel. At arrival nobody care to help us with luggage. That was a terrible first impression. Then we saw the room and the hotel and we were pleased with our choice. The location is perfect to go to beach, but there isn't any other interesting place at walking distance. Food was good, but nothing to ring home about it. The pool is nice but seriously undersized for an hotel like this (It's rated for 120 persons! Must be a joke. Unless they all stand up and stay still). There is also a children pool, good for half dozen juniors, but I've seen a lot more inside. The private parking was free of charge, but it was full in June, so find a place in August is virtually impossible. There weren't many non-spanish guests at this time of the year, but there was a lot of spanish guests. And they were noisy, very noisy. Most of them were only for the weekend (3 full bus), but during the week we also had a very unpleasant surprise: we finished the siesta and when we arrive at the pool, the place was "invaded" by spanish mums and their sons/daughthers. Yes, they rent the hotel by the day! Two full bus full of people. Unbelivable. We were the guests we and almost beg for a chair. Unreal. Not even a local public pool look worst tham that one!!! Ok. Life is hard and the manegement must make profit to keep things moving, but this is a totaly disrespect for the guests. There were other bad experiences, but that was the top of the cake. This hotel is obvious over rated. I will give 3 star, at most. So, as far as me and my family is concerned, we will never go back this hotel (or any other VIME hotels), and we will not recomend it to nobody, unless you want a noisy crowdy holiday.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vime Tierra Mar Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vime Tierra Mar Golf

Address: Sector M Parcela 120, 21760 Matalascanas, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Matalascanas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Matalascanas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vime Tierra Mar Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 246
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Budget Places, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Vime Tierra Mar Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vime Tierra Mar Golf Hotel Matalascanas
Vime Tierra Mar Hotel
Vime Tierra Mar Matalascanas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vime Tierra Mar Golf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.