We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough hotel, shame about the staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Terramarina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Terramarina to your Saves list
Hotel Terramarina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Pau Casals 108, 43840 La Pineda, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in La Pineda
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice enough hotel, shame about the staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

Recently made over and comparable to Englisg 3*. Nice enough rooms and clean and functional. Good location in quieter end of La Pineda about 10 - 15 min walk to water park.
Staff were generally very unfriendly and unhelpful, but perhaps that was just because we were English. Everyone else in the hotel was Russian and the reception staff appeared to be too, and they were pretty much uninterested in anything we wanted or needed.
Because the food was so cheap we opted for half board but shouldn't have bothered. Food was POOR at best. No variety and evening meals were barely edible. Fine if you just want quantity as most of the other guests appeared to - piling their plates high with cold chips which may well have been from breakfast..
Extras such as a safe key ar 3 Euros per day were unexpected and disappointing.
Overall the hotel is nice enough, the location fine, but the atmosphere, staff and occassional terrible smells in communal areas/bar toilets are enough for me to not recommend this hotel

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    43
    11
    12
    4
See reviews for
40
50
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

I stayed here for a week of our honeymoon before we went on our cruise.
The rooms were spacious and modern, Jacuzzi bath was great! We had a front sea view although it was only a sea view if you bent down and looked under the trees we weren't charged a huge amount more for the sea view so it didnt matter to us. The rooms were cleaned and towels replaced daily - cleaner was so good we left her a tip.
Location is superb for the beach as it is a stones throw away, this hotel would not be suitable for those wanting to lay by the pool as the pool is very small and has limited sun beds... this is defiantly a beach hotel. Less than 10 minute stroll to the centre of La Pineda. I have stayed in Cambrils before and thought it was quiet - La Pineda is VERY quiet - but much nicer than Salou.
We were Full Board. The food was good and had a good selection but like any hotel when staying full board it can get repetitive.
The staff were ok - we felt like we were totally secluded being the only english speaking couple there. It suited us as we wanted to realx for a week but may not suit others. Staff spoke very little English my Husband even found it difficult ordering a coffee. Staff in the restaurant were ok although they would not serve you drinks at your table if you wanted something other than wine or water you had to get up and get it yourself. Again suited us ok but some people may not like this.
Overall we had a nice relaxing time at Terramarina Hotel. Good value for money!
I am a Travel Agent and have seen hotels in La Pineda that were more expensive but yet not as nice.
I would reccommned this hotel to customers but would be sure to point out all of the above.

:-)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

Spent a week at Hotel Terramarina and we found it an excellent hotel, the rooms were clean and modern with a big walk in shower , side sea view . We were the only English staying there but it did not effect our stay . The food was very good and you could get your egg and bacon for breakfast and for dinner the selection was huge !! although we did find the dinner time of 8pm a little late . Hotel was on bus route and it was cheap to travel , nice walk along the stretch of beach in resort and plenty of bars for drinks or if you want to eat out.
Pineda is a nice resort and alot quieter than Salou , i would definatley go again

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010 via mobile

Great hotel food was good very good location very quiet relaxing can't wait to go back

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

This is a great hotel for a base, try and get a bus card for 8.70 eur and you can go on the bus ten time,s, so real good value and you can get one at the toback shop on the high street and charge it there to if it runs out, but that is less than a pound a trip. The staff here are very helpfull, with maps on where to go if you like do go out and about.. we would go back again, we loved it

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

My husband and I have just spent a week at the Terramarina and would say that the hotel is lovely having only just recently been refurbished. The rooms where very stylish with LCD wall mounted TV. However the only channel available in English was BBC world news. The Food was however in our opinion not 4*, although not bad it was a bit repetative and quite often had gone cold. The hotel did sit on the beech which was lovely and clean which was good because the swimming pool was very small with only a few loungers around it and the whole time we where there we never saw any one around it, all being it was late in the season. La Pineda is quite and not very busy, the bus service to Salou is very good, cheap and only takes around 15 minutes to get there.
I would recommend the hotel if your looking for a nice relaxing break, we enjoyed it . Dont know if the hotel had any entertainment on through the high seasons but didn't appear to have any on when we were there apart from music on a night time so something to think about if you have children.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

I stayed at hotel terramarina hotel for 10 nights, and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. I had room on 6th floor at top of hotel with twin beds and balcony with beach and sea views. The room was spacious with all the latest design and lcd tv with bbc world only channel in english. The food at this hotel was excellent plenty of variety for everyone, only thing i noticed there was never any potatos, only chips. This hotel is now a 4 star hotel after being re-furbished from a 3 star. The staff are very helpful and speak good english and will help you with anything you ask. Muriel at reception was brilliant, could'nt do enough for you. The restaurant excellent and big pointer you can sit outside to have your meal in front of the beach, definalely a big + for me in the evening sunshine. I will be back next year at hotel terramarina and would like to thank the hotel staff for all their kind help during my stay. A big thank you!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Terramarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terramarina

Address: Paseo Pau Casals 108, 43840 La Pineda, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > La Pineda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in La Pineda
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Pineda
#4 Family Hotel in La Pineda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Terramarina 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Terramarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Terramarina La Pineda, Spain - Costa Dorada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Terramarina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.