We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely, not like some reviews x” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palas Pineda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Palas Pineda to your Saves list
Palas Pineda
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Muntanyals 5, 43840 La Pineda, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in La Pineda
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“lovely, not like some reviews x”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

My family and i have just got back from a weeks stay at the hotel,4 adults and 3 children aged 5 and 12. We have been to Salou before but only travelled to la Pineda for the day and we knew we wanted to stay here next. It's a lovely little town not too touristy like main Salou, beach is lovely, some fab ice cream shops and the water park is also here which is a must day out.
We arrived late at night and check was quick and swift and although the receptionist didn't speak great english he tried to answer all our questions (time of breakfast etc)
Our room was in the second building to the main reception and we were greeted by a lovely clean spacious 2 story room. (very pleased)
Maid came daily to change towels, clean and make beds.
Pool/beach towels can be collected at reception, no charge.
We stayed all inclusive and the food was lovely with changes daily to the menu, no real snack bar at the time we went went but crisp and ice crams are available from the bar all day/night and affter 3 big meals a day its all you need around the pool really. Lunch and dinner times a waitress serves you with drinks and clears table as you finish each plate/meal. If you go on a day trip you can order a packed lunch which is very helpfull too.
I've read some people said staff were rude, this is not true and i can imagine it just takes a little hello,please and thank you to get everyone on side.
Pools are lovely,our boys df enjoyed the indoor pool the most but came out to have a little go on the outdoor slide. The outdoor pool has a daily life guard who is very good and much appreciated!!!
There was a kids club but my children aren't really bothered by this so we never had anything to do with it.
Evening entertainment was different every night and very pleasent, i think as the season goes on it'll will get bigger with maybe more things, e.g bingo,pool games etc.
The only thing i will say about this hotel is it does have alot of Russian and German guests and older aged groups, for me this wasn't a problem but if you go away to make friends it is a case of hunting down the english, we did look out fr each other ha!!
Over all this was a very grand, helpfull hotel especially for the price we paid, hope this review some people as i know some review make it hard booking a hotel xxx

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    121
    86
    34
    32
See reviews for
172
64
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

There was nothing especially wrong with Palas Pineda, but nothing especially right! We booked through a budget late availability provider, so can't really fault value, but were not inspired by what we experienced. We asked for a sea view, as the holiday was to celebrate my 40th birthday, we had one alright, (if you leant out over the balcony) but were put next to the service elevator, so knew exactly when the staff arrived each morning.

On arriving in the bar on our first night, we sat at the bar, ordered drinks, then turned to see the tail end of the ballroom dancing evening. It was then that we noticed that NOT A SINGLE TABLE had a single drink, and that the average age of all present was at least 60! I am not ageist in any way, but there was absolutely no atmosphere in the bar at all. In fact, I spent the next couple of days looking for the real hotel bar!...I had found it!

The breakfast buffet was all there..., well, some here, some there, some over there, and some back by the door! The appalling layout meant that people were literally everywhere! Coupled with the confusion of new arrivals every day, breakfast was quite a stressful experience. Choice was fine, with a cooked & cold selection, pastries, cereal etc. Other reviews mention the rudeness of waiting staff. I’m not sure I can agree, as not a single one spoke to me all week!

The resort was described as being known for gentle sea breezes. We nearly got blown away from the poolside! The indoor pool was ok, but a little grubby. We did not eat at the hotel restaurant, as it seemed to specialise in sushi and tapas... an odd combination!

Although there was a fridge in the room, there were no mini bar contents. Not really a problem, just worth knowing. There were no facilities for making a hot drink. There was a safe, but you had to rent a lock, at about €4 per day. There is free WI-FI, but only in a narrow corridor near reception, as the signal is too weak anywhere else.

At a hotel claiming to be 4 star, I would have expected at least the offer of assistance with luggage. We had none. This was not a problem as we could cope, but when a coach load of guests arrived, at least 8 staff came rushing from a service door to meet them! This left us feeling like second class citizens.

If you are looking for something cheep and basic, then the Palas Pineda is for you! If you want something special.... go somewhere else!

Room Tip: Pool views are best, don't let them put you near the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

we visted this hotel late sept early oct Nice and clean good food and got on well with bar staff Short walk from lovely beach in a qiute part of pineda A lot of russians some nicier than others but thats the same wherever one goes Will most certainly return

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

All inclusive was limited, it was just packets off ready salted lays and drinks during the day, although 3 meals a day is ample for most people!! the meals were very similiar each day, lunch was the best as this had a bigger selection. Some off the outside pool bar staff were not friendly to say the least, although this didnt apply to all off them..The restaurant staff were friendlier, and the lady on reception was lovely..The rooms were very clean with great views..The hotel was nice except for the toilets by the pool which were desperatwely in need off sprucing up..Across the road from the beach..

Room Tip: The hotel was in two seperate buildings, number 2 had the best views..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Just come back Oct 14 from 12 day stay here which we really enjoyed mainly because of the very hot and sunny weather which was quite unexpected. Hotel looks very grand,the pool is large and the poolside very pleasant having the sun most of the day. We had a room overlooking the pool and view of the sea and the sun was on the balcony the whole day which was great. Entertainment was closed for the season but we wanted a quiet time so no problems there. Rooms cleaned daily and towels changed daily,plenty of hot water. Hotel has many Russian guests who can across as ignorant but may be that is just a culture thing. Tv only english channel is cnn news.. but who needs the tv! The food was ok, if a little different... spanish champers served at breakfast... caviar on some of the salad displays.. but plenty of fish most days or grilled chicken , pork or beef, loads of salads etc. Main courses tended to be a stew type of sorts served with chips, veg a little overcooked but always found plenty to eat and quite a variety of puddings and plenty of fruits so no real complaints. Would stay here again as so near the beach which had the best sand in the area and very safe if you had a young family.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011 via mobile

the hotel is lovely,very clean,maid service everyday,food is your average all inclusive,a lot of choice and different every day (we only went for 5days)reception staff are rude which you can live with but the russian guests are the most rude,ignorant people which is v v annoying. Pineda is quiet and tends 2 cater 4 the russian visitors,the beach is gorgeous and a 2 minute walk from hotel. I think i would go back with older children,the entertainment starts at 9 so we never seen it. Pool area is lovely,no umbrellas,although there are shady areas.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

10min in a taxi from airport. Hotel rooms ok size wise, we had 4 children x2 - 14yrs and x2 11years, couldnt get adjoining rooms so requested apartment block attached to hotel which we couldnt book on line. It was just perfect. 2 bedrooms, separate kitchen, lounge, huge veranda , cleaned every day.
All inclusive - drinks were usual local makes, snacks, crisps(indvidual pkts) and ice cream. during summer pool snack bar open for hot snacks
Dining- typical wait to be seated frustration but once seated service excellent, clearly allocated waiters to tables. Food very good and childrens buffet separate from adults
Pool lovely, small slide for kids, life guard all day. Seating area at pool side shaded and plenty of seats
Indoor pool was great when cold and gym was fairly well equiped and well used.
No entertainment programme for kids, tennis courts well used. Evening shows mildly amusing, old time dancing, snake show etc, kids bored
Two min walk to lovely row of shops/bars/eating places which was much more fun than staying in hotel and older kids coulds wander down and play pool etc.
Beach two minutes away and 2 hour walk to end and back, just beautiful. Overall this was a fab place for the cost, fab location and above average for type of accomodation

Room Tip: Request an apartment but if you want in hotel request pool facing which gives side view to beach/sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palas Pineda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palas Pineda

Address: Muntanyals 5, 43840 La Pineda, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > La Pineda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in La Pineda
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Pineda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Palas Pineda 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Palas Pineda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palas Pineda Hotel La Pineda
Gran Palas La Pineda
Gran Palas Hotel La Pineda
Palas Pineda La Pineda, Spain - Costa Dorada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palas Pineda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.