We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but overpriced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Fever

Thai Fever
3-7 Saltaire Road, Shipley, Bradford BD18 3HH, England
01274 580033
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 63 Restaurants in Shipley
Price range: $14 - $49
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice but overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Chef wasn't there when we turned up and the door was locked but the waitress was apologetic and could organise our starters and drinks.

Food was nice but overpriced for what it was. Had 2 starters, 2 mains and 2 drinks that came to £42. Supposedly takeaway is 25% off the dine in prices so would probably do this next time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    30
    10
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food and good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I have visited Thai Fever twice in recent months and on both occasions I found the food to be very tasty. The spare ribs were very tender and the tempura was exactly as it should be (i.e. both light and not over-cooked). The first time I chose the stir fried roast duck, which was very tender, and on the second occasion I had the char-grilled seafood, which was perfectly cooked. On both occasions the service was attentive but not intrusive. This is somewhere I would recommend, even for people who don't like particularly spicy food as there is the choice of both unspiced dishes and the option of choosing the strength for those dishes with chilli in.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HALIFAX
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“nice meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Was rather apprehensive after reading the reviews but we're more than happy with our visit. Yes the service was rather slow but we enjoyed the food and our waitress was polite. Nice atmosphere for a romantic night out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Could have been better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

The 1st thing i noticed when i walked in was how grubby looking it was.
It looks quite posh from the outside.
The food was ok but expensive for what you got.
You had to order rice or chips seperate which was more money.
If i order a Thai curry i would expect to get something with it.
The curry was nice though.
Place needs some updating

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“outstanding food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We both had beef dishes here and it was the most tender well cooked beef we have had in any oriental or asian restaurants.The decor is relaxed urban and the staff are attentive and friendly - what's not to like?

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Fever also viewed

 

Been to Thai Fever? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Fever, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.