We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yo Yo Bar & Restaurant

Yo Yo Bar & Restaurant
Rosse Street, Off Saltaire Road, Shipley, Bradford BD18 3SW, England
01274 599880
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 62 restaurants in Shipley
Price range: $14 - $29
Cuisines: Sushi, Chinese, Japanese, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Welcome to Yo Yo Bar and Restaurant, a Shipley Restaurant situated in the heart of Yorkshire. Combining locally sourced produce with globally inspired dishes, Yo Yo’s is a modern Oriental Restaurant offering a unique mix of Japanese, Chinese and Thai cuisine.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The first thing to impress me was how big the restaurant actually is with a large bar area in the centre of the building. It was very busy when we ate there but did not feel cluttered in any way.

Food was very good too, with a variety of Asian fusion dishes and something to suit everybody. Prices for drinks are good, the service was fine and there is parking very near the restaurant.

I can see why Yo Yo's gets so many positive reviews and would eat here again without hesitation.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIMON D, Owner at Yo Yo Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Gary C,

Many thanks for your fantastic review on trip advisor, you obviously enjoyed sitting in our Airport lounge compared to the the next reviewer but we needed this large Restaurant valentines weekend and we still turned lots of potential customers away. Now we have impressed you lets hope you are able to return to Yo Yo's on some future occasion. Kind Regards Simon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    192
    50
    18
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bingley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Mwal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Been to YoYo on several occasions and had another fantastic meal. Everything about the restaurant from the service, the food and the atmosphere are great and all the food is made fresh to order. If you have not been before it is definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIMON D, Owner at Yo Yo Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Samantha A,

Many thanks for your review. 3 Things customers require when considering a great restaurant, Good Quality Food, Attentive customer service, Good ambiance, we try and deliver all three most of the time we get it right some times we don't ! But our regular customers that have supported us over the 8 years we have been open know we are an honest restaurant and we strive to get it right all the time. We look forward to seeing you at Yo Yo's again soon and spreading the good word of Yo Yo's.

Kind Regards


Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cannot recommend enough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I would have to give 10 out of 10 for food, service, atmosphere and value.

I have had the sushi on 3 occasions and it is the best sushi I have ever eaten, better than a more famous japanese restaurants in Leeds I used to go to. The portion sizes are very large but that doesn't come at the detriment to the presentation.

The range of other asian fusion options is vast and my boyfriend and friends I have eaten here with have always found another excellent meal to try that they haven't had before.

The service is friendly, informed and professional.

I would and do recommend yoyo's to anyone.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIMON D, Owner at Yo Yo Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Ruthydee,

Many thanks for the review ! So pleased you always enjoy your visit to Yo Yo's and hopefully with 30 starters and 40 main courses to choose from there will be plenty of choice for future visits. We are currently reviewing our menu and will be launching a new one in May with some additional Indian Dishes on the new menu. Pleased you enjoy our Sushi, your review can only inspire others to visit my Restaurant and hope you make many returns too !

Kind Regards


Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Another Excellent Meal but with a disappointment!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Been here 3 times now and have to say the food is so tasty, the service excellent and the atmosphere great - though 'different' to the usual restaurant with the bar and loung area central and the eating areas raised - this is very nice!

My wife, son and I went on a Friday, tempted by the 15% discount offer and SUSHI which I really wanted to try a second time from the more extensive (and more expensive) special dish! However what a disappointment! When asking for the Sushi menu, the waiter had to go and check and then came back - 'sorry we are not doing it any more!' OK, so why oh why is it still advertised on the website! Well then had to choose something off the other menus so had Sweet and Sour chicken and jasmine rice. accompaniments are extra so the cost of the dish was £14.50. the 15% offer brought this to around £12.30. So its not the cheapest at full price but the offers make it attractive and the food is great, I mean really tasty! And the popularity shows that this restaurant is appreciated by very many people.

The Carlsberg at £3.50 a pint is very reasonable for drinks in a restaurant

I finished with the banana fritters in tempura batter and ice cream + caramel sauce. Very nice, very filling. Could have done with a little more ice-cream for the quantity of bananas, but I was very full at the end!

Its not the cheapest, but I am happy to pay for the quality, service and atmosphere. I will go there again and again and the discount offers certainly provide that incentive. Its in my list of top restaurants!

BUT PLEASE update your website or bring back the Sushi to avoid disappointment!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIMON D, Owner at Yo Yo Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear John F,

Many thanks for your very good review following your visit to Yo Yo's ! So pleased you enjoyed our food and service and it is amongst your favourite restaurants ! When we opened Yo Yo's 8 years ago our U.S.P. was Makimono, Sushi & Sashimi as no other restaurant in bradford served this so we were very busy in preparing and selling it, over the years less and less customers have ordered it so we only offer it on a friday and saturday evening and out of the 100 + customers we serve each night only a handful order the Sushi and to have one chef and the cost of the fresh fish we purchase it is not cost effective to keep this on the menu anymore. Furthermore when the kitchen is busy it puts additional pressure on the rest of the team and leads to the food coming out slower when we have orders for sushi. The only reason we have not mentioned this on our website is we had not made a final decision on whether to keep it or not. In light of your comments and not to upset any other customers we will now put something on our website indicating this. We are also revamping our existing menu and reducing the menu in size and introducing a selection of Indian starters and main courses and I know we will sell more Indian food than Sushi at Yo Yo's ! The new Menu will be available in Spring. But I do hope in light of my comments this will not stop you coming back to Yo Yo's and enjoying our hospitality. The next visit you should try our seafood tempura as a starter and the Duck Teriyaki with a side order of noodles as a side order for your main. Heaven on a plate ! Kind Regards Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed overnight at a nearby hotel and yoyo's was recommended by the receptionist.

It was fairly quiet when we arrived (6.30pm, Saturday), but did get much busier by 7.30pm.

Staff were polite and efficient and the food was excellent. An interesting menu with Thai, Malaysian, oriental and English food.

Would return if we stay in Shipley again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIMON D, Owner at Yo Yo Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Westiejo,

Thank you for a great review following your visit to Yo Yo's we obviously got everything right on the night, which makes up for the last few poor reviews we got about the speed of service. I am also grateful to the Abbey Lodge hotel as they do send lots of customers to our Restaurant and they have the confidence that we deliver. We look forward to welcoming you to Yo Yo's again next time you are in the area.

Kind Regards


Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yo Yo Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Yo Yo Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yo Yo Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.