We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Tramshed - CLOSED

Old Tramshed
199 Bingley Road, Shipley, Bradford BD18 4DH, England
+44 (0)1274 582111
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $41
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: As the name suggests, this former old tram shed was built in 1904 in the village of Saltaire, which itself was founded in 1853 by Sir Titus Salt and takes its name from Sir Titus himself and the River Aire.Built by Sir Titus, Salts Mill was the centrepiece of. Saltaire around which he built the entire village, naming the streets after his children and family.Sir Titus however, would not allow a public house within the confines of the village fearing his workers would spend all their wages on ale and be too hung over to come to work. The last tram left the Saltaire depot in 1939 though it was still used during the 1950s for trolleybuses, later becoming a warehouse.Today, beautifully restored, The Old Tramshed is still an important landmark as well as a focal point for locals and visitors alike, and very much a part of the local community.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The Tramshed has a relaxing bar with a good selection of wines and a easy going atmoshere. I have enjoyed going to the Tramshed just for drinks and for a meal the menu is good and a great chef who prepares great food. An enjoyable evening.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    75
    26
    28
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carnforth
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great early bird offer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Called on a Thursday evening with a group of 8 or so work colleagues for the early bird offer - two courses for £11.95.

Pub itself is ok, a few real ales and nice area to sit overlooking the front garden/entrance and has a separate dining area and tables upstairs overlooking the bar area.

Menu has masses of choice and I had salt and pepper chilli squid (ok) and belly pork with black pudding mash (good). The best looking starter ordered by our party was a beetroot and feta salad. The most popular main was lamb shank and given the empty plates it seemed a good choice!

Cannot fault the choice and value and would happily return on a similar type of do.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I visited with a friend one evening for the early bird menu. Excellent prices, don't think I would ever go outside of the early bird times as it seemed quite expensive for individual dishes.

I had squid for starter which was nice, and a pasta dish for main again was ok but
I think i may have picked the wrong dish. Overall the food was ok, not bad but as I said only worth the early bird prices. We treated ourselves to dessert and ordered the eton mess, I always thought it should have pieces of meringue however it had all been blended too much so it was just like whipped cream in a glass.

We ordered our drinks at the same time as the food order and they only came after asking the waitress when they brought our starters over! The staff were friendly but we weren't too impressed when one waitress was stood behind the serving counter on her phone, it looked shabby and unprofessional.

Wouldn't rush back but at the prices of the early bird what can we expect!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Can't fault it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Came to The Tramshed last Sunday as I fancied a nice relaxed lunch. We arrived at about 1:30, my husband, son & I. We had a drink at the bar before moving to our table. The staff made us feel very welcone, including my little boy which was great. Our waitress was prompt. All in all, we had breaded mozzarella & ribs to start, followed by a rib eye steak & Lamb, & a childrens panini, followed by apple pie & peach melba. We loved every mouthful. We then sat on the comfy couches with a coffee & a beer. All staff were extremely polite & professional, we'll be going back soon! Keep it up xx

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Called in to the tram shed for a drink before moving on to somewhere else for food. The atmosphere was so relaxing that we decided to eat there instead. There was a limited menu but the starter and main courses that we had was delicious. The service was excellent and we will definitely be returning.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Tramshed also viewed

Saltaire, West Yorkshire
 
Shipley, Bradford
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Tramshed, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.