We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, consistent food for the last ten years” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shimla Spice Restaurant - Shipley

Shimla Spice Restaurant - Shipley
69 Otley Road | Leonard Street, Shipley, Bradford BD18 2BJ, England
+44 (0)1274 599800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 62 restaurants in Shipley
Price range: $17 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent, consistent food for the last ten years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I have ordered VERY regularly from Shimla for ten years or more, so much so, the staff I are on first name terms! Despite the excellent quality of service I HIGHLY recommend this restaurant for the absolutely amazing quality of food which is always consistent and delicious, (at this point I would like to recommend the fish bhuna which is beautiful... )Having tried many, many curries in many restaurants, I believe Shimla Spice to be the best restaurant I have ever eaten curry in.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    83
    58
    30
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“bit burger bar ish !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

foog was Ok, but nothing special - what really lets it down is the atmosphere - It is right next to the biggest, cheapest pub in shipley, and it gets a bit lairy when the pub closes . It's also full of chrome and flashing lights - not really authentic !!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Shimla Spice - Super, Super, Super!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We were told by a friend to try this restaurant, we were not disappointed at all!!! The food was flavorful, fantastic, the naan bread was the largest I have ever seen, it is served at the table hanging from a large silver server, it had to be 2 feet long by 1 foot wide, fabulous!!! Great presentation. Bring your own drink as they do not have a bar, which makes your night out a cheaper one, the price for meal was a very good deal. We had two mains only, glad of that as after eating my Desi Chicken Jaipuri and that naan I was stuffed. My husband had Keema with peas and Chipatis, we did share an ice cream, the hazlenut tart and coffee. It was fantastic food, superb service, and a great atmosphere.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford West Yorks
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“First time was the Last time.....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

Visited the Shimla at Xmas with friends from work and expected a good meal was i disapointed Yes!! The starter was the worst sheekh kebab i have ever had and the main meal was a bland tasteless curry which was a waste of money needless to say i wont be going back.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipley west Yorks
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highly changeable, but acceptable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

I visited the Shimla Spice with my friend who was over from Canada. He was particularly impressed that while not having a licence for alcohol, Hockney's next door allowed us to order, then go through, get a pint each, and come back eat our meal, then take the empties back, and then have another pint in the pub!! The food was great, just what we ordered. I have heard bad reviews of this place. But I reckon that is just how you find it on the night, maybe we all have off nights? I didn't find it too pricy, and the staff were polite.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shimla Spice Restaurant - Shipley also viewed

 

Been to Shimla Spice Restaurant - Shipley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shimla Spice Restaurant - Shipley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.