We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“....poor woman” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Massarella's Cafe Bar & Fine Art

Massarella's Cafe Bar & Fine Art
14 Victoria Road | Saltaire, Shipley, Bradford BD18 3LQ, England
01274 580129
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 63 Restaurants in Shipley
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Café, Tea Room, Soups, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Massarella's has established itself as one of the finest Cafe Bars in the area offering high quality soups, paninis, sandwiches, fine wines and local bottled beers, as well as serving superb coffee by Barista-trained coffee makers.Situated on Saltaire's main thoroughfare at 14 Victoria Road, we are equally well known for our Art Gallery which showcases some of the best local artists in the area.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“....poor woman”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is a little cafe/tea room near Salts Mill, which is very clean and has lots of little paintings for sale on the wall. When we went, there was about 15 of us, and we all descended on the poor woman that was there on her own.....but what a lovely lady who coped very well, and soon had friends round to help her. There was tea and toasted teacakes all round, with some very nice hot chocolate and cakes for some. They do a 'liquid lunch' in the little bar below, must go and try this next time... A very nice cafe, with lovely staff...well done that woman!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    25
    9
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Relaxed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Fantastic home-made soup, lovely coffee in a small but light corner building. Good value and friendly service Interesting artwork

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great sandwiches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

One of my daughter's favourite local lunch venues! Much better value than the local competition. Really good freshly made food and very reasonably priced. Very friendly and efficient service and definitely the best carrot cake ever tasted. Enjoy!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
“what a find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

After a nice day looking around Salts Mill we stopped in at Massarella's for a coffee and where told sorry we don't do just drinks at lunch time. Well than was lucky for us or otherwise we would not have sampled the delights of what home made food tasted like, Mushroom soup and the best carrot cake the world has ever known toped of with excellent coffee. The fact that the price was very reasonable means we will go back for a proper lunch so watch this space.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“could be nice”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I specifically looked with interest to see what the reviews were like on Trip Advisor for this cafe in Saltaire as it made such an impression on us and stayed in our memories for all the wrong reasons. Our visit was marred by the overbearing, loud-voiced and gossipy owner who gave us a bit of a grilling and didn't come across as friendly but rather "school marmish" and disapproving. Coffee and cakes are absolutely fine but who wants to eat in that sort of atmosphere? Having seen her unapologetic denials and confrontational responses to other diners comments I can see that there is little chance she will moderate her front of house style. Also note : continually producing the figure that 50 or 60 people said your cafe was great means absolutely nothing to the quite considerable percentage of people whose visit was ruined by the cafe owners behaviour.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Massarella's Cafe Bar & Fine Art also viewed

 
Shipley, Bradford
 

Been to Massarella's Cafe Bar & Fine Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Massarella's Cafe Bar & Fine Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.