We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Bradford Shipley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Bradford Shipley to your Saves list
Ibis Bradford Shipley
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Salts Mill Road Quayside, Shipley, Bradford BD18 3ST, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shipley
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    248
    81
    12
    9
See reviews for
107
209
65
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Beadnell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

This Hotel has a really superb staff and create a welcoming atmosphere. The rooms are pleasant and very clean. The breakfast was very good,but the star attraction was the Staff, all really nice and helpful. Best budget hotel i have stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerBradford, General Manager at Ibis Bradford Shipley, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your very kind review of ibis Bradford, We are all delighted you had such a good stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kind Regards

John Holroyd

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, South Wales
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed two nights at the Shipley Ibis Hotel and found it to be very comfortable and convenient for our requirements. The breakfast was really excellent - much better than we were expecting. The staff were also very obliging. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel which is very good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerBradford, General Manager at Ibis Bradford Shipley, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Guest

Many Thanks for your very kind comments regarding your recent stay at ibis Bradford, We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and had a good breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards

John Holroyd

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Very conveniently located for a visit to Saltaire, world heritage site and Salts Mill which is just a short walk away. Definitely a no frills hotel but I didn't expect a lot for the price I paid. Very clean, comfy bed and peaceful and quiet (well, except for fellow guests' revelries continuing on the corridor in the early hours!). Big plus point is a very large step in shower. For me, this is the edge over other budget hotels where you have to negotiate a slippery bath tub and wet floor without handrails when showering - and no smelly shower curtain - yippee!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking canal are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerBradford, General Manager at Ibis Bradford Shipley, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Guest

Many Thanks for your kind review of ibis Bradford, We are all very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found we offered great value. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in the area.

Kind Regards

John Holroyd

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I know you get what you pay for ... but how much should you pay for a mouldy shower basin; dirty bedroom walls; broken elevator; TV screen so dirty that you can write your name on it; caked dirt on bathroom floor and worst of all ....bed bug powder all over the wooden slats under the mattress and falling onto the carpet?

Before you say something like, "Must be making this up", No, I'm NOT exaggerating - See the photos. We had booked for 3 nights to visit local relatives and friends. We checked in late in the afternoon, quickly changed clothes and rushed out without really checking out the room or bathroom. When we got back later that night and put on the lights, we got a shock at the state of the room (See the photos) and complained to Vadim(?), the night receptionist, who did his best to be helpful. In brief, we were totally disgusted and left early the following morning after getting a full refund. Charlotte was extremely helpful and apologetic and gave us our money back. I must thank her for being one of the very few positives of this hotel.

Not sure where to begin without sounding like I'm making this up but I'll start with the worst part, which is the actual BED. We had a kingsize bed and at first we thought that the hotel didn't put big enough sheets on the bed. However, when we asked for sheets that fit, a staff person told us that the Ibis chain now has a policy not to have sheets covering the whole mattress, but only to cover the mattress topper, leaving the mattress bare. This begs the question of who else has been in contact with that mattress and what did they leave behind? Even more disgusting was the bed bug powder that I discovered in the morning. I couldn't work out what the white powder was that had dropped onto the carpet all around the bed, so I lifted the mattress and found a thick layer of white/grey powder all over the wooden frame. (see photo) When I asked about it at reception, I was told, "Oh, yes, we use that to control the bed bugs" .......!!! Enough said!! Yuk!!!

As for the BATHROOM: the walk-in shower had a ring of mould between the shower walls and the shower basin, along with a hole about one foot up from the shower floor, underneath the shower head. (Again, see the photos.) We assumed that there used to be some sort of overflow drain there and the cover was missing, leaving a rusty, dirty, gucky hole. There was caked brown dirt along the skirting (base) boards, behind the door and under the sill of the bathroom door. The hand-wash lotion was in a large, wall-mounted squeeze tube, which presumably should have been refilled between guests but was just about empty. Given the lack of cleanliness of the rest of the room and bathroom, I wondered how many other people had been squeezing that tube and whether it could have been cleaned but not refilled?

The BEDROOM walls were streaked with dirt, including on the wall above the headboard. Yes, I know that people can be careless with luggage and "ding" the walls leaving black scuff marks and dents in the plaster, but above the headboard of the bed .....? Dents and scratches are one thing but a spilled drink down the wall is something else and there's no excuse for it not being cleaned off. (again, see the photos.)

The lift (elevator) wasn't working properly and had finally stopped altogether when we returned home late on the Saturday night.

The corridor lights are on sensors, so that when you get out of the lift, only one section of the hallway is lit, leaving the rest of the corridor dark until you actually move into it, when the lights come on. Not sure that I'd feel comfortable if I was alone. I understand the energy conservation aspect of this but, from a security perspective, long hallways have to be well lit without dark nooks and crannies.

Again, you may say we are being too fussy but we have travelled to many countries, including India, Nepal, Africa and South America and this room was the most squalid and dirtiest that we've ever encountered. A "basic, no-frills" hotel room is one thing - a dirty hotel room is something completely different and is totally unacceptable. Do yourself a favour and go somewhere else.

Room Tip: There isn't one. Go somewhere else. See the photos of dirt and bed bug powder.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerBradford, General Manager at Ibis Bradford Shipley, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Guest

I am so very sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occasion, I have had a full review of the points you raised with the relevant people in the hotel and this room has been immediately restored to the way you should have found it. Regarding your comments about the bed bug powder this is a treatment we undertake on an annual basis to ensure we never have this problem in the hotel. I am happy you felt that the team members you encountered dealt with you in a proffesional and courteous manner and refunded your stay. I do hope you will stay with us again in the future so you can see this was a truly isolated incident and not the normal ibis Bradford standards.

Kind Regards

John Holroyd

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Bradford Shipley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bradford Shipley

Address: Salts Mill Road Quayside, Shipley, Bradford BD18 3ST, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford > Shipley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shipley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Bradford Shipley 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi now throughout the hotel! Ibis Bradford has a fantastic canal side location, 5 minutes walk from the Unesco world heritage site of Saltaire Village. Railway station just 3 minutes walk away and a 10 min train journey to Leeds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Ibis Bradford Shipley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bradford Shipley Hotel Bradford
Accor Bradford Shipley
Ibis Bradford Shipley England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Bradford Shipley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.