We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I didn't know it was there” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salts Mill

Salts Mill
Victoria Rd, Saltaire, Shipley, Bradford BD18 3LA, England
01274 531 163
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 13 Attractions in Shipley
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Mellor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“I didn't know it was there”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Just spotted this place in the brochure at the hotel and thought we would have a quick visit.
It was an extremely interesting visit looking around the David Hockney collection, a little bit of history on the Mills and a couple of floors containing some shops and cafes.
We also took a walk around Saltaire whilst we were there after gaining a map from the tourist information office. Again a very interesting little stroll around the world heritage site, seeing what Sir Titus Salt had built for his workers alongside the mill. Worth a visit.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    359
    203
    57
    16
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Don't miss the Mill, and the village of Saltaire......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This is the second time we've been here and we really like it. It's a delight that the Mill exists as an art space, thanks to Jonathan Silver, and of course, to David Hockney. We are privileged indeed to have this wonderful legacy. In the Mill you can eat in either the Diner or the Opera. Appreciate the pictures, browse the books. Soak up the atmosphere. Staff friendly and pretty on the ball. Don't miss the village, either. A super day out.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Pennines
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“I love Salts Mill - a great afternoon out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Whenever we have a little time on our hands and are feeling the need to 'do something', we hop along to Salts Mill! There is always plenty to see there - just browsing the kitchenwares department can take an hour (and all the beautiful china displays!). I always see lots of families there too, so it seems good for a family day out. My favourite bit.. the antique rooms! I can look at these for hours, and yes, I have bought a few unusual items there too! So great for an afternoon out, lovely for window shopping, take a spare tenner in case you see something which tickles your fancy. There is a diner there too which has a good menu (and soya milk!). Oh yes, and the loos are always clean!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic unique jewellery at Kath Libberts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

There is a fantastic range of design and price of unique beautiful jewellery at Kath Libberts. It is just beside the Salts Diner, so you can have coffee and cake or a lovely lunch whilst you choose that special piece of jewellery.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Interesting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Well worth a visit, if only to see the David Hockney gallery. There is also a good selection of books and cards for sale and places to eat and drink.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salts Mill also viewed

 

Been to Salts Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salts Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.