We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good VFM” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abbey Lodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Abbey Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Abbey Lodge Hotel
62 Kirkgate, Shipley, Bradford BD18 3EL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Shipley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good VFM”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Great Value for Money
Room spacious, clean and recently well decorated
Food - reasonably priced, very nice
Breakfast Included and cooked to order
Corridors a bit dark
Perking at back of hotel looked a bit chaotic, plenty of space on the road outside tho
Highly Recommend

Room Tip: Suoerior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    136
    18
    8
    11
See reviews for
110
220
19
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Having selected The Abbey based on reviews here, it met and exceeded all expectations! The staff greeted me warmly, Chris was bellman and pub tender and extremely accommodating. The Abbey has a modern flair with contemporary furnishing (everything looked brand new) but every bit of old school charm and customer service. The evening meal was outstanding, the chef delivered one of the best (and most inexpensive) steaks I've had in my UK travels. Be sure to try the mushrooms in garlic sauce- to die for! The pub was comfy, intimate and I had great conversations with some other guests over a few pints. The room was impeccably clean and with what appeared to be all new furnishings, tea kettle and a wonderful shower. Nothing old or worn out here. It's obvious great pains have been taken to keep surroundings updated and 5 star clean. Don't hesitate- book a stay here.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

A clean, friendly and relaxed little hotel. The chef cooked me a vegetarian meal specially and the barman remembered what I drink. Comfy bed and well kept gardens added to the feeling of home comforts when awat from home on business..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is more of a B&B than a hotel (many nights there's no evening meal, for instance). Think of it as a B&B, though, and it's great.

We opted for a superior room, which was large, cheap, and had a jacuzzi bath. Aside from a car alarm in the morning, it was quiet, too.

The service is very good, too: we were there for a wedding, and they let us check in early for no extra charge, and were very good during breakfast when we moved table to sit next to some friends after ordering.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Great value, great rooms, great service, great breakfast! Would definitely stay here again.

Only downside is parking availability - we luckily got a space but if we hadn't would have put a dampener on things.

That aside - staff extremely helpful and welcoming and can't really fault the place.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

It is good to find a 'value for money' hotel that also accepts dogs. We had a two night stay. Staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms clean and spacious - though no closed drawers or cupboards in which to store clothes etc. Breakfast was fantastic, with lots of locally sourced meat, veg and eggs. Would recommend this to anyone who needs a good place to stay in Shipley and environs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

A large number of my husband's family were staying here following our wedding reception, so we decided to join them (even though we live less than 10 miles away). The booking process was easy and the prices were very reasonable.

The rooms were comfortable and had tv, dvd player and wi-fi. And the breakfast was superb with locally sourced ingredients.

Everybody enjoyed their stay, and had absolutely no complaints

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbey Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Lodge Hotel

Address: 62 Kirkgate, Shipley, Bradford BD18 3EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford > Shipley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shipley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Abbey Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Shipley
Abbey Lodge Hotel Shipley, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbey Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.