We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abbey Lodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Abbey Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Abbey Lodge Hotel
62 Kirkgate, Shipley, Bradford BD18 3EL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Shipley B&B and Inns
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Very satisfied with our stay at The Abbey Loge Hotel, the staff were very friendly and helpful, accomodation was excellent and the food was great, cannot fault anything and to top it all we booked the Superior room and had a jacuzzi, great weekend, thankyou to everyone

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    123
    16
    8
    10
See reviews for
103
204
18
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shipley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I don't do reviews unless i am very impressed.
The service on arrival was excellent and all the staff were very helpful. the room was excellent being clean and well kitted out. sky, very good broadband, DVD player in room. the hotel looks like it has had a major refurbishment and upgrade and is stylish and pleasant.
The food was very good, cooked well and enough to satisfy.
This place really is worth every penny and will be one to keep on record so that i can return.
Thanks to all the Abbey lodge team.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed there for two nights with my wife and two friends. I have to say I found it to be a fantastic little place and for the money you simply will not find a better hotel. The owner and staff are really friendly, nothing is too much trouble. The room (A superior double) was lovely, spotlessly clean and comfortable. To make it perfect all it needs are a set of Marriott pillows and a little couch to sit on, but that's just being picky it was lovely and warm and clean and comfortable and trust me I've paid a great deal more money for rooms that could not compete with the quality of this one.

The bar area was nice and the price for drinks reasonable too which again is not always the case in hotels and car parking was no problem either despite my pre booking concerns. Breakfast is really important to me and I have to say it was one of the best I've had. They don't serve food at dinner on weekends so we had to eat out so no idea what dinner food is like, but breakfast gets a huge thumbs up from the wife and I.

So overall a great little find and one we will be using again very soon. Thanks to the owner and staff for their attention to detail and for doing all they could to accommodate my particular medical issues too. Brilliant hotel and I only selected excellent because Tripadvisor don't have a "Chuffin Fantastic" button

Room Tip: We had room 203 and it was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Nice clean hotel, comfortable modern room, wet room was fantastic.
Excellent food using locally sourced produce.Wonderful staff very friendly especially front of house manager, central location would definitely stay there again.
There's nothing to complain about this hotel.

Regards Jackie and Phil

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Warm welcome, and room was comfortable and so clean!Lots of stairs to carry bags up but the chef helped us!
The dining facilities do let this hotel down.It is more like a cafe and the choice on offer is very limited.Breakfast ingredients were fine but were cooked so badly that we left ours, the first time ever in a hotel.The poached egg was swimming in water, the bacon and tomatoes appeared to have been cooked in old fat and tasted very unpleasant. What a pity.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Wonderful staff and lovely bedrooms.
All very friendly and kind. Specialty Chris.
Enjoyed or visit at Abbey Lodge. Perfect for family's and also for younger people who likes to go out. Lovely hotel!! Five stars!!
Regards from Sweden!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Wife, son and I stayed for two nights at Easter.
Very good price (money off through topcashback), free parking at the back of the hotel or on-street, friendly welcome, modern, clean bedrooms (room was on the smallish side but saying that we had three single beds so it was always going to be a bit of a squeeze), good fried breakfast (mushrooms cooked from fresh rather than from a tin - yes, I know, but it's a pet hate of mine!) and/or buffet, and a lively bar.
Good location for Shipley town centre and Saltaire (2 mins), Bradford city centre (10mins) or Haworth (25mins). It's on a main road but there wasn't that much traffic - might be different in a working week. There's a swimming pool 2 mins walk from the hotel (think it was open but it looked a bit scruffy, if I'm honest) and a 24 hour Asda 5 mins walk away.
All in all, a hotel which thoroughly deserves its good name.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbey Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Lodge Hotel

Address: 62 Kirkgate, Shipley, Bradford BD18 3EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford > Shipley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shipley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Abbey Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Shipley
Abbey Lodge Hotel Shipley, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbey Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.