We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterside Restaurant & Bar

Waterside Restaurant & Bar
Wharfe Street, Shipley, Bradford BD17 7DW, England
+44 1274 594444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 63 Restaurants in Shipley
Price range: $0 - $31
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Located on the banks of the canal, directly opposite the Ibis Hotel, the Waterside Restaurant and Bar is one of Shipley's best-kept secrets.In its idyllic location, the restaurant offers a range of British dishes to suit every taste and appetite. The food is locally sourced and high quality and the dishes are freshly cooked to order. With the opportunity to eat and drink 'alfresco' in the covered courtyard on warmer days, there really is no better place to dine out in the area.In addition the Waterside also holds comedy nights on the last Monday in the month.
Rawdon Leeds
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

A truly wonderful place to be, great food and a good atmosphere. I had a chicken and mayo sandwitch for lunch. The chicken was delicious, very tender. The waterside is a top quality restaurant and bar, I will be returning for an evening out and will be telling all my friends how great it is.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhamilt0n, Manager at Waterside Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Hi Simeon,

Thanks for the 'brilliant' review. We’re really pleased you liked it and will be recommending us.

I regret to say that we are not be opening for lunch during Autumn/Winter but we are open for evening meals as usual.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    46
    10
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An anniversary to remember!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary starting with a meal at the Waterside. Food was lovely, atmosphere was nice and staff were attentive. Would definitely reommend. Wished it had been warm enough to eat outside as the setting is lovely!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhamilt0n, Manager at Waterside Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Hi Palf2011,

Really pleased you chose The Waterside to celebrate your special day and that you really enjoyed it. Thanks also for recommending us.

Like you, we are fed up with the weather. As you say it is great to sit out when it’s warm but sadly this year those days have been few and far between.

Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Great Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My girlfriend booked us in to the restaurant on Friday to kick off the weekend. We were made to feel very welcome, the food was great and service friendly and efficient. We had a starter, main and a bottle of wine and really wanted a pudding but we were stuffed.

Definitely going back again and this time we are on for a pudding.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhamilt0n, Manager at Waterside Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thanks for posting a wonderful review. We really appreciate it as it gives a real boost to the team when they read that you enjoyed everything so much.

Look forward to seeing you again soon, with room for a pudding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

From the moment you arrive at the Waterside you know you have stumbled across a hidden gem! When you arrive it looks nothing special and you follow the signs where you suddenly find yourself at the top of a stair case (lift for those not able to do the stairs) looking down on a romantic scene of the canal front, a ceiling of fairy lights and rustic wooden tables set for 2 with fresh roses and candles flickering! The outside space is actually covered but the roof is so high it isn't intrusive and you feel like you are sat outside. Inside is a lovely seating area tot he side by the bar with cosy armchairs. We were seated at a lovely table, the music was subtle but fitted the evening perfectly. The menu is a problem....choosing that is! Starters are impressive......seafood risotto, pate, mussels, mini roast dinner ever! I went for the pigeon on a bed of black pudding mash and cabbage and my other half went for the mushroom tart on a bed of salad leaves. Both were delicious and a perfect size-both would have also made a lovely main course too as the care and attention put into the starters was incredible. Our main courses arrived and the food was lovely and fresh...once again another dilemma choosing! There was fish and duck and chicken as well as a specials board of steaks. I had a chicken breast on a bed of pasta with a lovely bacon and cream sauce. My other half went for the beef pie which has a choice of puff or short pastry and lovely large chunks of beef, served with mash and gravy. The pudding menu was equally as tempting with pineapple tart, cheese board and apple crumble. We went for a dark chocolate and banana cheesecake to share (which shows the portion sizes are decent-we don't often share a pudding!) It was served in a glass and was full of flavour and a lovely fresh flavour. I am not a wine buff but the chalkboard offered 32 different wines and a full bar selection. The prices are average for the area, main courses are almost cheap in comparison to some places we have visited recently. Starters were around the £6-9 mark and main course £12 up to 25 for a T bone steak. Our bill for 2 courses each, shared pudding, 2 large wines and 2 soft drinks was around the £55 mark. For a romantic intimate meal or a grown up meal with friends and family this place is a gem hidden down a side street you must find. I can't wait to go back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhamilt0n, Manager at Waterside Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Hi LeedsMaxine,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a fabulous review. I see that you chose from our new Autumn menu which has been a hit with customers since we introduced it last week.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff & great food - warning - book early!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

You need to book early in the week to be sure of a Saturday night table. We've missed out on a couple of occassions by leaving it too late to book.

It's an excwellent restaurant, the waiters and waistresses engage you in genuine conversation and are interested in catering for exactly what you want.

Great food as well in a very friendly atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterside Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Shipley, Bradford
 

Been to Waterside Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterside Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.