We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like walking into Gant Home brochure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel J

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel J to your Saves list
Hotel J
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ellensviksvagen 1 | Nacka Strand, Nacka 13127, Sweden   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Nacka
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
285 helpful votes 285 helpful votes
“Like walking into Gant Home brochure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Even thought Hotel J is located some 15 minutes from the downtown area it's worth considering especially during summer time. There's public boat service that takes you right to the centre of Stockholm nearby and the hotel location by the sea is truly superb.

The New England boat house style is nicely executed even though it feels like walking into Gant Home brochure. The rooms are somewhat spartan but the ambiance in the restaurant building and in the lobby with open fire make the place exceptional. The lobby feels like being invited to someones sitting room. Nicely excecuted and unusual feel. Hotel J is big enough (around 150 rooms) so that it doesn't feel too much boutique (some boutique hotels may be too personal).

The location by the sea is worth more that *****!

Room Tip: Delux rooms close to the sea are nice - the views from the balconies are exceptional!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementHotelJ, Chef at Hotel J, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for taking your time to write this nice review.
I’m very glad to read you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful location.

I look forward to welcome you back next time you will visit Stockholm.

Kind regards

Maurizio Barberis
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    98
    17
    2
    2
See reviews for
41
133
11
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Returning each year to this wonderful Hotel. I just can recommand everyone this Hotel. Fantastic design, wonderful staff smiling everytime and incredible helpfull and the location directly at the water leaves you speachless. I will definitely return and return and return Thank you J Nacka Hotel for the emotions you give me all the time !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementHotelJ, General Manager at Hotel J, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for taking your time to write this nice review.
I'm really glad you like our Hotel and return to us every year.
I hope you enjoy it both in the winter and in the summer
I'm very proud for my staff and appriciate your words very much.

Look forward to welcome you back soon again

Kind regards
Maurizio Barberis
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

From the moment we arrived at the Hotel, every part of it was amazing.

In a quiet corner of Stockholm in a place called Nacka we found our Hotel nestled away surrounded by natural rock barricades.

We entered the Hotel reception area where we found 2 extremely helpful and friendly staff who made us feel very welcome. Due to it being New Year's Eve there was a lot of concerns we had about fully enjoying our New Years celebrations. But the staff made sure we had everything from bus timetables into Stockholm city to various places for us to watch the fireworks.

Upon arrival at our room which was a superior room with a sea view, we found a spacious and clean room with a balcony leading out with a view of the waterfront. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom had a lovely walk in shower which was a unique change from other hotel showers I've had.

The breakfast which was situated in a lovely picturesque outbuilding had every possible option from Scrambled egg and bacon with pancakes. To various meats, cheeses and pickles and a selection of cereal. With also a selection of teas and coffee and fresh bread to toast with local jams and marmalade.

I could go on to describe every detail about my trip and bore you with paragraphs of how wonderful it was. But to summarise I would recommend this Hotel to everyone I tell about it and I am hoping to return once again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementHotelJ, Chef at Hotel J, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this lovely review.
I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay and our wonderful staff.
I hope you had a wonderful start for this year and I really hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back next time you will be visiting Stockholm,

Kind regards
Maurizio Barberis
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imatra, Finland
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Experience Stockholm in December and get the warm Nordic Christmas feeling! And if you stay at Hotel J, it will suit that perfectly. We had a reservation to a normal double room with garden view, but got upgraded to a room with balcony and sea view in the old building. I like traditional and old, but there was a challenge here because of the stormy weather. The old walls and windows couldn't exactly keep the winds outside, and it took some effort to try to keep a decent 20 centigrade and to get warm shower. Comfortable and warm beds, though. Clean rooms and nice sea -theme decorations. A fireplace in the ground floor and drinks / snacks available - self service that easily turns to service.
Breakfast was not missing a single item we wanted to have, and it was very tasty with a lot of house made stuff.

If you are not afraid of some walk, you got a plenty of transportation choices available, bus, train and a boat, and taxi of course. We had an early morning flight to catch and they had packaged without asking some sandwiches, gingerbread and apples to go for us. Service minded staff.

Room Tip: Sea view, it is nice to watch the boats and ferries to sail in and out. In the old building it may b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementHotelJ, Chef at Hotel J, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for this lovely review.
My team and I are very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are very proud to be on this nice place by the archipelago but still very closed to the city center.
I’m extra pleased to read you enjoyed our breakfast and our wonderful staff.
I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back next time you will be visiting Stockholm.

Kind regards

Maurizio Barberis
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottignies-Louvain-la-Neuve, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I just returned from a wonderful weekend in Stockholm.

In two words : Stockholm is an amazing city with so many different and beautiful things to do and to see.

What about the hotel J ? I booked an executive room with sea view ... I had it !!! We were on the last floor (5) with an enormous balcony and a wonderful view. The room was cosy , specious and the bed really comfortable and SOOO BIG !! :-)

What about the employees.: Naturally friendly. One women from the front desk even gave us her card to let us take the boat to the city center (Madame if you read this comment thank you again!!) The breakfast was even better than at home and if you like to jog, it is the good place to stay.
So I would definitely go back the Hotel J if I had to...
I feel a little bit sad on this monday because my stay in stockholm was too short...

Room Tip: Take the executive room sea view 5th floor... It's the perfect one ;...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementHotelJ, Chef at Hotel J, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your nice review.
I’m very pleased you enjoyed Hotel J
Thank you also for your nice words about the Staff which made me extra pleased.
I’m sad you had to leave us but hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back next time you will be visiting Stockholm.

Kind regards

Maurizio Barberis
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed at the J Hotel for 4 nights and everything about our stay was fantastic. The beds are lovely and large and rooms very spacious. The breakfast is delightful and includes hot and cold options. It is located about 15 minutes out of the city by bus and very easy to get to and from. The staff were very helpful and made the overall experience very relaxing. Have already recommended the J Hotel to friends coming to Stockholm.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementHotelJ, Chef at Hotel J, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
I’m really happy you enjoyed your stay at Hotel J and our fantastic staff
My colleagues and I look forward to welcome you and all your friends soon again

Kind regards

Maurizio Barberis
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We spent four wonderful days at Hotel J last week. Our tastefully decorated room was in a modern building that had pleasant views of the sea and Djurgarden. The breakfast was very generous, served at a high standard in a fantastic villa next door with dining rooms overlooking cruises and boats passing by. We took Sjovagen ferries every day, which was free with our 3-day Stockholm card. Even though it is a short bus ride to Stockholm, the boat ride is delightful stopping at a number of commuter ports in between and takes about half an hour to arrive at Nybroplan/Ostermalm in Stockholm. The route allows one to enjoy the sights on Djurgarden, Gamla Stan and archipelago without having to take the commercial boat trips. Stockholm is quite compact for sightseeing and therefore paying the premium for a small room in the urban centre makes no sense at all if you are not too tight on time. We were really pleased to have a leisurely ride back to our room everyday with great facilities, amenities and professional staff awaiting us. The marina is well equipped for watersports with a variety of vessels docked. We would highly recommend Hotel J and would love to visit again soon.

Room Tip: The higher floors enjoy better sea views. We were told that some rooms at the ends of the building m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementHotelJ, Chef at Hotel J, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking your time to write this lovely review.
I’m very glad you enjoyed your stay at Hotel J and our beautiful capital and archipelago
My colleagues and I look forward to welcome you soon again

Kind regards

Maurizio Barberis
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel J? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel J

Address: Ellensviksvagen 1 | Nacka Strand, Nacka 13127, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Nacka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Nacka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel J 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to J, Stockholm’s Newport. Archipelago and city combined. The modern, nautical design of the luxury Hotel J inspires visitors to experience the city from the waterfront then relax in the comfort and tranquility of Stockholm's answer to Newport. Hotel J is a unique and convenient base for your stay in Sweden's capital city. The hotel is situated just by the inlet of Stockholm’s harbor, and ferries run regularly between the wharf next to Restaurant J and central Stockholm. Most of the beautiful hotel rooms have a balcony or their own patio with a view of one of the world’s most beautiful harbour entrances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel J reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
j Nacka Strand Hotel
j Nacka Strand Stockholm
Hotel J Stockholm County/Nacka, Sweden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel J, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.