We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful place to relax, not far from the city "where Newport meets Stockholm"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel J

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel J to your Saves list
Hotel J
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ellensviksvagen 1 | Nacka Strand, Nacka 13127, Sweden   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Nacka
Turku, Finland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A beautiful place to relax, not far from the city "where Newport meets Stockholm"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were so happy to find this place. Take the bus 443 from Slussen and you'll get to Nacka in 15 minutes. From the bus stop it is a short 300-meter walk to the the hotel. Although J. is a little expensive, the rooms are very nice with a Gant,Newport styled decoration. We were a disappointed when the hotel restaurants were closed: it would have been nice that the staff let us know they were reserved for private events on beforehand. Now we had to leave to Stockholm City for dinner. This was a little bit annoying. But all in all, the breakfast was very good quality and delicious. This definitely is for couples & relaxing. Would go back!

Room Tip: We had room 160 which is a seaview room but we only saw a glimpse of the seawater. It was nice to ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    111
    18
    2
    2
See reviews for
47
146
13
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Just a few km far from the Stockholm city center, the J hotel is located in a very relaxing bay, surrounded by trees and with a beautiful access to the sea channel. Rooms are very well decorated and equipped (ok, no Eurosport channel in room TV during the US Open... this is a minus for me but it does not really matter! :-)), design and attention for the details are taken into high consideration. Personnel is friendly. Breakfast is served in a detached old building absolutely worth to see not only for the well decorated interiors but also for the great view of the channel (you can have breakfast on a window terrace). Bad aspect: the price (but the quality costs in Sweden!) and the fact that the connections to the Stockholm center may be better. There is no subway close-by, just buses from Nacka strand going to Slussen and, in the early morning/ mid afternoon, directly to central station. Another more fancy alternative is the boat that leaves just 100 meters from the hotel and goes through the channel stopping in Gröna Lund and Nybroplan; in summer sunny days highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

This is an excellent hotel. I don't give five stars easily.

The hotel is set on large grounds which makes you feel separated from the large city that sits minutes away. There is ample car parking that is secured.

The hotel sits adjacent to restaurant J which was excellent. The seafood platter for one fed two of us. Another night we had the burger and seafood casserole, which were excellent. The restaurant was full each night of the three we saw it.

One can reach the hotel on a ferry, bus or car. Their is a large shopping centre in Nacka Strand about fifteen minutes walk away. Zara through to supermarket if a need arises.

If you want to see Stockholm, do it from here. Buy a round ticket on the ferry, enjoy the city, then come back to relaxation with a room and facilities twice the size and more relaxed.

We are now in the old town and wonder why we moved!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIlan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

J is in a great location, only 20 mins away from SCK city center by boat. It is a very a beatiful and cosy Hotel and the fireplace in the lobby is a hit. Breakfast is very rich adn service friendly, one feels at home. Rooms are spacious and very well designed. Wifi works very well.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the mountain, much quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

As a young Brit that has worked in Stockholm almost every week for the last couple of years, I was looking for something a bit different when my partner came over for the weekend in August. We've stayed right in the centre of the city before, so went a little further afield this time.

We opted for Hotel J out in Nacka Strand, and were not disappointed.

The staff were very helpful and polite throughout our stay, and the room was perfect. Situated on the fourth floor of the main building, facing the sea, we had an amazing view from our balcony.

Don't be put off by the location; you can reach Nacka Strand by bus (443 from Slussen), ferry (~£11 return, or half that for a single) or taxi (~£20 from the centre). We got a taxi out there and then enjoyed a ferry trip back in.

"The Club House" provides a decent Swedish breakfast, along with drinks and food from 4pm each day. We had a club sandwich (amazing) and a glass of wine in the gardens - immense. 5 minutes down the coast you'll find Restaurant J (associated with the hotel if you were wondering), which is where we ate. Do phone ahead as it can get busy - we called Friday night for a booking on Saturday and got in fine. The food is excellent; with a variety of fresh fish and meat dishes on offer.

We will be visiting again.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are the ones to go for; we had one on the fourth floor which had its own balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This was my first time to Stockholm. I wasn't sure if staying outside of the center would be a good or bad idea. Would it be a pain to explore the city and then return to our hotel? The conclusion, not at all.

Purchasing an unlimited ride card for the public transportation system here is the way to go whether you are staying in the city center or on a surrounding island.

In the case of the Hotel J, we were served by three bus lines and a ferry service, both within 5 tp 10 mintues from our door!

As for the hotel, the rooms are excellent and the breakfast outstanding!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Forget city hotels, take a taxi, rent a car, do whatever just stay at this hotel. Ignor ANY bad reviews, if you want to relax after exploring a busy city ( which is only a short drive away ) look no where else. We have stayed in many hotels in stockholm center and dont bother. Best value for money I have found, me and my fiancé have stayed in posh hotels all over the world and have been left wanting, but the charm and the atmosphere here just grabs you and you think, "now I'm on holiday" it is all new, the building even smells like it has just been built, the cleanliness is impeccable. I am writing this sat in the hotel room as I am so impressed. Don't pay for the sea view (of course do if you wish) but the standard garden view is fine.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel J? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel J

Address: Ellensviksvagen 1 | Nacka Strand, Nacka 13127, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Nacka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Nacka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel J 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to J, Stockholm’s Newport. Archipelago and city combined. The modern, nautical design of the luxury Hotel J inspires visitors to experience the city from the waterfront then relax in the comfort and tranquility of Stockholm's answer to Newport. Hotel J is a unique and convenient base for your stay in Sweden's capital city. The hotel is situated just by the inlet of Stockholm’s harbor, and ferries run regularly between the wharf next to Restaurant J and central Stockholm. Most of the beautiful hotel rooms have a balcony or their own patio with a view of one of the world’s most beautiful harbour entrances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, T4B, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel J reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
j Nacka Strand Hotel
j Nacka Strand Stockholm
Hotel J Stockholm County/Nacka, Sweden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel J, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.