We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious surroundings and wonderful hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Madrugada

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Madrugada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel La Madrugada
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Partida Benimarraig, 61 B, 03720 Benissa, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Benissa
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Luxurious surroundings and wonderful hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

If our friends hadn't recommended La Madrugada we might never have discovered it; and boy, what would we have missed? This luxurious bijou hotel is 700m down a track from the main Altea to Benissa Road so not somewhere you would stumble across but its seclusion makes it all the more wonderful. The ground floor rooms open out onto the pool area and the view is amazing. Each room is beautifully and tastefully furnished by Lieve whose husband Bert runs the hotel with charm and courtesy and a great sense of humour. Fittings, such as the bathroom, are to a really high standard and the atmosphere of calm and elegance is unsurpassable. Bert gave us excellent advice each day on where to visit (we can recommend Altea, Guadalest, Denia and Javea) as well as where to find a little tapas bar located right on the beach. The hotel was formerly owned by singer Sarah Brightman and it retains the private home ambience that you might expect. It doesn't boast a restaurant although breakfast is excellent and you can get snacks and light meals all day and evening. We dined in the restaurant of the sister hotel Casa del Maco which was superb, if a little expensive. But a lovely treat towards the end of our holiday. A hire car is a must for this hotel but it makes a great base for exploring this part of the Costa Blanca and is the most wonderful place to come back to after a busy day touring. In fact, some days you won't want to go anywhere at all - just laze by the pool and imagine you own it!

Room Tip: Rooms 1,2 and 3 open straight onto the pool area with your own little private terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
almeria
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

An excellent choice , just outside Moraira , rooms more than comfortable , lovely welcome and beautiful grounds.
Breakfast (good choice , good quality ) is taken by the pool , with a stunning view out to sea.
Not easy to find , but well worth the effort

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The stunning location, beautifully appointed villa, gorgeous weather combined with our exceptional host Bert meant we had a blissful 3 night stay at our first Costa Blanca hotel. This gentleman really knows how to run a hotel. There was nothing to fault and everything was designed to make our stay as relaxing as possible. We are already planning are turn trip( we rarely go anywhere more than once as we believe there are so many places to explore that there isn't t time to revisit!).
Thoroughly and unreservedly recommended. BTW make sure you dine at the sister hotel Casa Del Maco. Bert will fill you in. It is better than Bert will tell you. Also have lunch at Berts. He will conjure up a special Mediterranean menu and a perfect bottle of Spanish Vino Blanco to go with it. All you have to do is RELAX!

Room Tip: Room at ground floor off the pool is so convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Okay. You may see I am not a frequent reviewer. I travel a lot with my wife and to be honest most places we stay are bolt holes to lay our heads down. I only comment when a place is superlative. This is most certainly the case here.

Recently we planned a trip with friends to Spain and they said they liked Boutique type places to stay so we took their lead. As we headed in the direction of La Madrugada we were a bit nervous. It's a dirt/stone road off the main road and does not appear to be the entrance to heaven which it turns out to be.

You come up to electronic gates and after a quick chat on the intercom the gates open and you drive in. The proprietor should have warned us. The whole scene is awesome. Everything is top notch, the stone laid drive, the hand crafted doors, the marble floors, the view to die for, the open air breakfast area, the crystal clear pool. The fresh towel laid seating areas.... We were not even in the room yet! The rooms are all different and designed by the wife of the gentleman who owns the establishment with him. Nothing is too much trouble and his little touches (bringing out a blanket for the ladies while we sat around the pool in the evening was pure class)

The detail and quality in the rooms will have you rethinking your home decor. He said the renovation took many months with 25 workers, it shows! He showed us the upstairs suite and it was as good as any I have seen, New York, Paris, Italy. You name it

Breakfast is a dream. Fresh homemade bread from their restaurant, pastry, cold meats, fresh juice, melon, coffee, tea, did I mention the fresh bread! Weight gain is at no extra charge. The owners adult children are always tending to the pool area or the breakfast patrons. They definitely have their parents ability to give you a fantastic experience.

I am currently sitting in room 8 with its super comfy bed and bathroom from the book of dreams. We eave shortly and are already planning our return visit

This customer from New Jersey and Now living in the UK is VERY impressed. I could not find fault here and nor will you.

Peter

Room Tip: You can't go wrong 8, our room was very private and the bathroom is fit for a king or queen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely week in this Villa/Hotel. It is situated off the beaten track and you need a car to get around. The views from the patio/ pool are amazing! Bert looked after us very well and we felt thoroughly spoilt. They are also happy to give advice on places to see and things to do. Top class.

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms are very convenient but may be noisy when the hotel is full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We found this gem on the Vi-spring website as we have one of their beds. A good nights sleep being essential. Until now we have never been able to replicate nighttime comfort away from home. All that has now changed with this delightful small hotel. We stayed in the suite which was spacious and more like an apartment. Tastefully furnished and an enormous bathroom. The web photos don't do it justice. The gardens and the views along with a pristine pool make this a memorable holiday. Bert and his staff keep the place ticking over with a relaxed style which belies their efficiency. There is no restaurant for evening meals but there is always their sister hotel and others in the area. We arrived late and Bert soon rustled up some delicious breads and cheeses not to mention some red wine that the Spanish have kept hidden for themselves! We are going back in July.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Madrugada is hidden away outside of Benissa, but relatively easy to find. Having been totally refurbished over the past few years it is a lovely place to stay. Bert the owner and his staff are most welcoming and nothing is too much trouble for them. Breakfast was good and there is something to suit most people. Not having a restaurant on site would have been an issue for us had we been staying for more than one night, but to be fair, there is plenty of choice within a 10 to 15 minute drive. Overall a good find for us and well worth a visit if you don't like big "plastic" hotels - the Madugada has an intimate feel and is deliberately operated that way, much to the credit of Bert and crew.

Rooms are small but well equipped, with good quality bathrooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel La Madrugada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Madrugada

Address: Partida Benimarraig, 61 B, 03720 Benissa, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Benissa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Benissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Madrugada 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the summer of 2007 this delightful villa was transformed into a small luxurious and charming hotel. La Madrugada offers 7 extremely stylish bedrooms, 1 exclusive suite with a private balcony and Jacuzzi, a comfortable lounge with a bar and a library. During the day tasty snacks and light meals are served, if required. You are most welcome to dine in our comfortable gastronomic restaurant Casa Del Maco which is only a few kilometres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Fastbooking so you can book your Hotel La Madrugada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Madrugada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.