We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Madrugada

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Madrugada to your Saves list
Hotel La Madrugada
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Partida Benimarraig, 61 B, 03720 Benissa, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Benissa
Colchester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Better than home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Okay. You may see I am not a frequent reviewer. I travel a lot with my wife and to be honest most places we stay are bolt holes to lay our heads down. I only comment when a place is superlative. This is most certainly the case here.

Recently we planned a trip with friends to Spain and they said they liked Boutique type places to stay so we took their lead. As we headed in the direction of La Madrugada we were a bit nervous. It's a dirt/stone road off the main road and does not appear to be the entrance to heaven which it turns out to be.

You come up to electronic gates and after a quick chat on the intercom the gates open and you drive in. The proprietor should have warned us. The whole scene is awesome. Everything is top notch, the stone laid drive, the hand crafted doors, the marble floors, the view to die for, the open air breakfast area, the crystal clear pool. The fresh towel laid seating areas.... We were not even in the room yet! The rooms are all different and designed by the wife of the gentleman who owns the establishment with him. Nothing is too much trouble and his little touches (bringing out a blanket for the ladies while we sat around the pool in the evening was pure class)

The detail and quality in the rooms will have you rethinking your home decor. He said the renovation took many months with 25 workers, it shows! He showed us the upstairs suite and it was as good as any I have seen, New York, Paris, Italy. You name it

Breakfast is a dream. Fresh homemade bread from their restaurant, pastry, cold meats, fresh juice, melon, coffee, tea, did I mention the fresh bread! Weight gain is at no extra charge. The owners adult children are always tending to the pool area or the breakfast patrons. They definitely have their parents ability to give you a fantastic experience.

I am currently sitting in room 8 with its super comfy bed and bathroom from the book of dreams. We eave shortly and are already planning our return visit

This customer from New Jersey and Now living in the UK is VERY impressed. I could not find fault here and nor will you.

Peter

Room Tip: You can't go wrong 8, our room was very private and the bathroom is fit for a king or queen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely week in this Villa/Hotel. It is situated off the beaten track and you need a car to get around. The views from the patio/ pool are amazing! Bert looked after us very well and we felt thoroughly spoilt. They are also happy to give advice on places to see and things to do. Top class.

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms are very convenient but may be noisy when the hotel is full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We found this gem on the Vi-spring website as we have one of their beds. A good nights sleep being essential. Until now we have never been able to replicate nighttime comfort away from home. All that has now changed with this delightful small hotel. We stayed in the suite which was spacious and more like an apartment. Tastefully furnished and an enormous bathroom. The web photos don't do it justice. The gardens and the views along with a pristine pool make this a memorable holiday. Bert and his staff keep the place ticking over with a relaxed style which belies their efficiency. There is no restaurant for evening meals but there is always their sister hotel and others in the area. We arrived late and Bert soon rustled up some delicious breads and cheeses not to mention some red wine that the Spanish have kept hidden for themselves! We are going back in July.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Madrugada is hidden away outside of Benissa, but relatively easy to find. Having been totally refurbished over the past few years it is a lovely place to stay. Bert the owner and his staff are most welcoming and nothing is too much trouble for them. Breakfast was good and there is something to suit most people. Not having a restaurant on site would have been an issue for us had we been staying for more than one night, but to be fair, there is plenty of choice within a 10 to 15 minute drive. Overall a good find for us and well worth a visit if you don't like big "plastic" hotels - the Madugada has an intimate feel and is deliberately operated that way, much to the credit of Bert and crew.

Rooms are small but well equipped, with good quality bathrooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond, VA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

6 adults and 2 kids stayed here for 4 nights/5 days.
The place is just beautiful. The view of Costa Blanca and the city below is spectacular day or night. The breakfast is more than you can imagine, much less eat. The rooms are high-end with everything you need to be more than comfortable. We all totally enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Nice rooms, perfect location, huge breakfast and all the peace and quite one needs
Tennis court, nice landscaped gardens, swimming pool,....all you need and more
good location in between benissa and calpe

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
191 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Lovely little place between Benissa and Calp. The view is excellent and the place is nice and quiet. Breakfast is good and it is possible to have a sandwich or salad for lunch. Very friendly owners. For dinner their "sister" facility can be recommended - casa del maco. In Calp and Benissa there are not many other good restaurants. Or maybe I could not find them? This place can be recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benissa
3.5 mi away
Hotel Swiss Moraira
Hotel Swiss Moraira
#1 of 4 in Moraira
4.5 of 5 stars 279 reviews
3.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Sol y Mar
6.1 mi away
Hotel SH Villa Gadea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Servigroup Montiboli
Servigroup Montiboli
#1 of 5 in Villajoyosa
4.5 of 5 stars 380 reviews
15.0 mi away
Barcelo Asia Gardens Hotel & Thai Spa
15.9 mi away
Hotel La Cala
Hotel La Cala
#1 of 5 in Finestrat
4.5 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Madrugada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Madrugada

Address: Partida Benimarraig, 61 B, 03720 Benissa, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Benissa
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Benissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Madrugada 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the summer of 2007 this delightful villa was transformed into a small luxurious and charming hotel. La Madrugada offers 7 extremely stylish bedrooms, 1 exclusive suite with a private balcony and Jacuzzi, a comfortable lounge with a bar and a library. During the day tasty snacks and light meals are served, if required. You are most welcome to dine in our comfortable gastronomic restaurant Casa Del Maco which is only a few kilometres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel La Madrugada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Madrugada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.