We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Onyria Claros Beach & Spa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Onyria Claros Beach & Spa Resort to your Saves list
Onyria Claros Beach & Spa Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cumhuriyet Mahallesi | Izmir Caddesi No 104, Ozdere 35495, Turkey (Formerly Carpe Diem)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Ozdere
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It was amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011 via mobile

I had a really nice stay everyone was friendly. The entertaiment was good and so was the team. There was so much to do on the site so u wasn't bored at all. I really enjoyed my stay and I would go there again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    196
    138
    86
    83
See reviews for
371
193
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

The hotel is set on a marvelous beach with very spacious grounds. The rooms were large with amazing views of the sea and mountains. The rooms were clean, the fridge was well stocked with drinks and the air-condioner was very efficient. On the beach there were plenty of deckchairs with sun parasols, beach towels were plentiful and there was an area which was shaded by trees which was very nice. The sea was very clear and was excellent for snorkeling. The aquapark was amazing with numerous large water slides. There were free canoes which the kids liked. It is easily accessible to public buses which are very efficient and cheap.
The entertainment in the evening is very basic, but the children had a laugh.
The only downside of the hotel is the food and alcoholic drinks. The meat available almost always was processed meatballs or kebabs which we found awful. We do like Turkish food but the food in the hotel was exceptionlly poor quality. There were some stews, again we found the meat inedible. One would expect much better food in a 3* hotel. The food hygiene was not good. Lot of people were touching the food which the other people had to eat.
The breakfast on the other hand was very nice, the freshly baked bread and the omelets were gorgeous. The salads was also fine. During the last week we went to eat out almost every day as we could not stand the evening meal. With £3-4 pound you can buy a very good meal. The specialty restaurant were not much better with the exception of the Italian which was OK. It is a pity as the restaurants have superb surrounding. The alcoholic drinks were also very poor with the exception of the beer which was fine,
I would only consider going in the hotel on a bed and breakfast basis as the environment and location are superb. It is a real pity that the food let it so down as otherwise it is a superb hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

We booked this hotel by booking.com, and the first bad experience was when we arranged the transfer from the airport. Our plane was delayed so we called the hotel to inform about it .Before we found somebody who speeks English , they transfered us trow at lest five persons. All of them just pretended to speak but if we asked any more complicated question , they transfered to another person and the situation repeated. Exactly the same situation we had later during the stay, people in the reception are not speaking English, but the worst thing is that they are just pretending to speak .
Hotel has very big attitude between sea level and the rooms and the bungalows, It would be ok if they would not use the small car for transportation of the clients. Cars were terribly noisy (engine sounds like the shooting from the machine gun) and they were driving whole the night , so at least 3 - 4 time per night you have a small war out of your window.
Restaurant was big , but only one place to take food so there were terrible cue. The same story with the drinks. But the worst thing was the food quality , sometimes there was noting to eat. There are 4 or 5 a'la cart restaurants , but first you have to stay minimum one hour cue to book it (you may book only for one day) and than the quality of the food was also not very good, especially in the Italian restaurant .
Hotel is relatively big but there is only one toilet on the beach , so if you have a necessity at aqua park you have to go min 500 m to reach toilet !
The same story with the shower , theoretically there is a shower with the beach volleyball place but it was completely out of order .
And at the last aqua park , very nice but due to unknown reason always only half of the slides were opened.
The positive thing was free min bar in the room

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011 via mobile

I travelled to the Onyria Claros with my daughter for a weeks holiday on the 15th of august and my only regret is that i didn't book 2 weeks. Quite simply it was fantastic for both of us, the room, the staff and the location were spot on. My daughter especially enjoyed the aqua park with 8 slides and numerous pools to keep us both entertained. The food was great, with a large and diverse selection available. All in all we had a brilliant time and will be back. P.s. I have noticed that some of the reviews on here have complained about the long walks and hilly terrain, do these people not do research before they book holidays?

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011 via mobile

I had a very pleasant stay. Especially very childfriendly. Hospitable and friendly staff

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

The most compelling story for this resort is that it's in a great location, the facility is gorgeous and comfortable, has spectacular views all around, has enough activities and amenities to entertain or wear you out, the food selection is diverse and the staff go out of their way to make you feel at home. Most of the resorts in the area are all inclusive or half board so if you plan to do that this one has several dining venues as opposed to just one or two, has an awesome waterpark and is a large beautiful place one would find hard to get bored of during your stay.

As you drive along the hairpin curved coastline road on your way to this resort, the spectacular vista is interrupted by the more impressive view of this resort as you round the last curve. It was exciting and relieving at the same time given our long journey half way around the world. The facility is clean and elegant, and if you chose to spend your entire time there it would be time well spent.

We chose to use it as a base from which we would make day trips to area sights. We rented a car and explored Kusadasi, Ephesus, Selcuk, Priene, Afrodisias. There's so much more to see if you have time and energy - Bergamum, Izmir, Didyma....Troy, Pammukale, Hierapolis, Bodrum.... Driving in the area is easy with a good map. Parking at the resort is valet - very convenient.

I enjoyed coffee early each morning on the Tamarind verandah reading and looking over the Aegean sea at the Greek Isle of Samos a couple of miles to the West and Kusadasi to the South. Later I would be joined by my family as we ate a leisurely breakfast each morning and hit the road by noon - explored and ate outside of the resort all but one day. The resort is located in the perfect location to be away from the Kusadasi tourist mayhem, but central to many must-see sights. The waterpark is great fun; there are some slides that definitely brought the kid out in me! There is something to eat and drink at anytime. Beer was available just about everywhere - I just wish it was served colder. The village of Ozdere is perfect for dining at family owned and operated restaurants and casual roaming. Evenings are serene with the distant Kusadasi light show and sea breeze.

While the complaints about the general buffet are somewhat founded, I didn't find them that bad. The breakfast buffet selection was vast - made to order omelets to some of the best olive mezes we had in Turkey. It's hard to beat breakfast while sitting high above and overlooking the Aegean. The one dinner we had at the Teos restaurant was excellent - food, service and sitting outside enjoying the breeze and the ocean view. The line to sign up that morning was not 45minutes as mentioned in another post.

It seemed as if we were the only English speaking people at the facility which made the stay that much more exotic. It was striking to me how similar people are all over the world. Again, our excursions gave us the opportunity to compare this resort to others along the coast, and we found this place to have the best blend of location, premises and activities. I hope you find this brief review as helpful as I have found others input!

Room Tip: The Villas look like a great option, but the main hotel rooms are more convenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

As many reviewers have observed, the physical location of this hotel is stunning and the beach is beautiful. The actual experience of staying there, however, is probably not for everyone and independent Western travelers may be quite disappointed in the value for money. (Many if not most of the guests appeared to be on package tours, mostly from Azerbaijan, Belarus and Ukraine, and were clearly not payng the rate offered to solo travelers on the hotel website.) In my experience Turkish hospitality and cuisine is among the best in the world, but this hotel is far more Eastern European than Turkish in almost every way - except for the individual, non-management members of staff, who are (as in most places in Turkey) uniformly gracious, hard-working and eager to please. The quality of the food is really not very good at all, and the main restaurant itself is almost unbearably loud and uncomfortable. The only way to avoid eating in that facility is to join a long 30-45 minute queue every morning at about 9:30 am, when dinner reservations are taken for the smaller and more pleasant satellite restaurants. The hotel rooms themselves are smallish and sparsely furnished, and the mattresses are almost rock-hard and (oddly) are furnished only with folded towels instead of sheets. Although we ordered an airport transfer upon arrival, it never came, and days later the front desk delayed our check-out and almost caused us to miss our outbound flight while debating whether or not the charge for the non-existant transfer could be removed from our bill. Although we enjoyed the beach facilities and the proximity to wonderful, amazing Ephesus, travelers should know what awaits them here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Onyria Claros Beach & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onyria Claros Beach & Spa Resort

Address: Cumhuriyet Mahallesi | Izmir Caddesi No 104, Ozdere 35495, Turkey (Formerly Carpe Diem)
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Ozdere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ozdere
#4 Spa Hotel in Ozdere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Onyria Claros Beach & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
.Onyria Claros Beach & Spa Resort locates just near the Claros antique city that is one of 12 cities of the Ion civilization in the Aegean.Our hotel, on a 93 acre area which is situated on a hillside that completely embraces the sea and possesses all the beauties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Onyria Claros Beach & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onyria Claros Beach And Spa Resort
Onyria Claros Beach Hotel Ozdere
Carpe Diem Claros Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Onyria Claros Beach & Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.