We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, nice hotel, awful service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Bastiglia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added La Bastiglia to your Saves list
La Bastiglia
Piazza Vallegloria, 7, 06038 Spello, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Spello
Moncton, New Brunswick Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great view, nice hotel, awful service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2008

The view is spectacular, and the rooms were big with nice bathrooms and decent terrace. Food is very expensive at the Micheline Star rated restaurant. Much better dining available in Spello for the money (try the Drinking Wine Enoteca Wine Bar...fabulous)

The rooms had no air conditioning and the pool had no water in it when we arrived. We immediately asked to have this situation remediated but they kept saying "Maybe tomorrow". It never happened. The lady at the front desk was not very helpful with information on local attractions and activities nor with our a/c and pool situation.

We stayed in Italy for 16 days and all four of us felt that this hotel was the only one were we got "taken" as to the price and service. Spello itself proved to be one of our better stops in Italy...stayed for 3 nights unfortunately we stayed at the Basiglia which left a sour taste in our mouths.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The service
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    57
    24
    27
    8
See reviews for
21
109
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2008

La Bastiglia is located on the top of Spello town, so you have to be fairly mobile if you plan to walk into town and back. Bonus is that there's free parking next to the hotel (ask for a parking permit from reception).
Our room was big and clean, with doors that opened onto the shared terrace for a pretty view (if you ignored the pool with its pond water... but it was winter, no one was going to be using it). Small TV, writing desk with stationery, heated floor outside the bathroom, heated towel rack, enclosed shower over the bathtub.
Reception staff were friendly and helpful, they printed out the train schedules for us and also gave us driving instructions to nearby towns.
The restaurant serves delightful (but expensive) meals, waiters were very pleasant and you got little extras with your meal (eg petits fours) - we ate there twice during our stay!
All in all, a tranquil location overlooking the Umbrian countryside, good rooms, with an excellent on-site restaurant. Cost was 100 Euros/night for a superior double room (Feb 2008).

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2007

I have stayed at La Bastiglia a few times and have never been dissapointed. The location and the views are breathtaking. The food is out of this world, the Chef Marco truly deserves his Michelin star. One tip, if you are thinking of staying here, ask for a room in the newer part of the hotel, below the dining area. The rooms are bigger and some have a little patio area. Excellent hotel, food, and staff.

  • Liked — Views and food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro CA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2007

Spello was a wonderful discovery for us...we knew we wanted to be somewhere central to the sights of Umbria including Assisi, and we'd been told about La Bastiglia by a friend who guides bicycle tours in Italy and France. We were not prepared for the level of luxury nor the fine food available there. The restaurant was truly a gem and we had one of our finest meals in all of Italy there..(its Guide Michelin rating was one star). Our jr suite had a spectacular view of the valley and the furnitrue and fixtures were top quality. There is plenty of on site parking (rare in the Italian hill towns) and I don't think they charged anything. despite what you might see in other reviews, you could do a lot worse that La Bastiglia, and Spello.

  • Liked — The views, the spacious rooms and of course the food (breakfast was very good too)
  • Disliked — The hotel was at the top of the hill above most of the town, so we walked up and down a lot
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohnert Park, Ca.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2006

Well I visited in May 2005. We spent 10 days in Umbria. Our travel agent arranged for this hotel. It never had hot water, air condition never worked, and the "swimming pool" was empty when we arrive. The food provided for breakfast was very limited. The woman at the front desk that others mentioned...will not go away, she is the owner. All the other hotels in town are far better. We checked out the other hotels in town...and each one was superior to La Bastiglia. You can get much better accomadations in Spello. I urge you to. Enjoy the beautiful country.
Ciao, Patrizia

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2005

I was very impressed by the amount of antiques in and around the hotel. Tasfully decorated to reflect the period in which it was built (almost)! What an experience having dinner on the balcony, the food was excellent, shame about the old woman on the desk, who does'nt seem to want guests, they need to change her!Will defnitely return.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2005

Spello is a superb base for travelers in Umbria and La Bastiglia is one of the better choices in the town, the other being Palazzo Bocci. La Bastiglia, however, offers rooms about 30% less than the Palazzo, which may well make the difference. The hotel is located at the back end of Spello and parking is usually, but not always, readily available. The lobby and common areas are attractive. The pool, which is allegedly heated, was cold when we were there and did not appear to get much use. The guest rooms are adequately spacious, but not particularly luxurious. The balconies of the superior doubles are shared, with hedges providing limited privacy. Breakfast is served outside looking a magnificent hillside. The breakfast itself was skimpy, surprising in view of the fact that the hotel's restaurant holds one star from Michelin. The staff was friendly enough and we're comfortable suggesting that others stay here, but it's less than outstanding.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Bastiglia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bastiglia

Address: Piazza Vallegloria, 7, 06038 Spello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Spello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Spello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Bastiglia restaurant hotel in Spello is mentioned among the most important gastronomic and hotel guides (one star in the Michelin Guide). It is located at the foot of Subasio Mountain, the enchanted mount of San Francis. Here love and wisdom have transformed, like magic, an ancient mill into the Hotel Restaurant la Bastiglia, an unforgettable place, were customers are welcomed as friends, and may find modern comforts and ancient atmospheres. There are 33 rooms divided into three categories, looking at the Umbrian landscape, characterized by the cypress tree green-black colour and the olive trees green-grey colour. The restaurant, expresses the typical Umbrian dishes with ancient recipes and modern creations using highly selected foods; this is the meeting-place of international customers. Inside la Bastiglia hotel restaurant there are some important collection of ceramics, antique furniture and important paintings from the private collection of Schifano and Norberto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your La Bastiglia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bastiglia Spello
La Bastiglia Hotel Spello

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Bastiglia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.