We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but needs some love” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Bastiglia

Save Saved
You added La Bastiglia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Bastiglia
via Dei Molini 7, 06038 Spello, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 hotels in Spello
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good value but needs some love”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Great location in Spello. Had a bit of glamour, but although staff sweet were not customer focused - lots of popping out for ciggies and chatting together rather than providing excellent service. Pool really grim. But all there if someone took control - rooms nice, wonderful views and potentially smart atmosphere. Would still probably stay there if visited Spello as location could not be better.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    45
    18
    24
    8
See reviews for
16
86
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I'm a person who traveling a lot in the World, so why I discovering that wanderfulll place"La Bastiglia" in Spello where I spent a lovely week-end . The hotel have 4 shining stars and the restaurant gave you a most original Italian taste of Umbrian cuisine. I say hallo to the owner Luca and my friend doctor Stefanescu wishing you all the best !

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

As we had a dinner date with friends in Spello and had booked a concert in Assisi we decided to stay in Spello. We did not have a booking anywhere so walked into La Bastiglia and try our luck. We were offered a room and breakfast for 80 Euro, we looked at each other and both thought for a 4 star this was a good price and we would enjoy it. The receptionist gave us a voucher for free parking in the nearby small square, and we were lucky to find a free bay. Otherwise we would have to use the hotel's undercover parking at charge. We were accompanied to the Ambra room on the first floor via a narrowish staircase (it appears there is no lift) and upon opening the door we could immediately smell stale cigarette. Indeed when we opened the curtains and the shutters to look at the beautiful valley, there was a cigarette butt in a flower pot just near the window on the tiled roof. Decor is contemporary and we loved the heated bathroom floor. The bathroom was a good size and had courtesy toiletries and hairdryer. But the bad surprise came went we went to bed that night - a badly sagging mattress, especially on one side. You would not expect this in a 4 star hotel. If we had discovered it earlier we would have asked for a different room. We did not stay here for dinner because we knew the famous chef had moved away to a restaurant in Terni.
A young staff member did provide assistance with Google map directions to Bosco di San Francesco which we appreciated.
The next morning we left at 7.45am (we had paid the night before), and noted there were no staff on duty. Breakfast was offered from 8am to 10am. We also think breakfast timing should be more flexible, again for a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We liked this hotel. It was clean and nicely appointed. The staff were a bit reserved but were still helpful and accommodating. The views are wonderful. The hotel is at the top of Spello so there is a lot of uphill walking and the streets are very steep. We used the hotel as a base for day trips to other parts of Umbria - Assisi, Spoleto, Perugia. It was very relaxing to sit on the wide terrace with a cool drink after our daily exertions. We didn't eat at the restaurant but breakfast was good - typical continental breakfast with fresh croissants, bread rolls, juices, pastries, meat, cheese, etc. I'd certainly stay there again - if I had a car!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We love Spello and wanted to try a different hotel. La bastiglia looked really good and it has a pool which we were keen on. OveralL the hotel is nice, fairly clean and the Locatin is very good, with great views onto the valley and hills beyond (from rooms and the pool also). However as others have said, this doesnt feel like a 4 star hotel and I think the main let down is the staff. You could probably overlook other things if the staff acted like they cared, in particular we had a young guy 'greet' us who didn't seem to care about much, didn't give us any information about the hotel, facilities... Didn't tell us about the hotels supposedly good restaurant (we read about this separately). We also had terrible trouble parking our car which we didn't receive any assistance with either. I'm bothering to write such a lengthy review as I think the hotel could be a lot better with some tweaks to the way guests are treated etc... And by not just relying on the fact they have a great location in a great and a,axing Italian town such as Spello. at the moment it feels over priced for what it is and not sure I'd go back without knowing it had improved.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We dined in summer 2011 at La Bastiglia on a day trip to Spello. Afterwards we promised to return & stay at the hotel...which we did last week. Spello is the quintessential Italian Hill Town and its narrow alleys are all flowerbox lined & pristine. Because Spello is small, most tourists are day tourists. La Bastiglia is located at the upper end of the city and away from the main tourist street, Via Cavour. Therefore, La Bastiglia commands a quiet perch looking out toward the mountains with the valley below. It's a bit dicey driving a rental car up into Spello to La Bastiglia (the smaller the rental car the better), but once you arrive, parking is free & easy. We had our daughter with us, so the fact that La Bastiglia has a wonderful pool that overlooks the valley made this a nice place to slow down & relax after touring around the larger cities of Umbria. If you're tired of watching tour bus after tour bus pull into Florence or Siena or Assisi, I suggest a night or 2 in Spello to remind you why Italy is such a wonderful family oriented place to vacation.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Junior Suite Ariana which has the BEST terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

The place is not a 4 stars. Rooms was not so confortable due to a bad fustiness. You sleep on twin bat you pay for a double. During our holiday, 2 days, we had a issue with the showers and no one help us to solve the problem in a reasonable time.
We also decided to make our dinner but the menu was to continental with dishes not local, to expensive and to much time to eat.
We are not happy for this place!

Room Tip: When you ask for a room remember to choose one of not near the street rooms. The deluxe room is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Bastiglia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bastiglia

Address: via Dei Molini 7, 06038 Spello, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Spello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 hotels in Spello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Bastiglia restaurant hotel in Spello is mentioned among the most important gastronomic and hotel guides (one star in the Michelin Guide). It is located at the foot of Subasio Mountain, the enchanted mount of San Francis. Here love and wisdom have transformed, like magic, an ancient mill into the Hotel Restaurant la Bastiglia, an unforgettable place, were customers are welcomed as friends, and may find modern comforts and ancient atmospheres. There are 33 rooms divided into three categories, looking at the Umbrian landscape, characterized by the cypress tree green-black colour and the olive trees green-grey colour. The restaurant, expresses the typical Umbrian dishes with ancient recipes and modern creations using highly selected foods; this is the meeting-place of international customers. Inside la Bastiglia hotel restaurant there are some important collection of ceramics, antique furniture and important paintings from the private collection of Schifano and Norberto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your La Bastiglia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bastiglia Spello
La Bastiglia Hotel Spello

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Bastiglia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.