We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel in charming town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Bocci

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo Bocci to your Saves list
Palazzo Bocci
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cavour, 17, 06038 Spello, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Spello
Singapore
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
197 hotel reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
509 helpful votes 509 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel in charming town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

After an uneventful two nights stay in Trevi, we arrived at around 9am in Spello. The Palazzo Bocci is indeed located in among the best location for sightseeing. Our suite was not ready as the hotel is fully booked the night before, we set off to explore Spello and returned around noon.

As guide books has described, Spello is indeed one charming hill top Umbrian town. Almost every house has some form of plotted plants, it is as though all house owners in Spello has an unanimous agreement among themselves - to make their houses as charming as possible!

Our chosen suite, room 101, is probably the biggest in the Hotel. Its sitting room is huge, with frescoed ceilings and a marble fireplace, is facing the main road of Spello, Via Cavour. At first, I was a tad worried about possible noise, but fret not, the small frescoed bedroom, being separated from the sitting room, is cleverly well insulated. In the bathroom, there was a jacuzzi and good range of toiletries.

Like Spello, the common areas of the Hotel is indeed very charming and quite classy - big breakfast area, adjoining computer area, courtyard with fountain, hanging garden, pockets of sitting area etc Once you are in the common areas of the Hotel, you would feel that what you pay for staying here is indeed quite worth it.

But when it comes to our suite, in fact, we were less than pleased - the bed on the right side (facing window) sagged quite badly in the middle; an old 20" TV in the bedroom area but no TV in the huge sitting room!; no slippers provided here; plastic cups instead of glass cups; no English channel on TV; Wi-fi only in common areas; useless hairdryer; poor breakfast for a 4 star hotel; most expensive in our Umbrian trip of 6 hotels.

We strongly felt that unless you have 3 or 4 travelling together, it is pointless to book a huge suite since there is no TV in the sitting area. Though the room was less than par, the staff, esp. Ms Greta was very helpful and professional indeed. She had helped to highlight our possible train mis-connection to Gubbio the next day and helped arrange a taxi transfer at 80 euros instead - grazie mille, Greta!

A final word on the Hotel's associated restaurant, Il Molino. We thought it too overrated - the place is over crowded, served by only 2 persons. My funghi tagliatelle was inedible as the pasta is too HARD but the award winning beef pie was nice, but not that spectacular. Basically, a tourist trap. Do enjoy Spello, a one night stay is just right to see all the sights.

Room Tip: Either choose a Junior suite or a double room overlooking the hills. Ask for a small terrace, if pos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    53
    17
    12
    4
See reviews for
21
76
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed here 5 nights in mid April. The hotel is right in the centre of Spello - a little hard to find by car the first time, but in a great location once you arrive and very comfortable. Parking nearby in public carpark. Reasonable breakfast. Comfortable room in traditional style with nice views ( but not all rooms have views). A great base to explore Spello and Umbria ( there's an autostrada entrance to the main north-south autostrada just a few minutes away, so quick to get to Spoleto, Assissi, Perugia, etc.). Spello is a great town to explore on foot (so long as you're fit!!).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We have stayed at the Palazzo on 3 different trips since my family does not live to far form Spello. The hotel has always been comfortable and relaxing along with friendly and assisting staff. The townis really nice to walk around even though its small and has no real attractions but great food. The restaurant that is hiddenon the north end of the towen and overlooks the valley into the mts is an amazingly great experience. I wont name the restauarnt because (like us) You have to find it. Ask the taxi driver who sits in the center of Spello, he will lead you there and is a valuable person to get to know.
I highly recommend the Palazzo and the town of Spello alongh with a trip to Assisi

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We spent six nights at the Palazzo Bocci in Spello and had mixed feelings about the hotel. First of all, our room and our bathroom were spacious, comfortable, and clean. That's really important. However, other aspects of the hotel did not appear to be up to 4-star standards. The people at the front desk were not well-trained and spoke limited English. The charge for Wi-Fi was minimal, but shouldn't it be free at a 4-star hotel? (It worked only intermittently anyway.) The breakfast room was very pleasant, but the buffet was uninspired, with a number of prepackaged foods--and no fresh fruit or juice.

On the other hand, we found Spello to be a charming little village and a perfect location for taking day trips around Umbria, which is really just as pretty as Tuscany, without quite so many tourists.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

This was the least impressive hotel during our entire trip to Italy. The rooms were small and dark. At breakfast time they had run out of bread, and the Italian who made the coffee at breakfast time should be ashamed of themselves. It's shaby and dated. And interestingly, of all the hotels I booked through a hotel booking site, this was the only one they didn't ask me to complete a survey for (and the only one we would never return to)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We stayed at Palazzo Bocci for 3 nights in July. The hotel was quaint and the overall service was good. The location was great. We had a quick ride to Assisi for a day trip and also took a wine tour. The hotel helped arrange both activities and we had no issues. The A/C in the room wasn't great - we were hot, but I think this is the norm for Italy. We experienced poor A/C in other hotels in Italy, so I think this is the norm.

Our first morning, I woke up with the sun at 5:30 am. Breakfast service didn't start until 7 am. The gentleman at the front desk took pity on me and made me some coffee. Special thanks to him for his service and flexibility!

As a traveler with a bad back (disk degeneration), I am particular about comfort! The bed wasn't so comfortable, but it was doable. I did bring my own travel pillow as I have found hotel pillows in general to be too soft. I used the hotel pillows under my knees and it helped serve as a decent bolster, although they were soft.

The breakfast is typical continental - it was average. The service was good. We walked to restaurants and shops with ease. I would stay here again. The location was great and the town was very charming!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

After a 14 day driving tour of Italy Spello was meant to be one of the highlights. Spello itself suffers from a "through traffic" situation that has visitors and residents alike speeding through the narrow streets which completely detracts from the towns ambiance. It is a good base to explore the more beautiful towns around it but why not stay in one of those instead?
The hotel itself is tired with simple things like light bulbs not replaced, bathroom hairdryers not working, dirty plastic flowers on breakfast room tables, and poorly trained reception and dining staff.
This property is overpriced for what it offers.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Bocci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Bocci

Address: Via Cavour, 17, 06038 Spello, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Spello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Spello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Bocci 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Bocci, which opened as a hotel in 1992, has paintings by Benvenuto Crispoldi and an architectural style that is enlivened by in-between floors, split-levels and niches. The building offers its guests surroundings and rooms that evoke an atmosphere of rare beauty, such as the fountain at the entrance, the hanging garden with two century-old palm trees, the spectacular Hall of Frescoes, the rooms, the luxurious suites, plus views and hidden corners that the Hotel Palazzo Bocci jealously preserves as if they were a treasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Palazzo Bocci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Bocci Spello
Palazzo Bocci Hotel Spello

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Bocci, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.