We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It doesn't Deserve a Michelin Star” 3 of 5 stars
Review of la bastiglia

la bastiglia
Via Salnitraria, 15, Spello, Italy
0742651277
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 44 Restaurants in Spello
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: you have the hotel but they also have a restaurant worth of note
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“It doesn't Deserve a Michelin Star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Five friends went to this restaurant for lunch with high expectations of experiencing wonderful food and service. What a disappointment! The service was rude, impatient ( and we were their only guests) and arrogant. In 4 weeks in Italy this was the only time I experienced such unpleasant service. The meal varied from ordinary: lamb chops, fried rice and sushi( which was being pushed that day) to very good: pigeon, pasta with tartufo. The wine list was very good and we had 2 excellent Sagrantino wines. Given the unpleasant service and the inconsistent quality of the food plus the high prices, I would not recommend it. It certainly does not hold to the high standard of a 1 Michelin starred restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    21
    10
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Bad food, poor service should not be rated as a Guide Michelin star restaurant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

It took almost an hour to get the apetaiser and then 15 Moore minutes for the pasta and another 10 minutes for the main course..... Generally poor service... The food was not as well as we hoped
The specialties sample was terrible
2 slides of bread with feags compot 3 slices of Parma hamn and 3 slices of melon ( was ok)
All this for 12 €!!!!!
The pasta was ok (Vongole)
The main course!!!!!! A bit of meat whit a few tasteless potatoes .... Not worth the 18 € at all
Michelin guide should reconsidered the one star they gave to this place

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayreuth
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bad day”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We were very disappointed by La Bastiglia Restaurant, they did not have one of their best days. Only the scallops on creamed goat cheese sauce did match our expectations. But a charred toast, black side down and pasta with truffles cream sauce instead of truffle slices is not worth a star. Besides portions are small; and when “contorni” are included in a dish, you expect something else than two halves of a very small onion and three tiny cherry tomatoes.
Besides, at two neighboring tables we noticed, that courses were not brought at the same time for everybody, also not star worthy.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great food, amazing view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

This restaurant is the bistro part of a Michelin style restaurant in Spello and was recommended to us by locals as great value for money. They were right! Relaxed setting with outdoor seating overviewing the entire valley and mountains beyond. The food was excellent, very local, the wine was really good and our waiter who also prepared the dishes was very friendly and also extremely professional.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great view, eat at the osteria, not restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

We arrived on a Wednesday evening after a hot day of travel. We walked all around Spello before settling on the Osteria for its beautiful outdoor patio setting overlooking the valley. A spectacular setting!

The restaurant is closed on Wednesdays but the osteria is open...and we were very glad. Prices were so reasonable on wine as well as the various courses. We used the osteria menu, where most courses were priced at about 10 euros. The 4 of us ate for about 140 euros, including 2 bottles of reasonable and delicious wine.

Make certain to get to there before the sun sets...and have your camera ready. Eat, drink and drink in the view.\

Unfogettable.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed la bastiglia also viewed

Spello, Province of Perugia
 
Spello, Province of Perugia
Spello, Province of Perugia
 

Been to la bastiglia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage la bastiglia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.