We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cantina

La Cantina
Via Cavour , 2, 06038 Spello, Italy
39 0742 651775
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 41 Restaurants in Spello
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excelent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We had a really good experience at this Restaurant. The Food was really good, from the entrees until the dessert.
The staff very kind with a special and positive to the waitress Sil that was very Nice and atencious.
I strongly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    192
    45
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Apart from the fact that you are visiting a gem of town in Umbria, this restaurant is certainly one on your "to do list"
The atmosphere is of fine dining without the stuffiness. Great decor. My selection of food was delectable. Service was attentive and on the ball without being overbearing. Great selection of wine and a great view to what's happening in the kitchen.
Definitely a must eat there when visiting the beautiful town of Spello

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Went there twice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The food and atmosphere were striking. There is indoor and outdoor seating, and both offer beauty and atmosphere. We chose inside because of the lovely furnishings - elegant yet rustic at at the same time. We enjoyed local pasta dishes, as well as appetizers that ranged from delicate slices of local salamis and fresh cheeses to crunchy bruschetta and grilled vegetables. Spello is a beautiful town, filled with narrow cobbled streets and hills that help you work up an appetite. Wines featuring the grapes of Umbria added a magical touch to our meals.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Local Umbrian cuisine at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

If you park in the top part of Spello in the Piazza del Republica, this gem of a restaurant is 100 metres away. Inside, its arched ceilings resemble an ancient crypt and the well proportioned owner provides a warm welcome. We had several delicious low cost pasta dishes - spinach and ricotta ravioli in tomato sauce, unbelievable omelette with plenty of black truffle and tagliatelle with truffle, olive oil and parmesan. If you are visiting Spello or just passing, La Cantina is an absolute must.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unexpected pleasure in beautiful little town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

At the suggestion of our Assisi tour guide, we drove over to Spello to have a look. Not only is this town just gorgeous, but this little restaurant proved to be an unexpected pleasure. We hadn't even planned to have lunch, and walking by saw the menu we both though looked good. Inside we were surprised at the ancient and interesting construction inside. Also, as a gluten free traveler I was catered to and assured that everything I could order would be safe, and turned out, also, delicious. My husband ordered a truffle-laced frittata - I was jealous I hadn't ordered it too. The flavors were wonderful. The proprietor was attentive, spoke plenty of English for these non-Italian speaking travelers, and I will also add, the bathrooms were pretty and clean too!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cantina also viewed

Spello, Province of Perugia
Spello, Province of Perugia
 
Spello, Province of Perugia
 

Been to La Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.