We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Purely Delightful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Gue du Holme

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Le Gue du Holme to your Saves list
Le Gue du Holme
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 rue des Estuaires | Saint Quentin sur le Homme, 50220 Saint-Quentin-sur-le-Homme, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Amesbury, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Purely Delightful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Aline and Dany Pignot at Le Gue du Holme. Aline greeted us upon our arrival and made us feel so at home. (She was very kind to converse with me in French, which I haven't used for 40+, even though she spoke excellent English.) Our room was very comfortable, with a lovely view of the back garden. The dinner prepared for us in the cozy diningroom was absolutely fabulous, finished off with the most amazing Crepes Suzettes prepared at our table by Aline. Merci, merci, merci beaucoup!!! They were out of this world! It is a great location for anyone visiting Mont Saint Michel, which we did, as it was only a short car trip away. We understand that the Tour de France goes right by their front door too! Breakfast was very nice in the morning....the eggs were cooked to order! Once again, Aline was taking care of us. I don't think this woman every sleeps!!! She was the consumate hostess and we would highly suggest this restaurant/hotel to anyone fortunate enough to be traveling in this area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    25
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
84
1
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Estepona, Spain
Top Contributor
327 reviews 327 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 177 cities Reviews in 177 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Excellent service and treatment one seldom receives in other hotels.The new owners refurbished the hotelthree years ago, which still is a work in progress. Owned and managed by a mature very professional couple in the branch. Attention is paid to every very minute detail, as both are obviously perfectionists. The hotel is well-organized, friendly, and safe location. You’ll feel at home immediately. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Good location, some 15 minutes drive to Mt St Michel. Quite big rooms, everything freshly renovated and very clean. A pleasure to stay there, but as we were on a road trip we only stayed one night.
Parking available in the back with doors leading right to the hotel.
Very nice and helpful owners. We arrived quite late at night and it wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here while on a 6 week tour of France as it was close to Mont St Michel. It was a pleasure to stay at, a peaceful village and not far from the bustle of Mont St Michel. The room was quiet, spotlessly clean and very nicely decorated. The staff were very helpful and spoke good English. As their restaurant was closed for the evening, they recommended a delightful alternative in a nearby village. Parking was on site.We have no trouble with recommending this hotel . Excellent value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We booked a four night stay here in late August as a mini holiday before getting the ferry back to Ireland after a road trip to Germany.

The hotel is in a small quiet rural village, which may not suit everyone, but it is well positioned for visiting Mont St Michel, St. Malo and numerous lovely Normandy towns and villages.

It is a family run business as mentioned in some of the other reviews, and the owners are truly hospitable and helpful people.

Our bedroom was most comfortable. Yes, both bedroom and bathroom are on the small side, but fine for a few days' stay.

The restaurant is a real highlight, and I can only echo the other positive reviews in relation to the food, service and value for money. Superb.

Breakfast is also excellent, with the emphasis on quality local products.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

One of the best experiences we had in France. The restaurant was first rate, the service terrific, and the rooms large an comfortable. IT was an easy drive to Le Mont St. Michel, and we wish we could have spent more time at this hotel and eaten more than one meal. A terrific place, and they went out of their way to handle our places. Definitely five stars to us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Le Gue du Holme is a hidden gem & cerainly worth a visit. After a hectic day at Mont St Michel we enjoyed a lovely stay with a truely beautiful meal in the hotels restaurant. Rooms are well presented & yes as previous reviews state the bathrooms are on the small size but very clean & more than adequate for an overnight stay. The key for me however was in the service, staff are friendly & very helpful with all requests / questions. The restaurant is also very very good & we enjoyed a beautifully presented 4 course menu for 36 euros which I would of happily paid double for. The food was fresh with great flavours, prawns followed by fab Seabass, cheese & a melt in the middle chocolate pudding all with excellent service & a decent bottle of Loire red wine. We did hear the church bells (briefly) but I'd recommend a glass of Calvados Brandy to ease! Breakfast is again well presented with plenty of choice & a warm welcome. We would certainly advise a night at the Le Gue du Holme, a small family run hotel with excellent standards, good food & a view of Mont St Michel!! We'll certainly be returning next year which is always a good recommendation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Gue du Holme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Gue du Holme

Address: 14 rue des Estuaires | Saint Quentin sur le Homme, 50220 Saint-Quentin-sur-le-Homme, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Saint-Quentin-sur-le-Homme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Saint-Quentin-sur-le-Homme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Gue du Holme 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Le Gue du Holme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Gue du Holme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.