We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Gue du Holme

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Le Gue du Holme to your Saves list
Le Gue du Holme
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 rue des Estuaires | Saint Quentin sur le Homme, 50220 Saint-Quentin-sur-le-Homme, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“True Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We booked a four night stay here in late August as a mini holiday before getting the ferry back to Ireland after a road trip to Germany.

The hotel is in a small quiet rural village, which may not suit everyone, but it is well positioned for visiting Mont St Michel, St. Malo and numerous lovely Normandy towns and villages.

It is a family run business as mentioned in some of the other reviews, and the owners are truly hospitable and helpful people.

Our bedroom was most comfortable. Yes, both bedroom and bathroom are on the small side, but fine for a few days' stay.

The restaurant is a real highlight, and I can only echo the other positive reviews in relation to the food, service and value for money. Superb.

Breakfast is also excellent, with the emphasis on quality local products.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    29
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
94
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

One of the best experiences we had in France. The restaurant was first rate, the service terrific, and the rooms large an comfortable. IT was an easy drive to Le Mont St. Michel, and we wish we could have spent more time at this hotel and eaten more than one meal. A terrific place, and they went out of their way to handle our places. Definitely five stars to us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Le Gue du Holme is a hidden gem & cerainly worth a visit. After a hectic day at Mont St Michel we enjoyed a lovely stay with a truely beautiful meal in the hotels restaurant. Rooms are well presented & yes as previous reviews state the bathrooms are on the small size but very clean & more than adequate for an overnight stay. The key for me however was in the service, staff are friendly & very helpful with all requests / questions. The restaurant is also very very good & we enjoyed a beautifully presented 4 course menu for 36 euros which I would of happily paid double for. The food was fresh with great flavours, prawns followed by fab Seabass, cheese & a melt in the middle chocolate pudding all with excellent service & a decent bottle of Loire red wine. We did hear the church bells (briefly) but I'd recommend a glass of Calvados Brandy to ease! Breakfast is again well presented with plenty of choice & a warm welcome. We would certainly advise a night at the Le Gue du Holme, a small family run hotel with excellent standards, good food & a view of Mont St Michel!! We'll certainly be returning next year which is always a good recommendation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We had a very warm welcome from the owner and our room was very clean and nicely decorated with a pleasant view over the garden. We unfortunately stayed when the restaurant was closed. However the owners assistance in booking us into another local restaurant was excellent. The owners could not have been more helpful, they genuinely care about their guests and the hotel.

We thought the hotel was extremly good value and we will go back next time we are in the area and look forward to trying the restaurant. We will be recommending Le Gue du Holme to friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed here on a Sunday evening - restaurant closed. Bathroom/toilet extremely cramped - could do with "updating". Bedroom exactly as in pictures of hotel. Nice balcony overlooking garden - receptionist warned us about the church bells ringing at 7.00am on Monday morning which they did (the church is across the road from the hotel) bells rang for 5 minutes and again every hour so no more sleep after a long drive from Spain. Felt hotel overpriced in comparison with others in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

A convenient stopping place on the way to Brittany or the South West, we have been staying at the Gué du Holme and enjoying their excellent cuisine for a number of years. Monsieur & Madame Pignot who now run the hotel, are very welcoming and their restaurant, with its warm winter and airy summer dining rooms, is elegant and relaxing.

The menus are imaginative, fresh and rely on high-quality fish, meat, vegetables and fruit from local producers. The service is friendly and attentive. On our last visit, we had a particularly delicious langoustine risotto followed by sea bass. The rosace de fraises and glace vanille dessert was light, refreshing and a perfect end to an excellent meal.

Our last visit was on August 22nd and was, as usual, a real treat.

Room Tip: This is a small, family run hotel. All the rooms are carpeted, so quiet and face the garden. The re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Everything was perfect!
Our room was spacious and beautiful
The staff was super friendly and helpful. The owner speaks English
We had a fantastic dinner at the hotel restaurant
The breakfast was huge and delicious

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Gue du Holme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Gue du Holme

Address: 14 rue des Estuaires | Saint Quentin sur le Homme, 50220 Saint-Quentin-sur-le-Homme, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Saint-Quentin-sur-le-Homme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Saint-Quentin-sur-le-Homme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Gue du Holme 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Gue du Holme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Gue du Holme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.