We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine over hospitality” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Les Paulands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Les Paulands to your Saves list
Hotel Les Paulands
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aloxe-Corton - BP12, 21550 Ladoix-Serrigny, Beaune, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ladoix-Serrigny
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wine over hospitality”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Totally agreed with Pier O & game007d
The few pictures of the rooms on the webpage are pretty much all that to be qualified as close to what a Chateau hotel's rooms are supposed to look like. The rest of the guest rooms are nothing more than a Kyriad hotels chains. The owner/manager seems more focusing on selling their wine than their hospitality. The room was shabby and unclean ! Awfully unworthy the price. Bear in mind, Only cold water in the morning if you happen to take a shower at the time like most of guests do. A dodgy place in Burgundy ! I would have get a better rooms from ibis budget !

Room Tip: Do not trust their pictures posted online
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    51
    25
    23
    15
See reviews for
18
68
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hotel was okay, and located near to some fine vineyards. Not bad for cycling from, although you had to navigate the main road. This road did generate a lot of noise. The staff were friendly though and the rooms were done very prettily. However, breakfast was only average, with strictly rationed portions and coffee from an automatic machine (this is France after all).

Room Tip: Away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The room (number 7) was very disappointing because it has nothing to do at all with the pictures on their website. Toilet door won't close, very old and cheap toilet model, brown dirt in it. Floor is not even, it is of cheap material and doesn't look clean. Bathroom (separated from toilet) is narrow but seemed clean. The shower is only usable for athletic and thin people.
Food was ok but no regional specialities that we had hoped for were served. The wine was too expensive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ladoix-Serrigny hotels

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

(+) hotel locates next to the motorway. It is convenience to drive to villages between Dijon and Beaune and 5 mins away from highway. It is not so noisy when windows are closed.
(-) Breakfast costs 13 Euro/person, but there is even no egg. One type of cheese, one type of ham...not sufficient verities of foods in way of a basic breakfast standard of a hotel.
(-) room: shower place is very small and extremely low. It is impossible to stand straight when taking shower. The length of bed is short and the feet will be out the bed if you are over 1.75 tall. DIY cabernet. Room facilities are quite old in term of a 3 star hotel standards.
(-) reception is always no person except when you check-in and check-out.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The pluses first - the location if you are travelling north/south through France is very good. It is close the motorway. We found the dinner fine if expensive and the breakfast was excellent. The staff were reasonably friendly but had poor English.
The negatives - just about everything else really. The duplex suite was horrible. We had the suite (two bedrooms) and now I know why there are no photos of the suite on the website. It was frankly depressing. It looked like some well meaning but rather useless do-it-yourselfer had tried to bring parts of it up-to-date but had failed badly. It had a bedroom and bathroom (no toilet) downstairs and a bedroom and toilet upstairs. The upstairs bedroom had an odd seating area with a televison set up on a platform that you had to climb a ladder to get to. The toilet was horrible. The bathroom was the only room that had been refurbished and on the whole it was fine except the flooring was made up of loose wooden decking style tiles which flipped dangerously when you stepped on the edge of one and the ceiling and walls were damp and badly damaged in some areas. The swimming pool was ridiculously cold.
The website is very misleading and I simply cannot believe that this is in the Chateaux and Hotels Collection book which normally had superior accommodation only. The photographs of the bedrooms on the website are nothing like what we expereienced. It was a damp, dull, depressing dump.

Room Tip: Ask for a room specifically photographed for the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

I spent 3 nights in July, as we wanted to visit Brugundy vineyards. The location is great, as it is right at the border of Cote de Nuits and Cote de Beaune. However, after reading the reviews, I was a bit apprehensive. Perhaps because my expectations were already low, my experience ended up being a nice one after all. The hotel's management has clearly heeded the advice and made improvements. The windows in my room had double sheets of glass and it wasn't as noisy as people had complained. The pool was also nice and the kids enjoyed it. Still, there was one problem: it seems understaffed as there seemed to be only person who managed the front desk and also worked at the restaurant before doubling up as the person manning the vineyeard's cave. Be also forewarned: the rooms are not air conditioned (a common theme at many Fench hotels of its ilk), though the blade less fan in our room mostly made up for it.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We spent 2 nights here with another couple. We had gotten a great deal on Groupon. I was nervous about the hotel because of many of the negative reviews.

We had room number 5, a standard twin room, and my friends had room 7, a standard double room. Both rooms were very clean. The beds were fine. The pool area was really nice and we spent a sunny afternoon here lounging after wine tasting. We had dinner in the hotel one night and the food was good. I found breakfast to be fine - nothing special.

The staff at the hotel were all very friendly and helpful.

My only complaint about my stay was that my room faced the main road. Room 5 was very warm and if we opened the windows to get some air, it was horribly loud. Even at 3AM cars still whiz down the road. It felt like they were driving right next to my head! The second night I used earplugs.

I was pleasantly surprised with our stay and found that most of the negative comments of other reviewers were greatly exagerrated. For a short stopover, this hotel is more than adequate - especially considering the price. If you want a clean budget hotel that also a pool area, without spending too much money, this is perfect for you if you're not fussy and picky.

Room Tip: Don't stay in a room facing the main road - or bring earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Les Paulands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Paulands

Address: Aloxe-Corton - BP12, 21550 Ladoix-Serrigny, Beaune, France
Location: France > Burgundy > Cote d'Or > Beaune > Ladoix-Serrigny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ladoix-Serrigny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Les Paulands 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Les Paulands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Les Paulands Ladoix-Serrigny, France - Burgundy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Les Paulands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.