We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over charged and discusting” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Elstree Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Elstree Inn to your Saves list
Elstree Inn
148 - 150 Shenley Road, Borehamwood WD6 1EQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Borehamwood
2 reviews
“Over charged and discusting”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

Terrible that no one was here 24hours if there was a problem the room was in a vile discusting state dont think it was hoovered or polished and bathroom wasnt cleaned properly and the mattress has stains and bed linen was ripped and stained there was thick dust everywhere

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    24
    23
    14
    32
See reviews for
7
17
12
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lowestoft, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I stayed for 1 night to visit the TV studios and it was very convenient for my needs. I was given a free upgrade to a double room on arrival. The young gentleman was very polite and helpful. The room was tidy and had everything I needed. There was plenty of tea and coffee supplies and toiletries if you required them. Overall, I was very pleased and will definitely stay again in the future. A warm welcome and fond farewell from the staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The irish lady in reception was very pleasant, she showed us to our room. The room was basic,clean and tidy. There was tea and coffee making facilities,TV radio, bathroom. The bedding and towels were clean and there were complimentry shampoos, shower gels and soaps. We stayed for 3 nights and it was an enjoyable stay. Being above Wetherspoons was a bonus as they did great breakfasts and meals.Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Perfect place for Olympic stopover. Station 5 mins, London 20mins and Weatherspoons downstairs. Free Parking. Good clean refreshing room and bed linen and towels in good condition. Pleasant and helpful lady on reception. Could not do enough to help.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Rooms were not clean, bathroom was definitely not clean and the ceiling was horrid. Was booked in for a week, cancelled after one night because the room was really horrible. (See Pics) It doesn't look like what you see on the website. Told receptionist that the rooms are dirty and she didn't want to hear any of it and said the rooms are clean to her standards. Had to pay £100 cancellation fee, which was not acceptable. Will not go here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Borehamwood hotels

Cobham, Surrey
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Dirty, smelly run down place managed by the rudest miserable cow you'll be unfortunate enough to meet!
I complained about thR dirty bedding (stains and dirt) and the frayed dirty towel. I was told "what do you expect we're a budget hotel!"
I expect cleanliness...
£45 for the room - Ibis around the corner is the same price and clean!
Fire alarm went of at 4am not allowed back in till 5.05am but as it was a faulty fire panel fire service couldn't do anything so the alarm carried on all night.... Not even an apology from the rude woman...
Only good thing about this hole is the Turkish restaurant opposite! Avoid the Hellstree inn at all costs you'd be more comfy in your car....

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

The room was dirty, somebody had been sick on the floor prior to my occupation and it had not been cleaned up, hair in plugs so water would not go down, could not use shower at peak times, free wifi never worked, situated right above a pub, very noisy.

Staff were unhelpful and uninterested. When I came to check in I was left waiting at the reception desk for more than five minutes while the reception lady finished her conversation and cigarette with her friend. Limited parking.

Room Tip: The only avice would be not to book this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elstree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elstree Inn

Address: 148 - 150 Shenley Road, Borehamwood WD6 1EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Borehamwood
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Borehamwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelBookers and Booking.com so you can book your Elstree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elstree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.