We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid performer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kosk Ocakbasi Grill

Kosk Ocakbasi Grill
40 Shenley Road, Borehamwood, England
02082071755
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 39 Restaurants in Borehamwood
Cuisines: Turkish
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Solid performer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Fast friendly service.

Good portions, decent prices, authentic experience. Little things make a big difference with Turkish places, the chilli sauce lacks freshness and too hot which loses it a couple of points.

The falafel was very good, Tavuk Sis very moist. The Tavuk Kofte a little bland. The rice is fluffy and hot unlike some turk places, and salad as very fresh.

Overall, good solid performance and looking forward to going again.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    24
    12
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Turkish Munch.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Pukka!! Pukka!! Pukka!!
Best Turkish in North London.
I've been there probably 10 times and each time it's consistently good.
My kids love it in there as well.
Cannot fault the food.
Top quality with great service and good value.
The £7.95 2 course lunch special is a must.
Can't beat it.
Kosk I'm with you all the way.
Keep up your standards and I'll keep coming in.
See you all soon
Bubalah

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radlett, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Perfect turkish reataurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Friday we decide to go out again, and have dinner somewhere. After driving about 80 miles, I realized ,I would not like to get involved in a fight over a table on a Friday night somewhere in St.Alabans, or Harpenden. I love these so called restaurants, they can't even sit 20 people, they are constantly full, and even if you can land a table , you are going to be disturbed by the people who sit next to you,or by the people who turn up for their take away.
I think these restaurant owners don't really understand the concept of going to a restaurant. I want privacy, a bit of quiet, don't wanna listen to other-mainly drunken- people's conversation, and definitely do not want to see women embarrassing themselves,because they just had one too many..
Anyway, we finally ended up n Borehamwood, 49 Shenley Rd. Kosk Restaurant.
Recently refurbished to a very high standard, first thing you realize how clean it is. Real flowers on the table, and yes you have enough space around you!
Before we would order , the waiter quickly brought us some olives and bread. Another suprise, the bread is made in the restaurant, and they have their own bread owen as well!!! Very interesting how they grill as well, because they do not use gas, or electric grills, it is the good old charcoal fire !!!! Before anyone would worry, the grill is surrounded by thick glass, so no one can fall into it.
Food. Very similar to Divan, which is just up the road, but a bit different. Good , Honest, simple dishes, but very very tasty.
We don't do lunch menus, so we had 2 Rakis, 2 starters, 2 mains, 2 desserts, and we paid £45!
They do have take away as well, but somehow that doesn't really disturb the diners. And something else. It was around half past nine in the evening, when we turned up, a bit late, but no one turned as away, with the usual excuse that the kitchen is closed, or bla bla bal. I asked the waiter if we should get the food packed , because they are about to close and he said don't worry, just enjoy your food, they can wait. Now this is what I call service!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borehamwood, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“one of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

TYhis is the most excellent true restaurant in Borehamwood and we enjoyed a woinderful meal in the anbience of tghis eating house big portions and excellent waiting staff and the price is very reasonable

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“great lunch deals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

this is a nice new restaurant in the shopping area of borehamwood. It is all clean and new very well refurbished. They offer a lunch menu of 2 courses for £7.95. We had calamari and white bait as our starters. The calamari was the best I have had in years. I followed with mousaka and my husband had the lamb ribs. Both came with salad and rice. Very good value for money. The staff were friendly and the whole experience was good. They brought us turkish bread and olives while we were waiting for the starters and theydid not charge for this. With the bill came turkish delight and bavclava also free of charge. I had a bottle of sparking water £1.50 and enough for 2 glasses and my husband had turkish beer £3.95. We had a cheap filling and very pleasant lunch for under £20. Will go back in the evening and try their main menu. can recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kosk Ocakbasi Grill also viewed

Borehamwood, Hertfordshire
 
Borehamwood, Hertfordshire
Borehamwood, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Kosk Ocakbasi Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kosk Ocakbasi Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.