We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fish and chips in Borehamwood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Plaice

Golden Plaice
132 Shenley Rd | Town Centre, Borehamwood, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 33 restaurants in Borehamwood
Cuisines: English
Restaurant details
Harpenden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips in Borehamwood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Best fish and chips in Borehamwood - been there 25 years. Spotless the fish is always excellent.

As it's right near the East Enders set you'll often find some of the cast there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    21
    6
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best chips in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is where my wife and I go when cooking is no longer looking appealing and we are after some good honest food. We have taken away and eaten in, but always the chips are cooked to perfection and the fish succulent inside yet crispy on the outside.

Writing this I a feeling like a visit now!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best fish n chips in the world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Staff are friendly,food is freshly cooked,chips are the best ever! This place is a gem, highly recommend.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borehamwood, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fish to Die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

George the ownerand staff always polite and the service is so good and everythging is freshy cooked the only restauranr that cooks is matzo meal

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“My family & I are regular customers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The best fish & chips I've ever had. Enormous thick Plaice, juicy and succulant and even a small chips is too much for me. One night I was invited to a relative for dinner but got in fish and chips from this restaurant, and the kids shared a whole Plaice as it was so large and split a small portion of chips. There were 5 of us and it was a great meal yet again. I've even eaten 'in' and same experience, all great.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Plaice also viewed

Borehamwood, Hertfordshire
Borehamwood, Hertfordshire
 
Borehamwood, Hertfordshire
Borehamwood, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Golden Plaice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Plaice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.