We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap and cheerful” 3 of 5 stars
Review of dragon garden

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
dragon garden
146 Shenley Road | Borehamwood, Borehamwood, England
020 8953 7181
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 35 Restaurants in Borehamwood
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“cheap and cheerful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

the only reason to go here is the crispy duck in pancake selection on the buffet. Service is always quite acceptable.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“NEEDS A MAKE OVER”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Tatty inside and staff quite rude.But the food is very good and cheap for what u can have.Crispy pork lovely and the starter section all good, the curry is nearly all veg and not all that.For £6 like the ruce miserable waiter said you dont get a flannel to clean your self with.Maybe you could put it up to£8 and paint the walls and clean the place and give a flannel, you only get what you pay for.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“cheap and cheerful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

a buffet chinese - reasonable food nice bright enviroment
good service and a final bill of £25 for 2
give it a try- its ok

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Does exactly what it says on the tin - Plus the BEST pint in Borehamwood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I use this establishment at least once a month. The buffet is more than adequate, and staff refill it regularly.
If it's late and you're noe of only a few customers then the manager (understandably) will offer an individual table order service (free) rather than refill an entire section of the buffet.
You'll get what you want and this avoids wastage.

The atmosphere is lovely, although the decor is a tad tired in places. However, for the price it's excellent value for money.

The beer on tap here is quite simply the best to be had in Borehamwood. I make this assertion as a local, and having extensively tried all other beverage providers lol!

Nowadays if I'm going out for a few pints I'll go here instead of the pub for a quiet few pints. I'll happily sit and 'graze' for a few hours, popping up for small amounts of food to nibble on as we'll all chat.
Before leaving we'll have the large meal we'd have bought anyway from a 'take-away' after leaving a pub, so it's a win-win for me.

I really enjoy it there. You're never pressured to leave quickly and the service generally is outstanding.

There's also a menu to order food if you don't fancy the buffet. My wife is vegetarian and always orders a vegetable curry - It is delicious, and her favourite 'eat out' meal locally.

Not the 'flashest' eatery in Borehamwood, but the consistency and price make it a worthwhile place to sit, eat and relax.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A first class buffet chinese restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

A really excellent buffet chinese restaurant which doesnt leave you needinng to drink all night afterwards. Hot plates refilled all the time so food not left to stand for long. Lovely pleasant staff - well worth a visit and also they have an a la carte menu

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed dragon garden also viewed

Borehamwood, Hertfordshire
 
Borehamwood, Hertfordshire
Borehamwood, Hertfordshire
 

Been to dragon garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage dragon garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.