We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful - but don't pay too much!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada London North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada London North to your Saves list
Ramada London North
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   M1 Between Jct 2-4 | London Gateway Services, Borehamwood NW7 3HU, England (Formerly Days Hotel London North)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Borehamwood
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful - but don't pay too much!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I have spent god knows how many nights at this hotel, staff are all friendly, food is average and rooms clean and comfortable.
Make sure you search the internet sites for a good price mind! I wouldnt pay the prices they advertise!!
It is not close to a railway station, underground or any other restaurant (not unless you like burger king motorway service station grub) but the staff are happy for you to order in take away foods and will even provide menus! The nearest station is a short ish taxi ride away. Nothing major. Good location for any trips to Wembley.

Room Tip: They advertise better rooms as "Executive rooms... But the only difference is a flat screen tel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    165
    55
    21
    9
See reviews for
89
88
33
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We use this hotel a lot & well worth the money.

It's on a motorway services so you do need a vehicle !!!!!!

Food a little expensive at hotel but services (minute walk) have good food. See Welcome Break web page

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights from Sunday 19th to Monday 20th August. Arrived around 11pm as had gone into London for the day. Nice room with king sized bed and two single roll out beds for the kids...the only problem was that one of the single beds was wedged against a bedside shelf...so a child would bang their head on this...very awkward!!?? The air con unit was leaking so the carpet was wet near the door, no handwash in dispenser for sink...when we called reception for it it took them nearly 20 mins to bring it...and they gave us the handsoap rather than putting in the dispenser!!! When we asked how does it go in the unit...were told they did not know and housekeeping would do it the next day. With regards to the air con leak...they did offer another room but as we were travelling with young children we did not want to uproot at that time so managed with a towel on the wet patches!! With regards to the bedside shelf...we were told all the family bedrooms are the same set up, we told them that one of the children would have to sleep with us now as we were not willing to risk putting them against the wooden shelf. We were told that the manager was not around at that time and would be spoken to the next morning. When we spoke to the manager the next morning we were told they could not do anything about it!! Also was very silly to place us in a room on the railway side as we had 4 and 5 year old children...very noise late at night and again in morning...need more soundproofing!!

All in all not very comfortable as my 5 year old daughter felt left out and did not sleep in the other roll out single bed either...so all 4 of us in the king size bed, leaking air con, no handwash, noisy railway...and when the housekeeping did come the next day they did not put the soap in the handwash dispenser...one power point in a family room!! Can't comment on the food as did not eat or have breakfast as a bit steep at £11.95!!

Room Tip: Stay away from railway side for rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnPeterborough, Sales Manager at Ramada London North, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for your comments, firstly I would like to apologise for the unsatisfactory stay that you and your family experienced here with us at Days Hotel London North.
It is with comments like yours that we can improve the stay of all our guests.
After reviewing how our family rooms were set up we have now restructured and reorganised the layout of our family rooms to ensure the future comfort of all our guests and guarantee a comfortable nights sleep.
I have also spoken with the housekeeping team regarding the soap dispensers and ensuring that they are filled at all times. I am in the process of retraining the reception team to be competent in replacing the empty units in their absence.
Thank you for bringing the leak in the air conditioning unit to our attention, this was immediately resolved and we have since implemented a new procedure with the Housekeeping department on recording maintenance issues on a daily basis.
Unfortunately, as we are based on a Motorway Service area we often find that our guests prefer to sleep on the railway side however all guests are welcome to request motorway side room.
Please know that your feedback is extremely helpful to us and assists us in improving the standard and service that we strive to achieve and again, please accept my apologies for your recent stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todmorden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The hotel is very basic but comfortable, staff are friendly and helpful, but a big but if you are not driving and decide to go via public transport be prepared to get lost. We got the tube to Edgware which is the nearest tube station and decided to save some money by getting a bus we were on a tight budget, I understand you can get a taxi for £5 (which we should have done). Anyway we asked a bus driver for buses to barnet way the main road where buses stop we were told to get the no 292, when the 292 came the driver said we needed the 107 we waited about 15 minutes and when that came the driver told us we needed the 292 which we had now missed so we waited another 15 minutes and another 292 came and the driver told us to get off at the Marsh lane stop, only it is not called the marsh lane stop but the Apex Corner so we passed that stop and the next and realised we had gone too far we got off in the middle of nowhere and had to walk back about 21/2 miles, by that time we were shattered and we had blisters. When we got onto Ellesmere avenue there was no sign at all of the hotel so we walked right up to the end of the street and no joy, we finally asked a resident and he informed us that we were not the first to get lost nor will we be the last unless they decide to put up signs along the way and on Ellesmere Avenue. A lot of people staying at the Days Hotel have asked him for directions. I must admit the turn is in a funny place. There is a side road at the junction of the The Fairway and Ellesmere Avenue there are no signs at all go under the bridge and you can just make out the building. So advice get a taxi and it will save you a lot of time and energy.

As for the Hotel good value we paid £50 each for 2 nights and they have an offer of £20 if you want to stay Saturday

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

we were booked at the days hotel south mims as this hotel was over £100 per night but they reduced the price for the two nights that we stayed
a fantastic clean and comfortable hotel usually very good value for money take a tip and book it last minute for the best deals

Room Tip: phone the hotel in advance and try and get a room near the lifts as it can be a very long walk down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Any hotel at a service station sends shivers down my spine, but this one was really nice and pleasant.
great staff, comfy beds, great location.
what more can I ask?
Hmmm well, the breakfast was a bit steep but tasty...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We used this as our base for our trip to the Olympics. The rooms are well equipped, modern and clean. Staff were helpful and friendly. Due to walking difficulty, I had requested on my on-line booking a short walk to room; amazingly staff had picked this up and offered two alternative rooms. Oddly there were only three pillos in the twin room but a request for an additional one was delivered immediately. Waitrose in the Service Area is only a short walk away. We didn't use the restaurant, £11.95 for buffet breakfast seemed a little high. Plenty of free parking and an excellent £5 each way taxi service to Edgware Tube station. 30mins to the West End. We paid £79 which was great value during the Olympics but the website shows £49 rooms are regularly available. They are also currently doing a deal if you stay Saturday night you can get Sunday for £20.
We will definitely use again for London trips.

Room Tip: There is all night train noise on one side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada London North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada London North

Address: M1 Between Jct 2-4 | London Gateway Services, Borehamwood NW7 3HU, England (Formerly Days Hotel London North)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Borehamwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Borehamwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada London North 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada London North offers free Wi-Fi, free parking and excellent access to the M1 motorway. Central London is 9 miles away. All of the spacious, air conditioned rooms have comfortable beds and satellite TV. Edgware Tube Station is 3 miles away. Dine at the onsite Indigo Restaurant or relax in the bar, with a plasma-screen TV showing sports. Children under the age of 12 years stay and eat free. Discounted breakfast and dinner rates are available if booked at the time of online reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ramada London North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn London

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada London North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.