We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tatty Room but excellent staff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada London North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada London North to your Saves list
Ramada London North
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   M1 Between Jct 2-4 | London Gateway Services, Borehamwood NW7 3HU, England (Formerly Days Hotel London North)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Borehamwood
London
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Tatty Room but excellent staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

My room had a hole in the bathroom door, broken trim to the desk and the heating (air conditioning) didn't work.
The staff at reception were excellent and offered an alternative room. I elected to stay as the M1 side is quieter than the railway side. An engineer worked on the heating issue althought it never worked properly.
The restaurant is basic - especially at Breakfast time, but in the evenings the food was freshly cooked and served very quickly adn the quality was excellent.
I was worried about broken car window glass in the car park although reception told me it happened ages ago - I then wondered why they hadn't cleared it away?

Room Tip: The side facing the motor way is quieter than the side facing the railway
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnPeterborough, Manager at Ramada London North, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
First of all I would like to apologise you stay with us did not meet your expectations. We always aim ensure our guests experience the best service and enjoy their stay with us.

We try to ensure that all of our rooms are regularly maintained to offer the best comfort. I have spoken to Housekeeping and Maintenance in regards to the bathroom door and desk trim, so that we can investigate and bring it back up to the high standards with strive to provide. I have also arranged for a contractor to investigate and repair the heating/air con unit so that it is fully functional again , thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Our restaurant prides itself on good-quality, freshly-cooked meals throughout the day, and are happy to cater to most requests (if you wanted something a bit different for breakfast).

We always aim to maintain the car park to the highest standard possible, I have raised your comments with our Maintenance team however would like to assure you that our car park has 24 hour CCTV to ensure the security of your vehicle whilst staying with us.

Again I apologise you did not fully enjoy your stay and hope we will get an opportunity to accommodate you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    165
    55
    21
    9
See reviews for
89
88
33
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Considering how little the room cost (literally next to nothing on a promotion) I shouldn't really complain about anything... and I'm not. Firstly, the staff were extremely welcoming, helpful, friendly and professional. Secondly, the room was large and comfortable (although the air-con control was not working properly) with a nice clean en-suite and free wi-fi. And finally, the dinner in the restaurant (which wasn't problem free) was very well cooked, tasty, and quite reasonably priced (for a hotel), with the exception of the breakfast which seemed a bit dear -we ate at a great little pub called The Porcupine, Leicester Square where we got '2 for a tenner' top rate 'full English' breakfasts.

The other reviews are correct when describing the location of the hotel, with one side facing the motorway and the other side by a trail line (we weren't particularly disturbed by the road noise), if you want to go out and about but don't want to wait for a taxi on the service road, and you have your own vehicle, Edgware tube station is only a 5-10 minute drive away with a 'commuter car park' (at the rear of Sainsbury's, right by the station) that costs £4 for the day.

On the whole, this hotel isn't bad at all... but I wouldn't be prepared to pay their standard room rates.

Room Tip: Front of hotel overlooks car park and motorway, rear of hotel overlooks service road and busy train...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Αθήνα, Ελλάδα
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

nice hotel, clean and comfortable but in my opinion it is in the middle of nowhere.far from underground so if you want to go to the city center you need over an hour.breakfast is nice and the stuff is very kind.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

This is the third time I have stayed at this property, comfy beds and excellent staff. Highly recommend

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

First impressions were very positive - the entrance is bright and attractive and the staff were welcoming. Room was big with a huge bed; one of their 'work-friendly' rooms I think. It was nice being in such a spacious room, decorated with what I call the wooden blocks-style of furniture (the type that are 2x4s shaped to make bedside tables, desk, etc) so no wardrobe (closet) or drawers to put things in.

One of the best thing was free wi-fi in the room, plus considering where the hotel is, the room was very, very quiet and I had a really good couple of night's sleep.

The evening meal deal was good value - and filling; the restaurant was empty but the Chef was a great character. Breakfast was OK. Another plus was having free parking.

I went on a special offer rate so for me it was brilliant; I wouldn't normally choose to stay in the middle of a service station area, but have to say I had a good stay.

Room Tip: The work zone rooms seem to be larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

I stayed here for one night in December. On arrival into the room I had no choice but to get into the bed as the room was so cold and took a long time to warm up. If you stay here in the Winter, make sure that you ask for two room keys, otherwise the room will cool down to arctic temps whilst you are out.

The hotel is only ideal if you have a car. You cannot get to any public transport stations or stops by walking and getting a taxi has its issues, as they charge you extra if you want to be picked up at the front door. Walking around to the back of the hotel to wait for a taxi is not the situation you want to put yourself in if you are a lone female.

I have stayed here several times. The hotel is clean. The showers work well and there are plenty of towels. The staff are on the surly side, but I probably would be too if I had to spend all of my working hours on the side of the M1.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Stayed here as a stop off point for London. Good value and would stay here again. Nice big clean rooms. No complaints.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada London North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada London North

Address: M1 Between Jct 2-4 | London Gateway Services, Borehamwood NW7 3HU, England (Formerly Days Hotel London North)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Borehamwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Borehamwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada London North 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada London North offers free Wi-Fi, free parking and excellent access to the M1 motorway. Central London is 9 miles away. All of the spacious, air conditioned rooms have comfortable beds and satellite TV. Edgware Tube Station is 3 miles away. Dine at the onsite Indigo Restaurant or relax in the bar, with a plasma-screen TV showing sports. Children under the age of 12 years stay and eat free. Discounted breakfast and dinner rates are available if booked at the time of online reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ramada London North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn London

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada London North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.