We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Borehamwood Studio Way

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Travelodge Borehamwood Studio Way to your Saves list
Travelodge Borehamwood Studio Way
Studio Way, Borehamwood WD6 5JY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Borehamwood
Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Basic but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stayed for two nights at this Travelodge.
The room was basic with a comfortable bed and very good presure in the shower.
It is attached to a Toby carvery which is handy for meals, however the carvery does not start serving breakfast until 9.
Unfortunatly the wi-fi is not free which is a pity.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    35
    37
    33
    42
See reviews for
42
37
18
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Arrived on the Sunday for a one night stay. Were given a key at Reception and headed for the room. Imagine our surprise when we opened the door and found 2 open suitcases on the floor, multiple prescription drug boxes on the dressing table and toiletries in the bathroom! Luckily no one was in the room so back to Reception who were not sure what had happened but gave us the keys to an empty room. Room decent overlooking car park (but we could keep an eye on the hire car) Dustcart woke us up early the next morning. No biccies with the tea and coffee!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Borehamwood Studio way this is a convenient place to stay. It is however turning into a bit of a white van stop off point. It is now a little shabby and not very clean it could do with another revamp, it seems to have reverted to how it was in its last incarnation when under the control of ‘Inn Keepers’ just before Travelodge took over. But at least under the old regime you did get a breakfast! The good thing was that you can just walk through to have a carvery in the Toby. Overall OK for one maybe two nights. There are however many other better places to stay in Borehamwood for about the same price.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Whilst I cannot fault reception staff, the rooms are in desperate need of updating or at the very least a deep clean and someone checking up on details.
Having worked in chambermaiding in the past - I would have sacked staff who can.'t be bothered to grasp basic cleanliness.
The bathroom is in dire need of a refurb, having no way of turning the shower on due to missing parts & no plug to use the bath. The cups & kettle caked in muck and dust everywhere. White bedding is a bad idea if you can't keep it crisp & clean. Just a couple of suggestions- if you have a draw marked " hair dryer" put one in there !! & perhaps rethink charging for wi-fi .

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from Customer Services at Travelodge Borehamwood Studio Way, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your review moonie154. We are very sorry to learn of your dissatisfaction with your room. We expect all our rooms to be checked thoroughly and to be maintained to our high standards. This includes ensuring that all items are fit for purpose and that the room is fully cleaned for you. We are happy to confirm however that we are currently under going a refurbishment scheme across all our establishments and our rooms will receive a full makeover and our fresh new look. We would like to provide a resolution for the issues you have raised. Please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to provide us with more details and when doing so please specify you have left a TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We booked this hotel for 2 nights on 16/17 February and expected a Double Room with shower - (it says on the Travelodge information "Please note rooms at this hotel have a shower and no bath"). On arrival, the receptionist showed us the room and there was a bath ONLY - no shower! This set up is useless for me as I need a shower and no bath with being disabled.

We complained and she showed us another room - this time a TWIN WITH shower! Rock hard bed with springs poking through and a musty, dismal, depressing feel to the room and the hotel. No DOUBLE with SHOWER available.

None of this was acceptable at all - Travelodge PLEASE ensure you display CORRECT information - we got nothing - no apology - we are completely disgusted.

No refund. Taken this up with Head Office and still waiting for a reply.

We left after about 10 minutes in the room - did not stay the night and cancelled the 2nd night on-line.

We have stayed at many Travelodges over the years but will NEVER stay at this one.

I cannot recommend this "hotel" in any way.

Disgusted.

Room Tip: Don't stay - try another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I have stayed here several times and found it to be incredibly well priced and convenient with service and value in the adjoining Toby Carvery fantastic too. The manager is more than helpful, friendly and good natured, it made it easy to ask for anything we needed. The rooms were very clean, which is very high on my requirements and £25 a night for a room in London was quite exceptional. Towels were good, linen also ......... don't expect luxury but there is nothing here that will upset you. The mattress softness seems to vary from room to room - ours was quite hard, while our friends had soft ones... I guess it is a personal thing anyway.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Travelodge are usually basic and 'no frills' but this hotel is worse than some cheap B&B. The hotel decor & carpet are tired and dated. The sound proofing is terrible and I was kept awake most of the night by other people's tv's. Worst of all is the noise from the hot water system every time another guest turns their hot water tap or shower on. It sounds like there's a live band playing in the hotel and you're listening to the drum beat. This went on all night. It has been like that for years. I've tried several different rooms and I've avoided the hotel for years, hoping that they would have done something about the situation by now. The staff are exceptionally helpful and will place you in rooms furthest away from the noise where possible. Not enough people have complained to Travelodge so they won't fix the problem. My advice is just don't stay there.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from Customer Services at Travelodge Borehamwood Studio Way, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for your review Sara-jayne P. We are very sorry to learn that you were unhappy with the condition of our Borehamwood Studio Way hotel. We do expect all our hotels to be well maintained, however we can happily confirm that we are currently undergoing a refurbishment scheme across all our hotels in which our hotels will receive a complete new room design and layout. We are working hard to make sure that we can provide the same high standards in all of our properties. We do also try and minimise any noises our guests might experience in our rooms in order to provide our guests with a good night’s sleep. We’d like to be able to contact you to find a resolution so please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to tell us more and when doing so please indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Borehamwood Studio Way? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Borehamwood Studio Way

Address: Studio Way, Borehamwood WD6 5JY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Borehamwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Borehamwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Travelodge Borehamwood Studio Way reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Borehamwood Studio Way, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.