We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Cartland Bridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Cartland Bridge Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Cartland Bridge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Glasgow Road, Lanark ML11 9UE, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lanark
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ascot, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Stayed one night. Good value, £65 inc breakfast. Receptionist and bar staff very friendly and helpful. Warm, clean room. Not top end, but very acceptable. Lovely old building in parkland. May as well eat at the hotel as there is very little of any quality in Lanark, which is a short drive - too far to walk.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    38
    12
    15
    8
See reviews for
41
59
7
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Top Contributor
293 reviews 293 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 177 cities Reviews in 177 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Nice hotel in an older building of character. Loved the central staircase and large Bedrooms. The restaurant is only used for breakfast with evening meals served in the bar, which is a shame. Starters were good, but we were disappointed with the main courses. Handy location for a visit to the. New Lanark Heritage centre.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Just home after having our wedding at cartland bridge hotel and I must say I am flabbergasted. The venue, scenery, quality and service were outstanding and in particular the general manager, Alan Todd, who catered to our every need, regardless of how difficult this made his job. I couldn't have asked for a better day. The hotel was immaculate and the food was divine. Overall I would most definitely recommend this as both a hotel and a wedding venue. There's a certain air of tranquility that's priceless as you drive through the beautiful gardens and I will certainly return more frequently. Lisa Paterson.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful Mother's Day carvery with the family. Food was fresh and there was plenty of choice, very reasonably priced in our opinion. The staff were warm and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble, It was very busy but that didn't impact on service or quality. Glad we chose the Cartland, We will be back again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

After visiting here many times in the past we thought it would be perfect for Mothers Day with 9 adults, 2 kids and a grandmother in a wheelchair....How wrong were we. After been taken into a hall which looked like a school canteen it only got worse. We were then told it was a cavery which we weren't told at time of booking.The table cover was dirty and the wine glasses on our table were covered in lipstick. The starters were nice but that was about it. Service was terrible apart from the chef himself who was very pleasant.. To finish off we thought we would have drinks in the conservatory which was worse after waiting 40mins to get a drink after being told 3 times someone would come and take our order.
This is my first time ever writing a review and after spending £180 I feel it's only fair to be honest.. You don't expect this from a hotel of this class.. We certainly won't be back!!!

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan T, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Cartland Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for your review, myself and my team are naturally very disappointed that you did not enjoy your meal with us at the BEST WESTERN Cartland Bridge Hotel, as you can see by our previous reviews bad service is not something we do at the Cartland bridge, you have mentioned the poor quality of the food and the poor service you received during your visit , I have spoken to all my chefs in particular john who served your table, I have also spoken to members of the banqueting team that served you on the day and there was no complaints made by yourself or by your table at the time. If you had brought this to my attention I would have tried to resolve the issues for you, making your visit that bit more enjoyable. I would like to apologise on behalf of everyone here at the hotel for your disappointing visit, if you would like to discuss your visit with me please don't hesitate to contact me at the hotel. Regards Alan Todd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Cartland has improved in service and facilities while providing a traditional experience and good Scottish food and drink. In peaceful wooded surroundings with comfortable rooms, with the important tea and coffee availability in the room, followed by a magnificent breakfast to start the day on a high. Rain or shine, a great location with caring staff and comfortable rooms in a traditional stone house.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Excellent service and food. We liked the fact that breakfasts were cooked to order and not being kept warm under a lamp or heater. Beautiful woodland setting and very close to Lanark and New Lanark (World Heritage Site). Not visited for 20 years so pleased to see they still had high standards.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Cartland Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Cartland Bridge Hotel

Address: Glasgow Road, Lanark ML11 9UE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Lanark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lanark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Cartland Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stone's throw away from the Royal Burgh of Lanark, located in the Clyde Valley stands Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel. Completed in the late 1800's the hotel is the finest example of Sir John James Burnett's Baronial style of Scottish architecture and is a Grade A listed building. An hour's drive from Glasgow or Edinburgh, set in 19 acres of woodland, this 3 star hotel is virtually unchanged from its days as a splendid family mansion. Now the hotel serves as an excellent venue for business meetings, conferences, weddings and social events, each catered within a varied range of suites. Facilities accommodate gatherings for two or 250 guests, with ample free parking. Nearby attractions:-Falls of Clyde, Royal Burgh of Lanark, Roslyn Chapel (noted in the 'Da Vinci Code'), Lanark Loch, Clyde Valley Tourist Route, Tinto Hill, The Glenmuir Outlet. BEST WESTERN Cartland Bridge - Large enough to cope - Small enough to care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Cartland Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lanark
Cartland Bridge Country Hotel
BEST WESTERN Cartland Bridge Hotel Lanark, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Cartland Bridge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.