We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have asked for more.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Muirhall Luxury Holiday Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lanark
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Muirhall Luxury Holiday Cottages
Muirhall Farm | Auchengray, Lanark ML11 8LL, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Couldn't have asked for more.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

My boyfriend and I had the pleasure of staying in 'The Byre' at Muirhall over New Year. The cottage was absoulutely beautiful with lots of oak and stone which made it very cosy. We definately hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

We stayed with two young adult daughters. The cottage was beautifully renovated from a farm building with luxurious bathroom and showerroom. The open plan livingroom/ kitchen was fine and well kittted out. WiFi free in the office or outside (thick walls!)
We made use of the train from West Calder to Edinburgh and drove to the centre of Glasgow in less than an hour.
Our welcome was very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

We recently stayed at "The Ruin" cottage at Muirhall and cannot speak highly enough of the property or the people there. Our cottage was much bigger than we expected -- full-sized kitchen, living room, two bedrooms and two full bathrooms. Perfect for us travelling from Canada with two young adults. Our cottage was beautifully finished in every respect and 100% spotless. My daughter particularly liked visiting the horses on the farm. Staff were amazingly helpful and genuinely warm. We enjoyed being able to be very private in our own cottage and yet able to visit the office, borrow a video, do some laundry etc. Thank you Gabi and Kathleen and everyone. We hope to be back! Ken & Deb, near Toronto Canada

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

Our four families gathered for Christmas at Muirhall in the '09 snow. We had a wonderful time, all of us, aged from 1 to 69, and found it a magical setting to celebrate the festival.

Attention to detail in the cottages was so thoughtful with quality soap, for example, in all the bathrooms and kitchens. Equipment was also excellent. Temperatures outside were extreme but the cottages were very warm throughout our stay and we had the option to light our own fires too.

We were particularly delighted by the owners' thoughtful and attentive service during our stay (helping those who got stuck in the snow) and especially afterwards in posting on a wedding-ring and a hearing aid, both lost in snowballing in the farmyard!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

When you book a holiday on the net you have to rely on the description and photographs placed by the owner or leasing company.
When we came across Muirhall cottages it looked excellent, we checked Tripadvisor there were only two comments both very good so we booked.
On arrival we were greeted by Chris and given a tour of the property and the surrounding buildings, we have to say the write up and photographs do not do justice to the cottages.
The standard of the cottage and outside area is 5 stars, when you enter through the wooden electronic gates and drive to the parking area there is not a stone out of place and on entering the cottages you are not disappointed as the high standard of craftsmanship continues throughout. Chris and Gabi have put a lot of thought and care into the internal design. It certainly has the WOW factor, from the luxurious bathrooms to the easy to use kitchen and the sumptuous leather suite. The attention to detail is second to none.
We spent a week at Muirhall, where we walked the dog in nearby fields, read books and generally chilled. We picnicked at Loch Cobinshaw where we were the only people around and the scenery is beautiful.
The cottages are close to Carnwath and Biggar you need a car as we found the larger supermarkets were in Lanark.
We were very lucky with the weather, sunshine and very hot, we had a great time, left very relaxed and look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hof, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

Herzlich nette Gastgeber und sehr liebenswert ausgestaltete Cottages Auf einem landschaftlich schönen Reiterhof . Wünschenswert Waren Einzig Ein wenig reichhaltigere Küchenausstattung ( Geschirr , Besteck ). Gerne wieder .

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2007

My family and were in Scotland for one week, this was our first trip to Scotland from our home in Nova Scotia, Canada.
The cottages were perfect for us, we didn't want to be downtown and run over by cars once we stepped outside the hotels there BUT we wanted to be close to Edinburgh. The Muirhall Holiday Cottages were very central to everything we needed and more.
We stayed in the Loft which was in amazing condition, including a coal fire place, full kitchen, one queen bed, and a two singles in the second room both having their own washrooms. There was a TV in by the fireplace and a fine selection of DVD's that you have full access to, also if you need help picking out a great movie please ask Gaby, she'll be sure to help you out.
The service is very friendly and accommodating, you really couldn't ask for more. I think my Dad and I both made excuses to venture down to the office just to socialize.
We used the cottages as a home base for the week, waking up in the fresh country air, and having a full breakfast before we ventured out to explore the country side. After a full day of site-seeing and driving we would end the day with a great home cooked meal and a fire. We also spend a day of just relaxing in the cottage and it was so nice and peaceful there.
The directions on the web site are fantastic, even for those us that were first time tourist to Europe and it was our first experience with driving on the other side of the car and road, haha.
I'm in a location right now that I am unable to upload any photos but I did take quite a few pictures of the cottages and area. Please free to contact me for more info or pictures.
I totally recommend these cottages!!


B. FRASER
LEADING SEAMAN
NATIONAL SUPPORT ELEMENT
FINANCE CELL
KANDAHAR, AFGHANISTAN

Have a fantastic NAVY Day!!
"Twenty years from now, you will be more disappointed by the things you did not do than by the things you did do.
So, throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbour.
Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore! Dream! Discover!"
- Mark Twain

  • Liked — Friendly, country and accommodating
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Muirhall Luxury Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muirhall Luxury Holiday Cottages

Address: Muirhall Farm | Auchengray, Lanark ML11 8LL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Lanark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty lodging in Lanark
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the Scottish countryside near the historic towns of Biggar and Lanark, and yet within 40 minutes of both Edinburgh and Glasgow city centres, the cottages are easily accessible by road or rail. West Calder and Carstairs railway stations are within 7-8 miles and pick up from the station is available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Muirhall Luxury Holiday Cottages Lanark, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muirhall Luxury Holiday Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Muirhall Luxury Holiday Cottages to your Saves list