We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel within Fabulous surroundings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Lanark Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added New Lanark Mill Hotel to your Saves list
New Lanark Mill Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mill One | New Lanark, Lanark ML11 9DB, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save on Attraction tickets
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lanark
Certificate of Excellence 2014
lanarkshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel within Fabulous surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Very good, clean and comfortable room which would suit a family of 4 sufficiently with very comfortable bed. Friendly and welcoming bar area. Spa was great with friendly staff and lovely large pool, only downside would be that the Jacuzzi is part of the pool and slightly cold. Food in the restaurant was excellent with very good service. Would definitely recommend this hotel within a World Heritage site for great history and fabulous walks nearby.
Great hotel and excellent surroundings.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views - back of the hotel with good views of the river and front with good view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsmanager, General Manager at New Lanark Mill Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
I just wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at New Lanark Mill Hotel. We very much appreciate your positive feedback and for sharing your experience on the internet.

I'm glad that you found your room to be clean and comfortable and that my team were friendly and helpful throughout. We strive to ensure our guests form a positive impression of their experience so I am delighted that you you have titled your review as an excellent hotel. Thank you very much for this.

Thank you also for your comments in relation to the Jacuzzi. We actually have a bubble pool, not a Jacuzzi. This is different to a normal jacuzzi in that it is part of the main pool and so the water temperature is the same. The force of the water is also softer. The bubble pool makes for a very nice feature within our pool area but shouldn't be mistaken for a Jacuzzi.

We are very grateful for your words of praise and certainly look forward to you returning in the future. If I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards,
John Stirrat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    211
    50
    18
    6
See reviews for
190
460
21
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Spent an overnight stay in this hotel. The experience was very refreshing. Not a multi-national chain just local people doing a great job. The hotel and staff are a credit to Scotland. The Mill is also an excellent place to visit.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsmanager, General Manager at New Lanark Mill Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at New Lanark Mill Hotel. I am delighted to read your positive comments and very grateful to you for sharing these on the internet.

Feedback like this is very much appreciated as it helps to promote our hotel to a wider audience and hopefully to encourage new guests to visit.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to New Lanark in the very near future.

Kind regards,
John Stirrat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We had our Christmas party night with some of us staying over in the hotel, well all I can say is fab fab fab. From the hotel (lovely decor, amazing surroundings with amazing view of river Clyde from bedroom) the party night (fab food, disco amazing we danced all night) and lastly the staff (just fab again, nothing was any trouble) so much so we are booking for our next Christmas party night out and the ones who weren't staying are staying this time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsmanager, General Manager at New Lanark Mill Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
I would just like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at New Lanark Mill Hotel. We very much appreciate your kind words of support and we are delighted to read that you and your party had a thoroughly enjoyable time at the Christmas party night. So much so that you are booking again for this year. That's excellent news and we certainly look forward to welcoming you all back.

Thank you for sharing your positive experience on the internet and please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any further assistance.

Kind regards,
John Stirrat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggar, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
536 reviews 536 reviews
133 hotel reviews
Reviews in 199 cities Reviews in 199 cities
578 helpful votes 578 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We dropped in for a bar meal in between Christmas & New Year after walking up the Falls of Clyde trail which is nearby - needless to say we removed our muddy hiking boots at the door!

There was a good atmosphere in the lounge with guests presumably booked in for the festivities or a wedding (there was a piper present). We noticed that there was also new furnishings since our last visit.

We like the hotel and have previously enjoyed meals and stayed there so this visit was a little disappointing.

We both had Chicken Penne Pasta which was correctly described as being “creamy” - there was a lot of cream - however sadly there wasn’t much in the way of chicken. The odd tiny cube of meat amongst the pasta was unusual (and didn’t even taste like chicken). We mentioned this to our server when they were collecting the plates. The Sticky Toffee Pudding to follow was nice but only served lukewarm so our 15% discount as members of the Hotel’s Health Club was welcome in the circumstances.

We’ll return of course and hope this was just an unusual off-day or meal. The staff, the food and surroundings usually make for a very good/excellent experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsmanager, General Manager at New Lanark Mill Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor and for sharing your experience following your recent visit to our bar. I am of course disappointed to read that you did not have an enjoyable meal. Please accept my apologies for any shortcomings. I have discussed your review with my Head Chef and she appreciates your feedback.

I am pleased to read that in general you enjoy visiting our hotel and that you feel the staff and surroundings make for a good experience. If on this occasion we were unable to completely satisfy you then of course we are very sorry. We have taken your feedback on board and we will ensure that the Chicken Penne Pasta dish is served to its normal high standard in future. On your next visit please ask for me so that I can offer my apologies personally.

In the meantime thank you for taking the time to write a review and please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any further assistance.

Kind regards,
John Stirrat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Between Christmas and New Year we spent a stopover night in this hotel because my wife wanted to visit the Mill site. It's location in the Clyde valley is stunning (although you wouldn't want to tackle the steep road down from Lanark in snow and ice!). Our room, which was large and well appointed looked out over the river and the woods opposite. The bar and restaurant are rather functionally furnished but the meal we had was excellent. For £21 I had the best fillet steak I have ever had this side of the Atlantic. We will definitely revisit in the summer to explore the Falls of Clyde across the river.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsmanager, General Manager at New Lanark Mill Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
I just wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel following your recent stay at New Lanark. We very much appreciate your positive feedback. I am delighted to read that you had the best steak ever on this side of the Atlantic. We are very proud to serve quality Scotch beef on our menu. I will certainly pass your comment of this onto my Head Chef. She'll be delighted to receive this positive feedback.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the summer. I'm sure you will enjoy everything that the World Heritage Site has to offer you. In the meantime please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any further assistance.

Kind regards,
John Stirrat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I read the recent ultra-critical review with absolute incredulity; the hotel it purports to describe bears no relation whatsoever to the reality. I urge all other readers to give not the slightest credence to it.

The simple truth is that this is a wonderful hotel. We had a fabulous New Year here. The amount of work and preparation that must have gone into creating such a superbly enjoyable and memorable experience was obvious to everyone.

Everything was spot-on: excellent food, clean, spacious rooms, beautiful surroundings, great entertainment, highly efficient and friendly staff. I have to say a special word about the manager, who is such an impressive guy, obviously totally dedicated, genuine and full of integrity. I'm sure his staff would be ready to walk through a brick wall for him.

We had a great New Year, and were very sad when it was time to leave. All our thanks again to everybody at New Lanark Mill Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsmanager, General Manager at New Lanark Mill Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
On behalf of the entire team here at New Lanark Mill Hotel I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a very favourable review of our hotel on Tripadvisor following your stay at New Year. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and I am delighted that you found the experience to be superb. We very much appreciate your positive feedback and also for sharing it on the internet.

We try very hard to ensure that our guests have the most relaxing and memorable stay. It does appear on this occasion that you have left with a very positive impression indeed. I am very grateful to my staff for looking after you efficiently and in a friendly manner and personally I very much appreciate your kind words of support.

I am so happy that you had an enjoyable time at New Lanark and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me. Once again, thank you for your kind words and all the very best to you and your family for 2014.

Kind regards,
John Stirrat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

having just got married on 29/12/13 at New Lanark Mill, we can not say anything but a huge thanks to all staff involved. we had such a fantastic day and it even stayed dry to allow us to get photos taken on the roof top. The whole day when better than we imagined, so good it was over
too fast. Yes we would do it all over again and not change a single thing, I would recommend staying the night before too, the facilties are top class. we will certainly go back, even some of our family that stayed will be going back in the future, all our guests have commented how much they all enjoyed the venue.

Room Tip: I found the water side a bit noisy but that was due to the amount of rain that had fallen not anythi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsmanager, General Manager at New Lanark Mill Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
On behalf of the team here at New Lanark Mill Hotel I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review following your wedding day. Thank you for your kind words. These are very much appreciated. It was a privilege for us looking after you on your special day and I am delighted that you had a fantastic day. It's very encouraging for us to receive such high praise and in particular to hear that your friends and family were also commenting on our hotel in a positive way.

May I wish you every happiness for your future together and thank you for choosing us as the venue for your special day.

Kind regards,
John Stirrat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to New Lanark Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Lanark Mill Hotel

Address: Mill One | New Lanark, Lanark ML11 9DB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Lanark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lanark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — New Lanark Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Lanark World Heritage Site is a truly unique setting. Surrounded by native woodlands and close to the famous Falls of Clyde, New Lanark was founded in 1785 as a cotton spinning village and became famous as the site of Robert Owen's pioneering social reforms. Now beautifully restored, New Lanark is both a living community and tourist attraction. New Lanark Mill Hotel is a stunning award winning conversion from an original 18th century mill. It offers fantastic views across the surrounding conservation area and River Clyde ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your New Lanark Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Lanark Mill
New Lanark Mill Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Lanark Mill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.